The Home Depot Key Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Key

The Home Depot Key Reviews

Updated Apr 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
15 Ratings
  1. "Great place of employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor With Keys 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good management and benefits.

    Cons

    Odd hours, work most holidays.

    The Home Depot2019-04-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fast-Paced Customer Oriented Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor With Keys in Yuba City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast Paced, Excellent Customer Service, Teamwork and wages.

    Cons

    I have none at this time..

    The Home Depot2019-04-09
  3. "Depends on the store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Department Supervisor With Keys in Elgin, IL

      I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Casual environment, stable company, good benefits

      Cons

      Leadership varies strongly from store to store

      The Home Depot2019-02-16
    • "Minimal coverage more responsibilities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Department Supervisor With Keys 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Coworkers are great, customers in general are even better, fun events. Although I suspect you just pull the wool over our eyes to hide all the shady things happening. If you're dedicated you can keep advancing. I've had 4 promotions in 5 years.

      Cons

      The amount expected from us without compensation. Key carriers do not get raises upon taking on additional responsibilities. Now with the MOD schedule we're expected to manager alone while up to 4 managers can be in the store. Sometimes we don't have coverage in our departments. Twice your longterm employees have been overlooked with the off schedule raises. I take on a lot of responsibility and barely make more than...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Take care of all of your people. We deserve raises too. The scheduled raises are a joke. Always less than $1. I've had to deliver 23 cent raises. Give me a break. Your ASMs and SM get huge bonuses and free stocks. How about pay the people who actually work more money? Rolling out the new labor model early was a joke. You should've waited until we all had the new front end.

      The Home Depot2019-02-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Heading in the wrong direction"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Key Carrier in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Competitive pay and benefits, stable job

      Cons

      Lack of upward mobility/promotion opportunities.

      Advice to Management

      Reconsider new labor model. Cutting staffing while performing well indicates a short term money grab for shareholders that will eventually cause a crash in sales, customer satisfaction and profits.

      The Home Depot2018-07-06
    • "Live Your Values"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Department Supervisor With Keys 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Benefits are decent compared to others

      Cons

      It really does depend on your management team.

      Advice to Management

      Actually live your values

      The Home Depot2018-07-06
    • Helpful (2)

      "Back Stabbing & Favoritism"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Department Supervisor With Keys in Snellville, GA
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        variable scheduling makes it easy to schedule appointments without taking time off work

        Cons

        You will have to deal with back stabbing and favoritism. Management does not support you. They preach taking care of their associates and customer service; however, its more of a punchline than a reality. You will cover multiple departments on a regular basis with NO support. Management promotes who they like and/or who is the highest paid in their current role, not the best qualified. Additionally, the entrepreneurial...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Staff the stores so employees are not covering multiple areas on a regular basis if you are truly serious about providing excellent customer service. Get back to living the values wheel.

        The Home Depot2018-04-03
      • Helpful (1)

        "Good for Transitional or entry level employment, But don't drink the KoolAid"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Key Holder in Denver, CO
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        They provide great opportunity for Entry Level education for Customer Service and really try to provide a great experience for the customer base

        Cons

        This is not a lifetime career. The turnover in the Denver market is incredibly high due to unrealistic expectations and never enough coverage.

        The Home Depot2018-02-09
      • Helpful (2)

        "Key Carrier Department Supervisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Key Carrier Department Supervisor in Webster, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Desire to provide excellent customer service. Promote from within, give associates empowerment and many programs to assist associates.

        Cons

        Extreme retail. Constantly busy which requires you to prioritize the Big 3. Cannot always accomplish what you want and sometimes lack the product to assist customers.

        Advice to Management

        Remember where you came from. The associates are what drive the business. It is on management to develop them, if an associate fails, you failed.

        The Home Depot2018-01-23
      • Helpful (1)

        "Department Supervisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Key Carrier Department Supervisor in New Port Richey, FL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        *Good Benefits *Opportunity for advancement *OK starting pay *Great people to work with *Fast pace environment

        Cons

        *Full-time to Part-time ratio *Rely too much on part-timers with limited availability *Bad Communication throughout the company *Good employees worked too hard while the rest just get by

        Advice to Management

        *Pay supervisors and management to the market value and what their worth *You're a billion dollar company, loosen the rains on the hours

        The Home Depot2017-12-28
      Found 31 reviews