The Home Depot Manager IT Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot IT Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
7 Ratings
  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent company to work. They take care of their employees really well.

    Cons

    Should be working from Atlanta to have any growth.

    The Home Depot2017-03-28
  2. "Home Depot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and nice corporate campus

    Cons

    Little work/life balance, very stressful environment

    The Home Depot2019-06-17
  3. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It still has a family-like culture

    Cons

    Recently politics make it hard to move up.

    The Home Depot2017-09-01
  4. "The Home Depot can be a wonderful place to work and grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Marietta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company with many benefits and perks! They try to do a lot for their employees by making it as enjoyable as possible.

    Cons

    Your life will be hell if you end up working for the wrong managers. The company is still old school in many ways, however many areas are definitely changing to be a more fun environment. It just depends what area of the company you are in.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the impact you have on your employees

    The Home Depot2016-04-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Manager IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager IT in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Value based company, diverse workforce, dedicated people

    Cons

    Workload can be unreasonable at times

    Advice to Management

    Reduce conflicting priorities

    The Home Depot2016-03-25
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Mehhhh...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Home Depot for more than a year

    Pros

    - Enjoyed most of the people I worked with - Good learning experience with latest technologies

    Cons

    Direct management applied antiquated perceptions and leadership techniques that were contrived from perceptions of performance versus the actual quantifiable performance and value delivered. Job duties were ambiguously explained, and appropriate feedback was not provided as a guide to success. I was directly told that there was no work/life balance for associates; which to me, is unrealistic in this day and age,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More flexibility in schedule, especially with the workplace located in Austin where there is heavy traffic congestion from main roads, creating 1-2 hour commutes one-way. More focus on employee production and end results of work, than if the person is there 8-5 every day.

    The Home Depot2016-02-10
  7. "IT Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    work remotely for Associates, they treat contractors like teammates not subordinates. contractor "ranch" structure works well. company treats employees with redpect

    Cons

    Archaic, low tech, highly manual PM tools. way too much "grunt work" for Project Managers, particularly in the Financial Tracking area

    Advice to Management

    If you want to optimize your financials on projects, invest in an Enterprise System. Reduce turnover in PM community as well.

    The Home Depot2015-12-07
  8. "Winning for a reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Forward thinking technology, successfully engaging in ambitious Information technology endeavors. Fun place to work with many of the best in the IT field. Seeking success in upward and lateral mobility are encouraged. Entrepreneurial spirit is encouraged and a part of the company culture. This is without the cutthroat culture, but a culture of teamwork and encouragement to work together and get things done. Healthy focus...

    Show More

    Cons

    Retail moves very fast, hence the pace at which work is executed tends to be at a very fast pace.

    The Home Depot2015-08-24

    The Home Depot Response

    August 27, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. Our associates and managers alike are essential parts of The Home Depot’s network. We appreciate your feedback.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "IT Project Manager - Austin Technology Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working full time at the Home Depot ATC for about two years. They move really fast but have a great management team. Plenty of new technology for us IT geeks. It's a large environment with a lot of opportunities.

    Cons

    The ATC is low on space so employees share cubes. On the positive side that means that on certain days you are working from home. Managers seem to be so busy putting out files that they have little time to assist with project planning.

    The Home Depot2015-07-14

    The Home Depot Response

    July 15, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to not only customer service, but to our associates. Because taking care of associates is one of our core values, we’re always looking for ways to ensure ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (2)

    "IT QA Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT QA Manager in Ellenwood, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company with good benefits and compensation. If you're in management, the bonuses are great.

    Cons

    Very stressful and long hours. No work life balance.

    The Home Depot2015-05-10

    The Home Depot Response

    May 28, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.

Found 21 reviews