The Home Depot Receiving Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Receiving Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
83%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
1 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager - Receiving/Delivery 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They truely live by their Core Values, makes it easy to do your job.

    Cons

    Pay doesn't fit the job.

    The Home Depot2016-06-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Yes Im a rehire came back 3 years ago & started with Home Depot in 1993 total years worked 15 + years. Current position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receiving Manager in Lodi, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Receiving manager last 3 yrs. I have weekends off & I enjoy helping customers from start to finish there project.

    Cons

    Managers get paid great, however the new Home Depot puts so much tasking & work list so much you do not have any time to help the customers. You work way to hard for terrible pay, takes forever to promote, management promotes there favorites that usually don't work hard & get away with slacking. If Bernie & Arther were still around they new how to take care of there employees.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2015-04-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Receiving Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager - Receiving/Delivery in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Instills an employee-first culture, makes customer service the number one priority, follows through on promoting from within while developing internal talent.

    Cons

    Reconciles two or three part time employees to the job of one full time employe, but at the expense of longer term, stable employees and management, who may have negotiated pay rates before the move to part time hiring began.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2015-01-19
  4. "Great benefits but the pay is ridiculously low and overworked for peanuts."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receiving Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits are far from none.

    Cons

    Way underpaid and overworked. It seems like all management cares about is themselves and how much they are going to bonus. While the workers get paid nothing. This company used to be great for the associates but now it's more designed for the share holders.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2014-12-13

    The Home Depot Response

    December 30, 2014Client Partner

    Start paying your associates what they deserve. Go back to the basics of being grand opening ready. You cut operations back so bad I wonder how long the company will survive with the direction its going. Stop sitting in Atlanta and relaxing and come to the stores and take our criticism to heart.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company, Terrible Local Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receiving Manager in Oak Ridge, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company values its associates, has great benefits, matching 401k, and semi-annual bonuses based on sales plan. The Home Depot was always investing their associates with tuition reimbursement, adoption assistance, financial management services, and many other perks. The Home Depot does not offer an employee discount. The local store environment is a fast paced work place, where you get an hour lunch so you work 9 hour shifts every day with very little overtime offered. As a full time associate, you accrue 4 hours a month of personal time, and you get 1 week of paid vacation after your first year, 2 weeks after your 2nd year and 3 weeks after your 5th year. Starting out as a new associate, the pay can be close to minimum wage or a little higher, but there is opportunity for much better pay when moving into full time positions as a huge bump in pay for department supervisor positions.

    Cons

    The company spends a lot of time talking about their values. The corporate leadership seems to back up these values on a daily basis, but local leadership in many different markets works on the good old boy system. I spent 10 years with the company, and could manage any department, and yet I never felt valued by any of my leaders. If you were not in the clothing industry or from grocery it was almost impossible to get into store leadership or above. There always seemed to be a huge agenda by all of the local leadership which never involved teaching, training, or coaching existing associates to prepare them for leadership roles. The Home Depot consistently takes management from other companies to fill leadership roles, and after 10 years I got fed up with trying to break into management.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2014-08-18
Found 5 reviews