The Home Depot Reviews in Harrisburg, PA | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Harrisburg Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

1.6
20%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
3 Ratings
  1. "great place but not enough hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Freight Team Associate in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for more than a year

    Pros

    fun place to work, great people

    Cons

    they dont give enough hours

    The Home Depot2017-11-27
  2. "Great Part-time side job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning about home repairs and improvement People you get to work with and help Always do events for the employees, cookouts, ice cream parties etc...

    Cons

    Not enough employee training for other departments. No cross-training.

    The Home Depot2020-02-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Working Hard = Absolutely Nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Appliance Sales Specialist in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people that I worked with were a bunch of great people.

    Cons

    *In my initial interview for the company, I made it clear that I was a college student and that school came first. At first, this was not an issue, but as people left I was then tasked with more and more hours that made it extremely difficult to keep up with all my school work. I gave them roughly 25 hours to work with when I was first hired and this rapidly turned into 39 exactly every week. (They did not want to pay overtime and wanted you to work up to the absolute max before it would kick in). *Not to sound cliche but I am a very hard worker. I made an effort to learn all the systems for every specialty department (Kitchens, Flooring, Millwork, Home Decor, Pro among others). I became the go-to whenever some form of equipment or machinery needed to be used, be it running the paint desk, saws, In-stock carpet, keys, etc. I learned to do this by myself without asking from a manager. This became one of the biggest issues with my time at the company. I would be constantly pulled from whatever I was tasked with to do something else. Come the end of the night I would be scolded for not completing the original task which there was no time left in the day to do. They took advantage of one of the few people that made the effort to grow and in turn beat me into the ground. There were many nights where the store was severely short-handed and I would be given the phones for three if not more departments. I was often the only person scheduled within most of specialty and had to take care of all of them. To prove a point they wound up installing all the specialty programs on one computer so I didn't have to run back and forth between departments. Typically I was closing shift and that created a whole bunch of other issues because of the aforementioned reasons. *The only bonus that I received after all of this was a $0.35 raise after being with the company for a year. I was started at $12.00 an hour. There were associated that were paid a lot more than I, who did a fraction of what I did. *While I was running around the store like a madman we had other associated that would sit on their butts all day and were never tasked with anything outside their assigned department. Because I was willing to work and showed that I was more than capable to do so, I was, in turn, worked into the ground while fellow associates didn't have to do anything. *I was given the same sales quotas as a full-time associate while being only part-time. Even though I met and exceeded those quotas on a consistent basis I was heavily scolded when I failed to meet one for a week. Other associates would not even be spoken to. *I wound up being fired after asking for a raise approx. a month earlier, for a "safety violation" of not using a safety knife to open a cardboard box. *Below is what my "Disciplinary Notice" stated: *(my name) was using a carpet knife to open boxes he was not wearing gloves or using an approved safety knife. ASM (ASM name) stopped him and had him get a safety knife and gloves. Based on the company's investigation, it has been determined that this conduct violated the company's safety policies. * Improvement Plan: * (my name) employment with Home Depot is terminated. *Upon my date of termination, I was worked hard once again and then was called into the office approx. 45 minutes before the end of my eight-hour shift and was let go. I was asked if I needed someone to escort me to the door after grabbing my stuff because they were afraid that I was "going to make a scene". The whole experience was extremely dishonorable and a terrible way to treat someone who had worked so hard in their time with the company.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2019-11-18
  4. "Freight team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Team in Carlisle, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, good job, easy and simple job

    Cons

    Some stress and a lot of items to remember and place

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2017-12-21
  5. "loved working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Cashier in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the employees are amazing, we were like family, good benefits even for par time employees

    Cons

    hard on your body working on those concrete floors

    The Home Depot2017-09-13

    The Home Depot Response

    September 14, 2017Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.

    Continue reading
  6. "Electric/plumbing/hardware/and seasonal associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Elictic/Seasonal/Plumbing Sales in Carlisle, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I enjoy working with this customer and help them with their problems and create solutions for them

    Cons

    I am willing to work occasional evenings but I have been placed on a permanent closing shift that makes a life outside of work unrealistic

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2017-05-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A waste of time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Special Services Associate in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    I got paid on time.

    Cons

    Poor management (specific store), poor software, behind the times, could not find orders, Appliance orders were always either missing or broken

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2016-09-06
  8. "Hard work, great for people person....management soso"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Carlisle, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, physically active work. Constantly learning about new trades and their tricks. Hardworking individuals are recognized and promoted.

    Cons

    Hard to get a routine in your schedule. Late nights....early mornings.... Management is hit or miss. You get some really awesome, motivated managers that have a good head, and you get the ones that make you scratch your head as to how in the world they ever got promoted.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2016-03-08
  9. "Home Depot Mechanicsburg PA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Depot Cashier in Mechanicsburg, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to work with customers one on one and other co workers. It is a different experience as a cashier vs being an associate, it has its advantages.

    Cons

    Never really having a regular schedule. Being a cashier and not having a week of diverse selection of areas in the cashier position, in one week it was like I worked in garden for about 4 days straight on the down time of the year. In one day it was like I cashed out less than 10 customers in 8 hours. When it was completely dead I cleaned, organize stuff around my area that is in an eye view of the cash register and when that was done, it was like trying to find things to do while keeping an eye on the register, "if" a customer comes to cash out. Another time it was again the same way but in the opposite, straight days in a row at returns, one of the most stressful positions that I was told by other cashiers, and witnessing it myself, 8 hours straight in the same position, some times none stop customer activity, that is a good thing, but it can some times stress someone out when you have a long line, you request backup but never get it, so you your self have to battle it out feeling stress because you can see and feel customers are becoming anxious, impatient, and you as cashier is trying to go fast but doing everything by the rules. It gets stressful at returns sometimes and doing for 3-4 times a week 8 hours straight in day can get a little stressful and it hurts your customer service and your attitude with the customers because your stressed out trying to keep it together and then you got a cashier that feels over whelmed, no one really response to your cashier backup, when you need it the most. Another thing is I never seem to be on self check out that much or the front end (main cash registers) as much or even pro cash register, it always been one or two days in main line and the rest on returns or garden, I had some weeks that it was garden returns and one day self check out, and another returns most of the time, and one day on main line.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2015-11-28
  10. "Hardware Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Mechanicsburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    working with customers and able to be flexible/empowered to go above and beyond the customers expectations. Seeing the smile of a satisfied customer

    Cons

    not many regular shifts from week to week or even regular times. Also since I'm also cashier trained being on call for handling longer lines can be demanding

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2015-09-08

    The Home Depot Response

    September 18, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience in your 10 years at The Home Depot.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 22 reviews