The Home Depot Cashier/Crew Member Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

The Home Depot Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21106 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
6,370 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really care about their employees and are very flexible to your needs if you want to work part time to go back to school or if you have problems going on in your life.

    Cons

    Moving up is hard and controlled by another department.

    Advice to Management

    None

    The Home Depot2019-09-23
  2. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time

    Pros

    No complaints, except that it's retail

    Cons

    benefits could be better

    The Home Depot2019-10-14
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freight Team Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is approachable and makes an honest attempt to work with you. Shifts can have some flexibility and the job is really easy. Minimal customer interaction. Perfect job for someone in college or looking to make extra cash.

    Cons

    The turnover rate is really really high and can make it hard to feel connected as a team when people come and go every few weeks. Also most benefits of working here really plateau after about 5 years unless you become a Manager.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing your best!

    The Home Depot2019-10-15
  4. "The Orange Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Lake Park, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always busy, great company, great benefits.

    Cons

    Great Company but, management are that fair, to much favoritism, they throw you under the bus when they were the one coming up with the “RULE”

    The Home Depot2019-10-15
  5. "No comment at this time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Appliance Sales Associate in Hammond, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You have a team that is there to step in & help when needed.

    Cons

    No comment at this time

    The Home Depot2019-10-14
  6. "It’s awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Merchandiser 

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    I have my first shift they are reasonable with what I need

    Cons

    The pay is not enough $12.00

    The Home Depot2019-10-14
  7. "Good flexible work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Associate/Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    -Flexible with school, especially if you work hard while you are there. Put in work and most managers are agreeable on letting you leave early or come in late for school related events or just life. -Good pay and friendly atmosphere for what the work is.

    Cons

    -Everyone is usually friendly which can lead to gossip sometimes when people get too friendly.

    The Home Depot2019-10-14
  8. "Excellent work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tool Service Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a lot of support, good management, enjoyable customers, a lot of worker appreciation days and events, a lot of community service!

    Cons

    Not flexible when it comes to schedules, often change schedules without notice and blame the worker

    The Home Depot2019-10-14
  9. "Easy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    It is very flexible and easy for the most part.

    Cons

    Schedule goes out 3 weeks in advance and once it’s set it can be hard to change

    The Home Depot2019-10-14
  10. "Good managers, but short on staf"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Associate in Albany, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good managers. They care for you.

    Cons

    We're always short on staff, which makes the job kinda difficult at times

    The Home Depot2019-10-14
Found 21106 reviews