The Home Depot Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20275 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
6043 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It is very hard to get full time(in 941 reviews)

  • "Not enough hours as part-time employee(in 870 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (90)

    "Store/Warehouse Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Customer Service, Meeting New People, Diverse environment, Day to day challenges, Entrepreneurship, Working with and Inspiring the Team to be their best each and every day.

      Cons

      The downside was with it being Retail a lot of time was spent at work and a way from my family during the Holidays.

      Advice to Management

      My advice to any Manager is to steady the course and always do your best each and everyday, remember it is about the people you manage and not yourself

      The Home Depot2018-08-14

      The Home Depot Response

      August 22, 2018Client Partner

      Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot.

    • "Great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Electrical Department Sales Associate in Bakersfield, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      If you are a "people" person, then you will love this job. I talked to a lot of them and walk them to the place they need. There are Department Managers and assignments/training's but there is no one breathing down your neck unless you are past due. You will normally work on your own and you are given a lot of freedom. The ones that take advantage of this are not here anymore. Part time employees get benefits and 401k...

      Show More

      Cons

      Besides having opening and closing shifts during the same week, there are none.

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up!

      The Home Depot2019-05-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      It's a great company to work for and looks good on a resume

      Cons

      Poor work-life balance in the finance organization

      The Home Depot2019-06-16
    • "great job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Freight Team Associate 

        I worked at The Home Depot part-time

        Pros

        loved it, good company apply

        Cons

        none, great environment love it

        The Home Depot2019-06-17
      • "A great place to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Project Manager 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Worked on very challenging projects with engaged, sharp folks. The facilities are very good.

        Cons

        It's a large place and sometimes it can be a bit of a bureaucracy trying to get things done quickly.

        Advice to Management

        Stay focused on the objectives and heed advice of Associates on the ground.

        The Home Depot2019-06-17
      • "Great Place to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Learning and Development Specialist in Atlanta, GA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        They put their associates at the top of their priorities and work extremely hard to ensure all associates have a positive work environment.

        Cons

        The company is till publicly traded, so if a decision between shareholders and associates have to be made, shareholders are likely to be favored.

        The Home Depot2019-06-17
      • "Good Part Time"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Cashier 

          I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

          Pros

          Co workers make or break your job, apron is cool too.

          Cons

          Low Pay, flexibility is low.

          The Home Depot2019-06-17
        • "One of the best places to work retail"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Sales Associate in Broomfield, CO
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Interaction with customers. Family feeling with associates.

          Cons

          It's retail lousy hours sometimes.

          Advice to Management

          Be aware of those that give 100 Percent Not the phonys of which there are plenty Give Homer awards to those that deserve them not someone that very little.

          The Home Depot2019-06-18
        • "Very good job with plenty of hours and benefits"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Sales Associate in Mansfield, TX
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Plenty of hours and benefits

          Cons

          My managers were a little rude

          Advice to Management

          Go easier on newer employees

          The Home Depot2019-06-16
        • "Good starting job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Home Depot Sales Associate in Fayetteville, AR
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Easy Laid back Works with your schedule

          Cons

          Low pay Expected to do a lot some days

          The Home Depot2019-06-17
        Found 20275 reviews