The Home Depot Manager IT Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot IT Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "IT Project Manager - Austin Technology Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working full time at the Home Depot ATC for about two years. They move really fast but have a great management team. Plenty of new technology for us IT geeks. It's a large environment with a lot of opportunities.

    Cons

    The ATC is low on space so employees share cubes. On the positive side that means that on certain days you are working from home. Managers seem to be so busy putting out files that they have little time to assist with project planning.

    The Home Depot2015-07-14

    The Home Depot Response

    July 15, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to not only customer service, but to our associates. Because taking care of associates is one of our core values, we’re always looking for ways to ensure our associates have equal access to growth and development opportunities. We strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly and respected. Keep up the great work!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "IT QA Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT QA Manager in Ellenwood, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company with good benefits and compensation. If you're in management, the bonuses are great.

    Cons

    Very stressful and long hours. No work life balance.

    The Home Depot2015-05-10

    The Home Depot Response

    May 28, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your review. “Taking Care of Our People” is one of our core values. We try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Investing heavily in technology, innovative, process oriented, dynamic, great benefits. If you can never be tired of learning and love new challenges that is the place to be. teleworking available. Customer service comes first.

    Cons

    Teleworking not extended to all IT, Process oriented but the processes may not be fully documented or could be hard to understand at times. Networking is a must to succeed .

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2015-01-17

    The Home Depot Response

    January 30, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Fast paced, fun I.T. environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - I T Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Never bored; always seeking to be more efficient and deliver a better experience for customers and store Associates.

    Cons

    Publicly traded company; many indirect bad financial decisions made because of promises to stock holders or worry of the stock price. Also, not much vacation and long working hours.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2014-06-07

    The Home Depot Response

    June 10, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and we try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Store Support Center offers Eye Opening work for behind the scenes of retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Covered parking at the Store Support Center and onsite lunch facilities are the only pros to working at SSC. Stores promote true team environment. Serving customers at the stores makes the difference.

    Cons

    Unpredictable work hours. "Win at all cost" attitude by senior management, even to personal health due to poor processes, inefficient data center design, lack of a true IT roadmap that gives proper attention to business requirements, make working at the Store Support Center extremely challenging.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2013-12-31

    The Home Depot Response

    January 3, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. At The Home Depot, we strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly, and respected. Taking care of our people is one of our core values that we stress within our organization. We will share this information with others.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "I Was Warned & Should Have Known Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - IT Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    Well known brand, knowledgeable coworkers, decent location, good pay

    Cons

    Conflicting views on PM process and who actually owns which piece of the pie creates nonstop politics. Not a projectized environment, more of a weak matrix. If you are expecting a senior PM role do not work here, others own delivery and you will be merely managing tasks and sending notes. Whenever you try to assert the usual role of a senior PM you will be seen as "clashing" with others while they dictate your approach. Save yourself the aggravation, don't work here. If I had seen one negative review of the PM role on glass door I wouldn't have left my great job for this, so I am posting one. A prior coworker tried to warn me but I didn't listen. If you like where you are - stay, the brand is not a step up.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2013-11-11

    The Home Depot Response

    November 13, 2013Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. At The Home Depot, we strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly, and respected. Taking care of our people is one of our core values that we stress within our organization. We will share this information with others.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Corporate Now Hiring in Dallas due to Bad Reputation in Atlanta, Texans Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - IT Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    Fortune 35, well known brand, large company, good technology, nice tech campus, decent pay

    Cons

    No training upon arrival, no feedback - positive or negative, very little structure, too many managers of all kinds escalating items to multiple bosses if they don't get their way - no way to keep all of them happy at the same time. Third world managers who treat American females in tech with disrespect by going around them, leaving them out of the loop, making disparaging remarks about women in groups and getting rid of them if seen as a threat to their ego. Constantly conflicting policies and directions. People in charge who shouldn't be in charge. Expect to work on major holidays and have no life whatsoever.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2013-09-28
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Progressively got worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This was a very fast growing company when I began working there in the early 90's. The company had a family atmosphere and I believe everyone put the overall success of the company ahead of their own personal successes (we called it bleeding orange). The feeling was if you did what's best for the company, you would be rewarded down the road. We worked hard, partied hard, and enjoyed the fruits of our labor. We built the vast majority of our systems in house and actively promoted from within. Life was good.

    Cons

    When the founders (Bernie & Arthur) of the company left and Nardelli was brought in from GE to be the new CEO, the culture of the company changed completely. The list is too great for this space but some of the negatives include: outsourcing of IT staff, the replacement of FT store associates with PT folks with no product knowledge. Little to no work/life balance. In general, all processes and operations were overhauled to cut costs and improve efficiencies. Departments at the SSC no longer collaborated, but now competed with one another. Senior management ruled by fear, intimidation and were basically bully's. The GE / Walmart mentality may be good for some, but the culture shift was a complete 180 from where it was when I started. I will say that things started to get better once Blake took over.

    The Home Depot2013-01-27
  9. Helpful (4)

    "sweat shop with no consideration for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    south-east presence and industry leader new leaders at the executive leadership appear to work alongside good location -aside from a downtown place

    Cons

    No mentoring or career advancement Long weekend work hours for IT managers IT managers work as order takers and no room for thought leadership at the manager level

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2011-07-23
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Worst place I've ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Some very talented individuals that are making personal sacrifices to help the customers and make Home Depot successful.

    Cons

    The culture is management by fear. Employees are frequently threatened with termination. This culture manifests itself in the way that employees are afraid to suggest ideas or to speak up when something is wrong. They are taught that it is better to hide things and point fingers than to evaluate the problem and create a long term solution. There is a consistent level of disrespect for the employees.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2010-12-31
Found 23 reviews