The Home Depot Reviews in Greenville, SC | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Greenville Reviews

Updated Mar 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
7 Ratings
  1. "The Home Depot is a great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pro Account Sales Associate in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Terrific potential to grow within company.

    Cons

    Health Insurance is too expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Monitor attrition and store management better.

    The Home Depot2018-11-02
  2. "Decent Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lumber Sales Associate in Greenville, SC
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and nice people to work with

    Cons

    Not enough staff and unrealistic expectations from management

    The Home Depot2019-03-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time

    Pros

    Better than other retail locations. Overall vision from corporate is positive.

    Cons

    Advancing within the company is less based on skill and more of a popularity contest. Best brown noser wins. Mgmt often views employees as expendable. Employees expected to drive lift equipment with no extra incentive for being licensed. Yet lift equipment incidents are the easiest way to lose your job.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect. Recognize they are the backbone of the company. Schedule better coverage. Stop playing favorites.

    The Home Depot2018-08-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "cashier review review review review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, decent pay if you are in high school

    Cons

    hours drop way off after the spring and summer rush

    The Home Depot2018-08-08
  5. "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time

    Pros

    Good co workers , people I work with are awesome

    Cons

    Worst place I ever worked. Worked like slave labor. Very low pay for the work. The management has no management skills. Pay so low they just hire you if you are breathing.

    Advice to Management

    None you can’t fix stupid

    The Home Depot2018-05-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Part Time job (if you use common sense)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Freight Team Associate in Greenville, SC

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job if you think about it first. How often do you get a part time job in retail that pays more than minimum and a consistent work schedule plus good corporate benefits (all but comp. medical) including some paid time off. There are raises for those who show and stay and a few other perks, with only a some customer service. There are no hidden duties. But, think about what those duties are before... applying. High turnover is due to employees not paying attention to the job they applied for. You unload trucks -not just once -several times- each week. Think about what is in the store. You unload paint, chemicals, boxes after boxes of supplies, etc. You will lift and sweat. You work M-F every week. Not just when there is no party at a friend's on Friday night. Its nights - all the time - to avoid getting in customers way. Go to a store and look at the shelves. they are high and low. Who do you think puts the stuff there - every night? Think. Needing to stock is a good thing. if stuff does not sell, the store would close - no job, no bonus. If you are on an earlier shift - you will run into customers with questions. You will need transportation to and from work every day.

    Show More

    Cons

    Employees that don't show or quit mostly for reasons addressed above thus putting a burden on those there. No discount or employee purchase day.

    Advice to Management

    Require that candidates observe a typical night in the store before hiring.

    The Home Depot2018-03-07
  7. "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are nice and the benefits are average

    Cons

    the pay is bad and they dont allow many part time hours

    Advice to Management

    allow more part time hours

    The Home Depot2017-12-07

    The Home Depot Response

    December 7, 2017Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are respected and that their contributions are valued. Taking care of our associates is one ...

    Show More
  8. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, SC
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    All you have to do is be on time to keep this job. Can transfer.. decent pay

    Cons

    Job can become overwhelming at times but shouldn't let it consume you

    The Home Depot2017-01-15
  9. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales, Garden in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    . Great team - hard work but worth it

    Cons

    Heat in summer: some instructions was unclear

    The Home Depot2016-12-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits....and job tasks and ability to move around

    Cons

    One store wouldn't sell anything and it was hard to retain customers

    Advice to Management

    If your employee is having a hard time, don't fire her but listen and try to retain help

    The Home Depot2016-11-02
Found 26 reviews