The Home Depot Reviews in Knoxville, TN | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Knoxville Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
48%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Live The Orange Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance and culture. They believe and teach about diversity and inclusion. They have great training and invest in their employees. Any employee has the opportunity to advance with The Home Depot, if they are willing to learn, have drive and take care of the customers. The Home Depot rewards their employees hard work and efforts.

    Cons

    I haven't found any so far!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on The Home Depot course and your employees will work hard and be happy!

    The Home Depot2019-02-14
  2. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Garden Sales Associate in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved learning and helping others

    Cons

    poor managment, but really good otherwise

    Advice to Management

    Interact with the employees more

    The Home Depot2019-09-12
  3. "ahhh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lenoir City, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the people who work at the Lenoir City Home depot are very welcoming

    Cons

    The drama that goes through the store is just like high all over again.

    The Home Depot2019-09-05
  4. "Full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Associates are like family, lots of benefits

    Cons

    Hours are terrible, no work/life balance, district manger is vindictive and intimidating, you get a feel that everyone is replaceable, pay is terrible, HR can’t be trusted when you have a problem.

    Advice to Management

    Be more worried about how to develop sales rather than keeping subpar associates to meet a metric to get a bonus. When some one does meet sales goal be more encouraging rather than knocking them down for little things. Teach us how to get sales rather than point what we got wrong.

    The Home Depot2019-06-11
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work part time

    Cons

    not busy enough to keep me busy

    The Home Depot2018-04-20
  6. "not enough time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Lenoir City, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    experience for different home projects

    Cons

    work outside rain snow sleet

    The Home Depot2017-06-06
  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management takes care of their people. Our "fun committee" makes food for us on many occasions. Pay is above minimum wage and the workplace is generally fun.

    Cons

    Working nights and weekends, irregular schedules and some petty workplace jealousy that happens in any retail business. Many of the working aged adults (older than the college kids and younger than the retirees) who chose a career in the store are missing teeth and have diabetes. This makes no sense because dental insurance and medical insurance are offered at a reasonable price for even part time employees!!!

    Advice to Management

    Pay the Pro Associates like specialty associates because they sell more special orders than most special order departments (think shingles, siding & metal roofing)

    The Home Depot2016-07-06
  8. "Cashier and customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate/Cashier in Morristown, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    Employ benefit, their goal is to make employees happy, and in turn customers will be treated well

    Cons

    Too much computer training required

    Advice to Management

    A lot of computer training is time consuming, not enough time to complete

    The Home Depot2016-07-06
  9. "Tool Rental Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tool Rental Associate in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Being in college, this job offers the best benefits in regards to pay, benefits, and ease of scheduling. Started as a cashier and was promoted to Tool Rental.

    Cons

    Tool Rental has a steep learning curve. There is a ton of information to learn. Must also be willing to work with customers and work in a fast paced environment. My store is also understaffed.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people and be more willing to promote to full time. My store has had a problem with keeping good people since it takes an act of congress to become full time. Also, cashiers and loaders are scarce.

    The Home Depot2016-02-15
  10. "Good review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Electrical Associate in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Team work, caring managers, awesome benefits and wages

    Cons

    Not the best thought out processes for a multi national/multi billion dollar company

    The Home Depot2016-01-20
Found 35 reviews