The Home Depot Reviews in Mississippi | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Mississippi Reviews

Updated 7 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
24 Ratings
  1. "Best Customer service job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Gulfport, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Answering phones; opening and payments on accounts; assisting customers

    Cons

    No downsides; loved every experienced & knowledge gained!

    The Home Depot2019-10-07
  2. "I loved it there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Associate in Olive Branch, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Co-workers. Great Managers, Plenty of things to learn, each day was totally different. Awesome crew of people.

    Cons

    Part time hours are a little hard. Would like more full time positions to be available.

    The Home Depot2018-10-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "I Like My Job At Home Depot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Tool Rental Associate in Olive Branch, MS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a company you can grow with

    Cons

    They cut too many cashier hours.

    Advice to Management

    More hours for the front end... Our customers notice that the registers are closed, and they are not getting the best service due to lack of employees, and low morale due to cutting hours. You're losing a lot of great people.

    The Home Depot2018-07-30
  4. Helpful (3)

    "HDE Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HDE Sales Consultant in Biloxi, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big tax write offs for the mileage you travel. Health insurance.

    Cons

    Awful. Overpriced products priced even higher due to local building code requirements. You stand no chance. If you do happen to make a sale and the homeowner gets any comparison quote, your sunk. Half the sales I made were cancelled after the sale. Too high for market. You must have another income to survive.

    Advice to Management

    I was let go last November for low sales volume. Positions at both local stores are still not filled. How’s that working out for you. HD? Management means well but are clueless. 3 sales managers during my tenure. Commission only is great in a competitive environment. You’re not competitive or even close. If you can sell windows for $1200 each, jump right in there.

    The Home Depot2018-08-20
  5. Helpful (2)

    "I love my Orange-Blooded Family!! Whooo!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Appliance Specialist in Horn Lake, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working at The Home Depot! When I first started, our former store manager was very nice, warm, and welcoming. All of the assistant managers are fair. They recognize hard workers and they do not take advantage of their employees who do put in extra work. If you provide excellent customer service, deliver on your orange promise, and work your scheduled shifts they will reward you! With that being said, they... will not tolerate laziness and constant socializing (we call it a "pumpkin patch") when there is always work to be done. I've worked at places where the managers or the owners show you no respect and they will take advantage of you as if you do not have a choice to change work jobs. They're always asking how you're doing and they will pull you aside if they think something is wrong or something's heavy on your mind. Not to mention the free lunches and brunches for the store. Oh and not to mention, success share!! I love my job and I've literally never said this about no job, ever!

    Show More

    Cons

    It can get a little hectic. Sometimes customers will exaggerate on how long they've had to wait for assistance in hopes on getting a deal on an expensive appliance. Oh and having to hear a customer say "I'll just have to go to Lowes" when you can't give them what they want because it is not an in-stock item or they'll have to wait more than a day to get it.

    Advice to Management

    None at all. You all rock! You all make this job fun and enjoyable. Management and store associates are what make me love my orange-blooded family!!!! I'm actually in tears thinking about you guys!

    The Home Depot2018-04-11
  6. "Department Suervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager Supervisor in Madison, MS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Home Depot has great benefits healthcare vision and dental. 401K and buying stock , helps with continuing education,

    Cons

    The room for advancement is there but when you get to ASM advancement there is not a lot of room to advancement and the turn over does not happen all that often

    Advice to Management

    the room for advancement is there from part time to full time associate then to department supervisor.

    The Home Depot2018-04-28
  7. "Sales Pro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SalesPro in Madison, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The store is very spacious.

    Cons

    Training is weak. Turnover including management. Pay increase is bad.

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job of promoting. Train. Lead by example instead of punishment.

    The Home Depot2017-11-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great stock program, Great 401K matching program, Fair insurance benefits, decent pay increases and good people overall. Excellent company to work for as long as you aren't one of the ones doing the heavy work. Steady and secure work to support a family.

    Cons

    Very physical work - especially if full-time and you have a good work ethic. Repetitive heavy lifting from floor. They do not try hard enough to 'save their employees backs'. High turnover of management - no in-store human resource person to speak to. If you have an issue, your only chance to get help is the hot line number to corporate. Otherwise management does what they want whether it is right or... not- and that all depends on the current store management. Will most often deny your vacation requests or will make you wait until a week / week and a half before to let you know that you will be able to take off. This is even if you request months in advance. Management makes huge bonuses off of the labor of associates who may be rewarded with a hundred dollars as a yearly bonus.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do more to minimize the risk of injury to employees with heavy lifting. Don't reward the most hardworking among you with even heavier work. Increase bonuses for the "little people" who are working to make The Home Depot a successful company. Allow employees to choose when they will take their vacations that they have earned.

    The Home Depot2017-11-14
  9. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Jackson, MS
    Recommends

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the people I worked with made it fun. Customers were friendly , for the most part . Customer service , efficient customer service is strongly encouraged. My store was big on customer service.

    Cons

    Guys flirt a lot, staff and customers . Not a huge deal though, just stay in your lane

    The Home Depot2017-11-16
  10. "Awesome place to work no matter how old you are! Cashier!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Tupelo, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits, they actually care about you, and great work experience all around! Flexible work schedule! Fun place to work!

    Cons

    It gets boring sometimes as a cashier. Kinda hard to get a lot of credit applications. But other than that nothing I can think of to complain about. Everything is great.

    Advice to Management

    Lower the credit applications goal each week.

    The Home Depot2017-10-29
Found 62 reviews