The Home Depot Reviews in Melbourne, FL | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Melbourne Reviews

Updated Apr 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
4 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Team Member in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is one of the best work environments I have ever worked in. It's very team oriented. Training is priority. I feel respected and valued.

    Cons

    It is difficult to transition from a part time employee to a full time employee. Non-managerial rate of pay is low.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    The Home Depot2015-07-02

    The Home Depot Response

    July 3, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

  2. "Store management sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Melbourne, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, even for a part time worker

    Cons

    Store managers are just terrible

    The Home Depot2019-04-17
  3. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company seems to care about employees. Will work with your schedules as long as you're over the probationary period.

    Cons

    Will not change schedules if not past probationary period. Be sure what you can work when applying .

    The Home Depot2018-06-26
  4. "Head cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Cashier in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hrs for college students ,2nd jobs or people that receive s.s.i. and can work part time hr.thier always room to grow with the company

    Cons

    No room for full time. Not enough training in certain Dept.

    The Home Depot2018-04-30
  5. "Great Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Team Associate in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonus checks, sick time pay and vacation pay even at part time! Flexible schedule, decent wage, awesome people to work with!

    Cons

    It's really hard to get full time , especially if your a woman... It's hard to advance in the company, but it is possible.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of hiring more part time people that may not last a month, give current part time employees the opportunity to go full time! Most of us work two jobs because we need a full time position.

    The Home Depot2017-08-23
  6. "Undercuts Employees in many ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    The Co-workers are family. They are there for each other in good times and in the not so good times.

    Cons

    Home Depot cuts hours to avoid having to pay for insurance for the employees. They pay the bare minimum and expect you to work like a slave! Constantly saying that to be 'promoted' you must take on more and more responsibility without extra pay. Then when your annual review comes no matter how much blood, sweat and tears you invested all Home Depot will invest in you is less than a Quarter Raise! Meanwhile they grossed...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are all Jaded and know that nothing you say, suggest or do can make a difference! Be the mouse on the wheel, take your crumbs as they fall and get your handout all while the CEO's live in the mansions living on the fat acting like the Plantation Owners.

    The Home Depot2016-03-10

    The Home Depot Response

    March 31, 2016Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. Our associates are key to our success. We strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are respected, their contributions are valued and they have equal access to growth and development opportunities.

  7. "Good Culture, Room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company has a really good culture and very good benefits. If you work pretty hard there is room for advancement. They have great benefits and 401k as well as a discount on stock. There is also profit sharing twice a year

    Cons

    "Competitive pay" While it is in the realm of Lowes, it is usually lower by a dollar or two per hour depending. The culture and benefits is what actually keeps most people around. You aren't going to get rich here

    Advice to Management

    The management are really pushed to advance from within and make recognition an important value. This varies drastically however, from store to store.

    The Home Depot2015-04-02
  8. "This was my favorite job until my flight instructor job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun and dutiful job for me.

    Cons

    None other than maybe I should have been bi-lingual.

    Advice to Management

    Stay off people's backs.

    The Home Depot2015-02-19

    The Home Depot Response

    March 24, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. At The Home Depot, we strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly, and respected. Taking care of our people is one of our core values that we stress within our organization. We will share this information with ...

    Show More
  9. "Neutral Review - Not great; not bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Depot Cashier in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Interview was easy - Hours were flexible

    Cons

    - Management was disorganized and unprofessional at times.

    The Home Depot2012-06-23
  10. "The orange life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It teaches you the fundamentals of running a successful business. As an hourly associate, you are responsible for potentially managing a multi- million business. You learn about every level and facet of business, from purchasing, performance management, logistics and customer service.

    Cons

    When you reach a salaried position, you have less control over your business than you do as an hourly department manager. While you do have more responsibility, how effective you are using it is determined less about your commitment and how the general manager allows you to manage your business. I had the opportunity to see this from both perspectives: one manager that allowed assistants to run their business and one...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When regional or district teams are going to visit the store, a true representation of how the store is operating would be to have visits unannounced. By doing so, you can determine how effectively each store's team is managing. By visiting the stores anonymously, you could see which associates, supervisors, and managers are managing the business and which ones are being coached prior to your visits. Executive staff would...

    Show More
    The Home Depot2012-06-23
Found 11 reviews