The Home Depot Reviews in Louisville, KY | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Louisville Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
13 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tool Rental Associate in New Albany, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, diverse culture, works well around scheduling.

    Cons

    A merchandise discount would be great!

    The Home Depot2018-01-10
  2. "Great company with caring management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The starting part-time pay is fair The job is supportive of its employees

    Cons

    Not always accommodating of schedule requests

    The Home Depot2019-05-11
  3. "VERY low pay for newer employees, super customers, terrific fellow employees, dicey managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Enjoyable customers, enjoyable fellow employees, you'll stay busy, must be high energy

    Cons

    Strange culture, abusive low-rent treatment of newer and recently-hired employees

    Advice to Management

    Take care of employees first. Stop abusing newer and both younger and older employees. Radically improve pay scales. Stop losing best employees. Match REAL culture to advertised culture. Fix today's existing IT hardware, telecommunications, and software. Reward good employees FAST and FIRST. Stop rewarding Managers that cut costs by abusing newer employees.

    The Home Depot2019-03-17
  4. "Kitchen Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Designer in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    They are fair with their employees as far as allowing anyone who wants to advance within the store or corporation to do so.

    Cons

    I have found the company to pay their regular employees a much lower than average hourly income than its direct competitors.

    Advice to Management

    Don't assume the potential twice a year bonuses brings the yearly overall pay to be as much or more than that of your competitors as you are still underpaying your employees.

    The Home Depot2018-03-27
  5. "Entry Level Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Simple, no stress job. Good customer service experience

    Cons

    Tedious, shifts seem to go on forever

    Advice to Management

    Let cashiers sit down when possible

    The Home Depot2017-12-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Slave Labor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    There are not many if any

    Cons

    Low pay. Hours are horrible, open close, close open, can't have a life. Half the time they will not approve vacation which makes it very tough if you have already paid. Depot says employees come first and that is just a slogan with no back bone.

    Advice to Management

    Better pay. Better hours or scheduling. Quit hiring outside of the company. Have seen people work for years, then left, wanting to get into management only to be overlooked by walmart employees who do not know the idea behind depot. Take care of employees and not just blow smoke.

    The Home Depot2017-10-10
  7. "Measurment Technician for HDMS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Measurement Technician in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Work around my personal schedule; Provides a service that can be very helpful to our customers; great healthcare benefits; pays semi-yearly bonuses, if sales goals are met by every department in the company. Offers profit sharing stocks.

    Cons

    Having to use personal car for job site visits; compensation is not all that great but it has improved somewhat in the last year. Mileage is based upon a set reimbursement rate and not an IRS established rate per mile.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees as much as you take care of your customers. Don't take people for granted; if an employee has a special or unique business revenue growth idea or talent - utilize it then, don't ignore it!

    The Home Depot2017-09-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of communication and poor management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Execution Associate in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Merchandise Execution schedule is set Monday through Friday first shift, a rarity in retail. Twice a year profit sharing bonuses, not very much but still a plus. Occasional team lunches and reward system for good work.

    Cons

    Too much unnecessary and petty hostility between store-side employees and Merchandising branch, which causes more trouble than necessary. Lack of willingness to cooperate among employees. Consistent low staffing, requiring employees to stretch themselves thin among workloads. At my specific store, good management gets transferred to other stores while management that stays remains uncooperative and not open to communication....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work on fully staffing all stores and listening to employees. Award better raises to lower turnover and improve communication to boost morale. Take stated concerns like this seriously and actually listen and act on them.

    The Home Depot2017-07-03
  9. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to move up, customers were great, co-workers were fun

    Cons

    Retail (long hours), not enough staffing, management no where to be found

    Advice to Management

    Look @ cons

    The Home Depot2016-11-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fair and down to earth company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lawn and Garden Sales Associate in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    For having worked there almost two years I have always felt respected and never talked down to by management. I do try to treat others with respect, so I guess what goes around comes around. I don't feel like someone is looking over my shoulder but I suppose that is because I DO what is expected of me and don't just stand around gabbing with co-workers. I feel like people are stealing time on the clock when they goof...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes it is hard to keep theft from happening, and it does happen, but it seems to me that if they employed security guards whos primary task is keeping an eye on what's leaving the store that theft would be down. We all do keep aware of what's going on but when it is very busy it gets tough to watch that closely who is walking out with what and if they have receipts.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your employees and make sure everyone gets rewarded, at least verbally, for a good job! Respected, fulfilled employees are much more likely to go above and beyond to help managers and do a good job if they feel their hard work is appreciated. It is a win/win for everyone involved--especially the customers!

    The Home Depot2016-10-24
Found 38 reviews