The Home Depot Reviews in Irving, TX | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Irving Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
3 Ratings
  1. "Worked at the Irving Texas location for a year. I learned a lot of skills working there. I recommend the garden center."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Its fun working in the garden center. You get to be outside. People are in a better mood during the spring season. You get tips sometimes. At one time I was making 30 bucks a day loading merch for customers.

    Cons

    You get moved around to different departments. Worse is electrical.

    Advice to Management

    Does a good job most of the time. There are strong and weak mangers working here.

    The Home Depot2015-02-26

    The Home Depot Response

    March 24, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. Retail associates are the face of The Home Depot for the thousands of customers who walk through the doors each day. As a retail associate you can expect to interact in a fast-paced environment and learn something new each day!

  2. "Software Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Irving, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    A laid back work environment Amazing co-workers Not constricting/pressuring

    Cons

    At times there was not much guidance provided for our intern project.

    The Home Depot2018-10-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Responsible to drive sales, and build a well oiled team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    family orientated corp, profit and stock share

    Cons

    overworked and under paid. aprons are hard to work with

    Advice to Management

    none

    The Home Depot2017-11-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Don't waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Programmer in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They do offer good benefits.

    Cons

    Unflexible working conditions in IT. Five years ago, this place was a great place to work. (They cared and took care of their IT employees) Back then, this was the best place I had ever worked. Now, due to changes in IT VP management, a cancer has progressed all the way down the chain in IT. One caveat - I'm uncertain of any other department, so can not speak to anything other than IT.

    Advice to Management

    Change the culture before all your product knowledge leaves!

    The Home Depot2017-04-22
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Android Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Android Developer in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work life balance no stress, no pressure, flexible hours job security cultural events

    Cons

    no work most of the time you will be free talent level is really low, you will be working with people who may not push you to do the best. poor management people can get away doing nothing for years. you can come to office browse and never code a line for 6 months and you will not be fired.

    Advice to Management

    recognize talent and do the right thing

    The Home Depot2016-07-02
  6. "MEA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Irving, TX

    I worked at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    no pros with this company

    Cons

    do not work well with vets

    The Home Depot2015-12-14
  7. "IT Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Intern in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really enthusiastic, friendly people who are willing to go out of their way to help and teach. My mentor and team sincerely cared about me and wanted me to got the most out of my internship. They taught me a lot and went above and beyond what I was supposed to learn in my internship.

    Cons

    I feel like the intern experience is different for different teams. Regardless, the other interns definitely enjoyed their experience. Also, it seems that the onboarding process for non-interns is a bit slow, and it is difficult to get approvals to download software sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to take personal interest in your interns. Observe differences between teams. Streamline the process for getting approvals, so devs can work on building code rather than calling around for proper approvals.

    The Home Depot2015-10-28
  8. "Not enough training left in the shark tank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Management Specialist in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits decent pay if transitioning ok benefits

    Cons

    Not enough people trained appropriately to know what you're looking for

    Advice to Management

    Train your employees correctly

    The Home Depot2013-10-21

    The Home Depot Response

    October 25, 2013Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. We strive to provide a variety of training courses, leadership programs, mentoring programs and promotion opportunities to associates at all levels of the company.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nonchalant management, unreasonably disrespectful customers, terrible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Usually awesome staff, slightly above minimum wage pay

    Cons

    Terrible hours, horrible customers, disrespectful/uncaring management the hr manager shows up and rearranges the schedules without informing people, the managers don't care about employees being harassed by customers and no matter how many times you report it, they tell you to "flirt back to increase sales" or "stop whining". No matter how many times I informed them of my inability to work certain hours, they wouldn't...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When your cashiers(whom you claim are important) inform you of sexual harassment from customers, do something about it. Actually care about scheduling; don't have three cashiers and only two closers. Don't promise people promotions or raises when you have no intention of giving them.

    The Home Depot2013-08-24
Found 9 reviews