The Home Depot Reviews in Greenville, SC | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Greenville Reviews

Updated Mar 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
8 Ratings
  1. "The Home Depot is a great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pro Account Sales Associate in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Terrific potential to grow within company.

    Cons

    Health Insurance is too expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Monitor attrition and store management better.

    The Home Depot2018-11-02
  2. "Decent Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lumber Sales Associate in Greenville, SC
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and nice people to work with

    Cons

    Not enough staff and unrealistic expectations from management

    The Home Depot2019-03-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time

    Pros

    Better than other retail locations. Overall vision from corporate is positive.

    Cons

    Advancing within the company is less based on skill and more of a popularity contest. Best brown noser wins. Mgmt often views employees as expendable. Employees expected to drive lift equipment with no extra incentive for being licensed. Yet lift equipment incidents are the easiest way to lose your job.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect. Recognize they are the backbone of the company. Schedule better coverage. Stop playing favorites.

    The Home Depot2018-08-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "cashier review review review review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, decent pay if you are in high school

    Cons

    hours drop way off after the spring and summer rush

    The Home Depot2018-08-08
  5. "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time

    Pros

    Good co workers , people I work with are awesome

    Cons

    Worst place I ever worked. Worked like slave labor. Very low pay for the work. The management has no management skills. Pay so low they just hire you if you are breathing.

    Advice to Management

    None you can’t fix stupid

    The Home Depot2018-05-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Part Time job (if you use common sense)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Freight Team Associate in Greenville, SC

      I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great job if you think about it first. How often do you get a part time job in retail that pays more than minimum and a consistent work schedule plus good corporate benefits (all but comp. medical) including some paid time off. There are raises for those who show and stay and a few other perks, with only a some customer service. There are no hidden duties. But, think about what those duties are before applying....

      Show More

      Cons

      Employees that don't show or quit mostly for reasons addressed above thus putting a burden on those there. No discount or employee purchase day.

      Advice to Management

      Require that candidates observe a typical night in the store before hiring.

      The Home Depot2018-03-07
    • "Eh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Greenville, SC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot for more than a year

      Pros

      The people are nice and the benefits are average

      Cons

      the pay is bad and they dont allow many part time hours

      Advice to Management

      allow more part time hours

      The Home Depot2017-12-07

      The Home Depot Response

      December 7, 2017Client Partner

      Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are respected and that their contributions are valued. Taking care of our associates is one ...

      Show More
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - OFFICE MANAGER/BOOKKEEPER in Easley, SC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Decent pay Family-like environment Youll learn lots of new things Company christmas party, and other fun things throughout the year

      Cons

      Typical retail drama High overturn Not always enough training

      Advice to Management

      Really listen to your associates

      The Home Depot2017-02-27
    • "Cashier"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, SC
      Recommends

      I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

      Pros

      All you have to do is be on time to keep this job. Can transfer.. decent pay

      Cons

      Job can become overwhelming at times but shouldn't let it consume you

      The Home Depot2017-01-15
    • "Flooring sales specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Flooring Sales Specialist in Greer, SC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot

      Pros

      Great company, they offer support and train you. Good to get in young and build a career and take advantage of 401k and stock options.

      Cons

      Part time to start and not enough hours to make a living, some heavy lifting due to the nature of their business.

      Advice to Management

      Find out what your employees need to live their life and help them get there. Otherwise, it's a great opportunity.

      The Home Depot2016-12-15
    Found 31 reviews