The Home Depot Management Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Management Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
9 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive Pay, bonuses, diverse, innovative, incusive

    Cons

    Employees ho complain about being short staffed-usually the reason short staffed because they don’t take coming to work seriously. Why get a job if you’re not going to work?

    Advice to Management

    Keep weeding through the crappy people.

    The Home Depot2019-03-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Management Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic workplace culture. People really work to live up to our "Value Wheel", and the company works very hard to make it easy for employees to volunteer in the community.

    Cons

    Project priorities seem to change on a whim, or whenever a new executive comes on board. My original project was supposed to be funded for three years, and after one year and a new SVP, they decided to completely change gears, forcing everyone on the team to hastily find other jobs within the company or else be out of work.

    Advice to Management

    Communication at all levels needs to improve; when the re-prioritization noted above was first brought to light, everyone was left twisting in the wind for several weeks to figure out how or whether they were affected. We got radio silence from leadership and HR; we knew they were working to re-allocate, but nothing about the process was communicated well. Whenever there is lack of information, speculation runs wild....

    Show More
    The Home Depot2019-04-09
  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people ability to help customers and associates

    Cons

    Not as structure as other companies

    Advice to Management

    Build relationship with team use sop as guide in any situation that require immediate action

    The Home Depot2018-11-18
  4. "9 years of employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Management Associate in Chula Vista, CA

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people who work at Home Depot are awesome

    Cons

    benefits get worse every year

    Advice to Management

    hire people like they used to years ago. people who know what they are experienced in the departments they work.

    The Home Depot2018-04-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It's retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Bonus, 401K, full benefits, Stock

    Cons

    Terrible hours, under staffing, 55+ hour weeks,

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the "Everyone is replaceable" mentality and value your employees

    The Home Depot2017-04-07
  6. "Inconsistency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management 

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Overall most of the people you work with are respectful. They have a great amount of information for self training.

    Cons

    Pay is very inconsistent for the same positions. Most promotions I've seen were from "who you know" not performance based. Company values are used for convenience but not always followed by some upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Those that follow the good old boys network to promote, you are missing out on many talented associates who deserve these jobs. When claiming there are pay bands, make sure you don't send out others salary information- it's hard to respect someone who lies to you upfront. Pay more attention to what really goes on vs the show that is put on for you when they know you are looking.

    The Home Depot2016-12-25
  7. "Associate coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Good health insurance, good tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Worst treatment of employees ever bar none

    Advice to Management

    Quit tryingto make money off of your employees by cheating them

    The Home Depot2016-10-05
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Management in Columbia, MO

      I worked at The Home Depot (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Love the atmosphere and management always fixed things quickly. Company takes care of their employees.

      Cons

      Physically demanding. Customers can be grouchy sometimes. Summer hours can get hot and sweaty. Lots of heavy lifting

      The Home Depot2016-06-28
    • "former managent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Management in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Home Depot for more than 19 years

      Pros

      great pay, bonus structure and benifts

      Cons

      employees inside the stores are held to different standards than those that are not store centric

      Advice to Management

      be available and treat everyone fairly

      The Home Depot2016-06-01
    • "The Home Depot"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Materials Management in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great location and working atmosphere, good store leadership. Truly enjoyed the short time at HD, recommend for anyone who loves to work with people.

      Cons

      Can get extremely busy and at times departments lack staff to support the demand.

      Advice to Management

      Improve scheduled and time planning.

      The Home Depot2016-04-29
    Found 32 reviews