The Home Depot Government Service Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
6,612 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company and culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultor Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay, great culture, people, and the 401k/benefits are alright

    Cons

    Difficult to advance through the company

    Advice to Management

    Better health plans

    The Home Depot2020-01-16
  2. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Benefits and flexible schedule

    Cons

    Sometimes co workers are catty

    The Home Depot2020-01-20
  3. "Cashier - Front End"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, decent pay. the employees are very nice as well. management is understanding

    Cons

    During slow season not many hours.

    The Home Depot2020-01-21
  4. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family like environment following core values to deliver personal and professional growth.

    Cons

    None to mention at this time.

    The Home Depot2020-01-19
  5. "Long History"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good but used to be better

    Cons

    Some managers don't know how to deal with people

    Advice to Management

    Take some time to talk to non manager associates. Poor treatment of subordinates often goes unnoticed.

    The Home Depot2020-01-20
  6. "Loved It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mobile Developer in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, laid back culture

    Cons

    Can be a bit stressful

    The Home Depot2020-01-18
  7. "Kind Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Canton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, Opportunities to grow, always something to do, growth opportunities

    Cons

    Low income, management pockets almost all bonuses

    Advice to Management

    be kinder to employees

    The Home Depot2020-01-19
  8. "Good company that emphasizes leader development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compressor Technician in Covina, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for advancement. Pay is decent for retail. Good team atmosphere. Strong focus on diversity.

    Cons

    As a customer service company, a lot of time is spent on the sales floor and little time to do department leader responsibilities. The focus on customer service is what drew me to the company and I like their focus.

    Advice to Management

    There are lots of leadership development resources. Lots. But there is hardly any time to utilize them. They are not available outside the store intranet and you cannot come in off-hours to utilize them.

    The Home Depot2020-01-17
  9. "Good place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive manager, cool co-worker, nice atmosphere.

    Cons

    You must be able to tolerant some aggressive customers .

    The Home Depot2020-01-17
  10. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tool Rental Associate in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at Home Depot. Most of the customers you deal with are contractors and they usually are knowledgeable about their work and necessary tools. The company really cares about the employees and you can review great benefits.

    Cons

    No major downside. Management is good and customers are not that hard to deal with. My only issue was with the truck rental center with Penske.. the system needs update for effective work.

    The Home Depot2020-01-16
Found 21671 reviews