The Home Depot Reviews in New Brunswick, NJ | Glassdoor

The Home Depot New Brunswick Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
1%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
5 Ratings
  1. "Decent pay - and Great staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New Brunswick, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Decent pay - and Great staff

    Cons

    weekend / holidays longer hours very busy

    The Home Depot2015-10-23
  2. "Great Job-Poor Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in New Brunswick, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Schedule is Monday-Friday Early mornings. No weekends

    Cons

    Can not live on current pay rate

    The Home Depot2019-08-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Strangest place on earth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Departmental Assistant in New Brunswick, NJ

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    all the employees realize its slave labor, fun place to work, no stress

    Cons

    no money, i don't want to be fed just pay me, not a union job forming a union would help!! never enough hours, if you don't drink the juice your an outcast they then cut your hours and walk you to the door for being repeatedly late or any other excuse they can up with

    Advice to Management

    Oh you managers all you want is to be productive and cost effective, little do you know running a skeleton ship will only give you a bad reputation and your employees will despise you. The profit sharing is a joke and just a carrot in front of the cart with lies and deceit.

    The Home Depot2019-06-26
  4. "Millwork specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist in New Brunswick, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits ; good pay; and great company

    Cons

    Scheduling; time ; lunch ; unbalanced schedule

    Advice to Management

    Better schedule

    The Home Depot2018-05-07
  5. "workers not bodies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Processor in New Brunswick, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible schedule if you're a student, get to meet some awesome folks (customers and co-workers)

    Cons

    customers who expect everything to be done for them, because of low pay they are unable to attract and retain workers, employees make promises to customers they can't keep, inventory chaos, constant harping on credit cards

    Advice to Management

    when making rules stick with them, management is more than giving out discounts to dissatisfied customers

    The Home Depot2018-04-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "GRINDING IT OUT CONSTANTLY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New Brunswick, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Understanding employees fun place to work place on occasion

    Cons

    No money working here! constantly re-inventing the wheel needlessly

    Advice to Management

    Why don’t you have your department managers take on more responsibility. Hey why don’t we cut managers and then make managers manage two departments on one salary. Oh my bad your already doing that, lmao!

    The Home Depot2018-05-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loader/Garden Associate in New Brunswick, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There's really nothing great about The Home Depot aside from the customer service and time management skills you will acquire.

    Cons

    I've never had a bad experience with management and, quite frankly, I am one of the hardest workers at my store. Therefore, this isn't a review about my personal experience–it's a review about the store I work at in general. There's no sense of professionalism or organization where I work. The management will hire just about anyone, regardless of their experience, and pay them the bare minimum to bust their... balls. New employees are given multiple training courses online, most of which are irrelevant to their specific position. Very quickly you will realize you aren't getting paid enough to do the immense amount of work that's required. One of the hardest front-end workers I know is being paid minimum wage, drives almost an hour to get to work, and the company practically spits on him. The overall attitude is "Do all of this for this amount of pay, or we'll find someone else to do it for less." If you do plan to work here, you have to be full-time. Part-time employees receive little benefits and are only given 2 hours of sick time a month. To put that into perspective, you need to work every shift for 4 months to get a single day off. If you're sick, it's likely you'll be out 2-3 days consecutively so, realistically, you will need to work for at least 8 months before considering calling out if you want to get paid. Overall, I do not recommend working here. Work for a business that cares about its employees and customers more than its income. The Home Depot is the epitome of unprofessional retail.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't act like your employees are replaceable.

    The Home Depot2015-09-05
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Go elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    PASA in New Brunswick, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Good company, policies,benefits good friends, great vacation

    Cons

    Pay, raises, performance perks you get promotions by being friends not working

    Advice to Management

    Reward people who work not friends.

    The Home Depot2014-12-24

    The Home Depot Response

    January 5, 2015Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are respected and that their contributions are valued. Taking care of associates is one of our core values. We continually look for ways to ensure they have equal access to growth and development opportunities.

    Show Less
Found 8 reviews