The Home Depot Reviews in Pensacola, FL | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Pensacola Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
78%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
3 Ratings
  1. "Freight/Receiving Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Team Associate in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like my 7-11 pm hour shift and the tea mwork of unloading the truck and stocking shelves

    Cons

    Sometimes less than 20 hrs per week scheduled but not a big "con" as I sometimes need a little more rest from the physical nature of unloading the trucks.

    Advice to Management

    Based on the conditions and challenge of the job itself, maybe a little extra per hour rate for the truck unloaders which is what I mostly enjoy doing.

    The Home Depot2018-11-14
  2. "Pro Account Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Destin, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good management. Good coworkers. Work is interesting.

    Cons

    Low pay. On your feet the entire 8 hour shift.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure each department is covered the entire day. Nothing more frustrating than trying to find an expert from Electrical or Milworks to work with a customer and no one is to be found.

    The Home Depot2018-11-26
  3. "Bait and Switch tactics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Associate in Destin, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice atmosphere, and people

    Cons

    Home Depot advertises job openings that do not exist. I got a job offer and they switched the department at the last minute.

    Advice to Management

    Honesty is the best policy. Stop “misleading” applicants with openings that do not exist. Be upfront from the beginning of the hiring process and save everybody a lot of time and money.

    The Home Depot2018-06-04
  4. "Can be a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Walton Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    VERY flexible with scheduling when needed!! I enjoy helping customers out with their projects.

    Cons

    Low manning, low pay, and slow at promoting from part time to full time

    Advice to Management

    If you know you have a excellent worker on your hands, be sure to give them a reason to stay and not look for another job. If you have a good worker, let them know it by moving them to another department of choice permanently before someone of lower quality.

    The Home Depot2018-03-05
  5. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lot Associate in Destin, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fun and challanging place to work kept me on my toes always something new to do

    Cons

    upper management only seemed to care about long term employees

    The Home Depot2018-02-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Bad Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Electrical Engineer in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best reasons to work for Home Deopt is that you learn about housing technologies.

    Cons

    Home Depot expects a lot and gives very little in return. After 1 year of hard work learning the electrical dept w/a long-time Master ELectrician my hours were cut to 16 a week. And I'm no dummy, having learned a lot about electricity, and having an MS in Computer Science. In fact, this is the norm, and stores feel it. Home Depot's business model doesn't keep talented employees who have learned 'on the fly' and yet corporate yells about attrition. Want to go to school ? Forget it. Your hours will be cut and you'll be looking in Home Depot's cupboard for food. Go to Walmart. They're a great company. Steady, countable hours and you can go anywhere in the company you like.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide a training program that enables people to certify to become electricians, etc. not just 'turn and burn'. Give standards to earn Homer badges. I always got 'You must do something exceptional' with no clear example of what exceptional was in the electrical department. I never got a Homer Award despite my hard work. On a personal note, they harangued a long-time manager who was loved by the employees for 'getting in the trenches' and fired him. I'd rather order online for my beautiful house than deal with my old store now.

    Show More
    The Home Depot2017-12-24
  7. "Bilingual Professional Desk associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Manager in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to engage with the public. Good work ethic environment.

    Cons

    Low pay, combative customers with known history still permitted to shop in the store

    Advice to Management

    Incentive pay based on experience and multi language benefit to the company

    The Home Depot2017-02-27
  8. "Just my personal opinon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Very friendly management, with great pay and benefits

    Cons

    Lots of things to memorize

    Advice to Management

    Don't change a thing

    The Home Depot2016-07-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Merchandising Execution Associate in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Great comapany good hours, flexible

    Cons

    Lol its a job, low pay but easy job so it matches

    The Home Depot2016-05-28
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Indentured Servant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Sales Consultant in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Lots of training and you walk in knowing Home Depot is the Biggest and well known.

    Cons

    You arent told, that you will be driving 3 hours to a sales appointment on your dime and that you cant personally call ahead and confirm. You arent told you will work for free every saturday at the store. You arent told you dont accure vacation time because you are straight commission. You arent told that some weeks, you are paying to work at home depot.

    Advice to Management

    pay a base salary and mileage reimbursement

    The Home Depot2015-10-05
Found 14 reviews