The Home Depot Cashier/Crew Member Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20904 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
6,300 Ratings
  1. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worked on very challenging projects with engaged, sharp folks. The facilities are very good.

    Cons

    It's a large place and sometimes it can be a bit of a bureaucracy trying to get things done quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on the objectives and heed advice of Associates on the ground.

    The Home Depot2019-06-17
  2. "Good place to work at part time for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in El Monte, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, Decent Pay and Good Benefits

    Cons

    Understaffed departments Management can be a hit or miss sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Please hire more people for all departments

    The Home Depot2019-09-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic summer job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Home Depot has fantastic benefits, great starting pay, flexible schedule, and great work environment

    Cons

    Even though I was a part-time employee I was scheduled to just below 40 hours every week to keep our status as part-time. Also I was forced to work holidays without overtime pay since I’ve worked there for less than 6 months

    The Home Depot2019-09-12
  4. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Garden in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good job nice people good pay

    Cons

    Be ready to work hard workers needed

    Advice to Management

    Don’t be stupid

    The Home Depot2019-09-14
  5. "Overall good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Most of the associates treat each other fairly and there was minimal drama, at least at my store. The company matched retirement plan was great.

    Cons

    The pay could be better, especially for long term employees. Starting pay was ok for short term or seasonal employees but it makes it hard to stay long term with minimal annual pay increases.

    Advice to Management

    Higher starting pay, and more aggressive annual raises for seasoned employees.

    The Home Depot2019-09-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "My time at the Depot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Ellicott City, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kept busy, got to move around to different registers around the store

    Cons

    The management does not care about their employees. I was at the top level for cashiers and I was liked by all my customers because of the attention to detail I would bring with me. But that didn’t matter to upper management, when I went through a brief period of depression and anxiety because of a divorce that I was going through, I started being five or ten minutes late for work. I know it looked bad on me but it... was a struggle to get out of bed and be productive. Even though I would be late from time to time I would always stay later to make up for lost time and I never let my customers know how depressed I was. I was always on my A game. They never asked if I needed some help or anything like that, they only said that I was fired for being late. And they did this at the end of my shift that I stayed over for to cover the front end since my replacement called out. I think that was the worst part about them letting me go, they made sure that they got everything out of me before they let me go.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have some empathy people!! I know it’s a job but they sit there and preach about how we are family as well, a pretty messed up family if you ask me

    The Home Depot2019-09-11
  7. "Great experience with great management!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight in Fayetteville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility with scheduling. Company morale building experiences. Just overall fun!

    Cons

    We all say the pay could be greater but we were compensated well for our positions

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing Kevin in Fayetteville!

    The Home Depot2019-09-13
  8. "Like a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Garden Sales Associate in Algonquin, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is always helpful, it was like working with a big family. I enjoyed going to work everyday

    Cons

    The pay could be higher, on the weekends it is "Power Hour" literally cannot stock or do any work. You are required to walk around and ask customers how they were and if they need anything. It is a good concept, but customers would physically get angry with you because they just wanted to shop and be left alone and were sometimes greeted and asked if they needed anything over 15 times while in the store. I... understand why they would get annoyed

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Raise the pay a little, more company appreciation

    The Home Depot2019-09-13
  9. "Career Worthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment for someone who wants to specialize or develop a broad skillset in Retail.

    Cons

    Very relational corporate environment. It's hard to get things done when people don't know you.

    The Home Depot2019-09-13
  10. "Customer Service order picker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    A store for Pro Services

    Cons

    Very busy and hard to be nice

    Advice to Management

    Would be nice is Management team offered assistance

    The Home Depot2019-09-13
Found 20904 reviews