The Home Depot Reviews in New Orleans, LA | Glassdoor

The Home Depot New Orleans Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
12 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - **** in Covington, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Inclusion, opportunity to grow with company. 401k, sucess share (profit sharing) twice a year. Sick & vacation time. Monetary accolades.

    Cons

    Sometimes working alongside Associates that wants a paycheck but don't want to do the work.

    Advice to Management

    Be the example of our core values! Always let your Associates know they're good doing a good job! And consider seniority and experience when promoting an assoc to a higher position.

    The Home Depot2019-02-20
  2. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Team Member in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay and Overnight perks.

    Cons

    Management is not the greatest.

    The Home Depot2019-04-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Asset Protection"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and medium workload with sometimes fast pace environment. The store is closed on Thanksgiving and Christmas. Two bonuses typically each year. Depending on store sales volume, the bonus may be small or large.

    Cons

    Sometimes management is not always on your side and may want to do their own thing so approach some topics with caution. There are some politics at store level at most stores. The paid time off could be better starting out, but once you get tenure, it's not bad.

    Advice to Management

    Treat others how you would want to be treated. Surround yourself with a capable and dedicated team of the right people and you will be successful.

    The Home Depot2018-12-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Didn’t meet up to my expectations at all. Feel over worked, under paid, and unappreciated for the hard work I do daily"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paint Sales Associate in Covington, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Co workers are nice and make the hours pass quickly

    Cons

    Management expects entirely too much from certain departments without wanting to pay the employees more for jobs well done.

    Advice to Management

    Stop asking for more of your employees if you aren’t willing to pay them more

    The Home Depot2018-05-28
  5. "in store service rep (crown bolt)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Metairie, LA

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    To obtain a position with growth-oriented company for advancement and professional development financial peace of mind applying and knowledge

    Cons

    None working gives me get detail in completing tasks that i was helping customers solve problems with the help they needed

    The Home Depot2018-05-10
  6. "Working for any corporate retail chain is a dice roll"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Quick and dirty way to get general knowledge of trades/home improvement The old dudes who used to be tradesmen/handy men like to share their knowledge and are easy to get along with. A variety show of equipment to get certified on/gain experience with It's a publicly listed company with direct deposit The first-phone is useful Lots of transfer opportunities throughout the store/region/country.

    Cons

    Behind the times on inventory control/management. Kronos time management system is cumbersome They round your time into 15 minute block increments, kinda stingy and opens the company to potential wage theft lawsuits. No real deal health insurance for part-timers. Too many consolidated departments == increased turnover and limited advancement opportunities. (Kind of a pro, if you think about it while twirling...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire me as a highly paid consultant to help fix/mitigate these issues. Take safety seriously, like for real.

    The Home Depot2018-04-30
  7. "thdp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Gretna, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working at the home depot you'll feel part of a family, everyone treats one another with respect. There's a lot of opportunity to grow as an employer.

    Cons

    Aren't too many full time positions available as well as hours. Workers call in looking for hours. Brown-nosing yourself up the orange ladder shouldn't be the only way you're qualified for an open position but by your the hard work you put in.

    The Home Depot2018-01-16
  8. "sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Kenner, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great place to work ,great people to work with.

    Cons

    need more full time sales associates

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    The Home Depot2017-10-23
  9. "Sales/Receiving Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales/Receiving Associate in Marrero, LA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Willing to work around school schedules.

    Cons

    Tedious work that doesn't make any sense most of the time.

    The Home Depot2017-10-21
  10. "The met team is poorly managed. Certain people have different privileges than others."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kenner, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and you get to have weekends off. Some holidays and considered a paid holiday. You can easily cross over to a floor associate where its better structured. Theres always places to transfer.

    Cons

    Poor management and leadership. High school environment where gossip is trending everyday. Everyone is worried about the next employee. They merged with crown bolt and now we have to do our work and crown Bolt work.

    Advice to Management

    Grow up and stop listening to gossip

    The Home Depot2017-09-28
Found 42 reviews