The Home Depot HR Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

The Home Depot HR Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
59%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
25 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Profit sharing and the opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    No remote/work from home options

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    The Home Depot2019-08-02
  2. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility Supporting a growing business (Supply Chain, & Technology)

    Cons

    The Home Depot NonStore HR community is very title driven and only value your opinion if you are deemed as important or popular among other HR peers. You are also placed in box depending on the business you support

    Advice to Management

    Start holding leaders accountable for making their associates feel less than what they are Really start valuing internal talent and working with those that really want to improve Offering a severance package isn’t always the best solution

    The Home Depot2019-11-16
  3. "human resource"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    you get to connect with different types of background. diversity and inclusion is reflected strongly

    Cons

    development is a con is this company. they expect you to do it yourself but with a great leadership behind you that will push you you wouldn't have any problems here

    Advice to Management

    leadership needs to focus on development the associates brand more to ensure efficiency throughout the company

    The Home Depot2019-09-16
  4. "Ok, if you can take long hours as the norm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Atlanta, GA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Stock options, comraderie amongst peer group.

    Cons

    Long hours are the norm, lack of communication at times, lack of appreciation, silos.

    Advice to Management

    Utilize that inverted pyramid.

    The Home Depot2019-09-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Human Resources Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They take care of their people

    Cons

    Retail - changes are constant

    The Home Depot2019-07-24
  6. "HRSC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture for the overall company is great! Benefits are great!

    Cons

    Everything is considered a promotion because the starting pay is 15. You dont really get to process information. It's a call center.

    Advice to Management

    Do an exit survey. Listen to your employee feedback.

    The Home Depot2019-07-09
  7. "Disaapointed with how the company treats tennures employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Director in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefit, bonus,, reputation in the community

    Cons

    Poor Leadership in the field

    Advice to Management

    Live by your own values

    The Home Depot2019-04-20
  8. "status or atomspher of the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company to start working

    Cons

    it does not have cons for my position

    The Home Depot2019-03-12
  9. "Top company all around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Been one of the best places I worked. I have great leaders that support my development.

    Cons

    Non con at all.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up living the core values and taking care of your people.

    The Home Depot2019-03-05
  10. "great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time

    Pros

    very appreciative to their employees

    Cons

    working holidays and sometimes customers are not easy to help

    The Home Depot2019-03-02
Found 84 reviews