The Home Depot Reviews in Norfolk, VA | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Norfolk Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great overall place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Chesapeake, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extreme ease of POS system, great training by staff

    Cons

    Micromanaged by some Assistant Managers

    The Home Depot2019-02-11
  2. "No full time and no promotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Newport News, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really good benefits for part timers

    Cons

    You will need a second job. They give you about 12-15 hours a week.

    The Home Depot2019-04-16
  3. "DSup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture People you work with Success sharing

    Cons

    Pay Work life balance Schedule Lack of communication

    The Home Depot2019-03-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Dead end job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    3 day weekends. That’s about it.

    Cons

    Low pay for strenuous work. Repetitive work. Management doesn’t care if you’re unhappy with you job at this company. One manager actually said that “if you’re unhappy you should go somewhere else.” Essentially meaning it’s your fault if you’re unhappy and not theirs.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of cutting such large bonus checks for yourselves put more money towards the salaries of the people actually there every day and night doing the actual work and not there just to make themselves look good like yourselves do.

    The Home Depot2019-02-28
  5. "Good Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tool Rental Associate in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, flexbile scheduling, great customer service experience.

    Cons

    Some managers are a bit hard headed

    The Home Depot2019-01-04
  6. "Not bad for a high school graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Freight Associate in Newport News, VA

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You don't have to deal with customers, especially during the holiday season, as they close as you're coming in

    Cons

    Easy work. Put stuff away and clean up at the end of the night/ beginning of the day.

    The Home Depot2018-11-14

    The Home Depot Response

    November 14, 2018Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review!

  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hourly pay for retail relative to what else is around.

    Cons

    You get jaded after years of working there with helping customers. You start to feel like a cog in a machine.

    The Home Depot2018-08-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Small Engine Maintenance Technician in Norfolk, VA

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Willing to work with your schedule as long as you put in your request 1 week ahead of time. Enjoyable work

    Cons

    No chance of full time employment. You had to be promoted to get full time.

    The Home Depot2018-05-09

    The Home Depot Response

    May 9, 2018Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We continually look for ways to ensure that associates have equal access to growth and development opportunities.

  9. "One of the best box store entry level jobs, or retirement time filler."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great job to retire to part time to have something to do. There are some interesting jobs available, and there seem to be some 'roller skating' opportunities if thats all you want. One of the better box stores to work for. Can be salaried manager with fat bonuses and no degree. 'Set hours' 11$ start for everyone as far as I know. That might seem good to you.

    Cons

    Experiences vary widely based on your job and management. Invests money into employees through round about ways inside of just a better up front package. Would rather put millions into morale/motivator/team gimmicks than just paying more and/or offering real benefits. Path into management is narrow, full of drama, and can take a long time. Bonus checks for the grunts are an insult for the people who are the actual...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My store needed the assistant managers cleaned out. Farmed out to other stores or promoted or let go. The toxic environment of an entrenched middle management led to a highly effective butt kissing, buck passing, cover up system. Don't let this happen to your store. And just fire any ASM grandfathered in from HR manager, they are worse than worthless. Changed location

    The Home Depot2018-04-12
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours nice staff and perks

    Cons

    open early close late in evening

    The Home Depot2018-03-11
Found 54 reviews