The Home Depot Professor, English Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19952 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
5958 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (81)

    "Store/Warehouse Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Customer Service, Meeting New People, Diverse environment, Day to day challenges, Entrepreneurship, Working with and Inspiring the Team to be their best each and every day.

      Cons

      The downside was with it being Retail a lot of time was spent at work and a way from my family during the Holidays.

      Advice to Management

      My advice to any Manager is to steady the course and always do your best each and everyday, remember it is about the people you manage and not yourself

      The Home Depot2018-08-14

      The Home Depot Response

      August 22, 2018Client Partner

      Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot.

    • "Great company values"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager in Moore, OK
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      The companies values are amazing

      Cons

      Depends on the person, each job has different cons

      Advice to Management

      None

      The Home Depot2019-01-14
    • Helpful (4)

      "Things to Know"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Hickory, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Never a dull day at THD Engage with various customers THD often grill for customers and employees Great Training Programs/Videos

      Cons

      Sometimes there are not enough employees scheduled to work. Not everyone likes to carry their load Difficult work/life balance

      Advice to Management

      Those who are selected for management positions should demonstrate core values and be professional at all times.

      The Home Depot2019-05-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Merchandise Execution Area Supervisor in Helena, MT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Consistent schedule Good Management Great hours

      Cons

      Low hourly wage Lowes currently offering better wage.

      Advice to Management

      Raise wages to be above market not at market level.

      The Home Depot2019-05-18
    • "customer service"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Key West, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      love multi task work at customer service, managers are helpful, benefits are good

      Cons

      return policy needs to be more strict, customers return used or broken items for full refund or exchange without receipt and get store credit approved by management, big loss for store and company

      The Home Depot2019-05-20
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Service Desk Associate in Saint Joseph, MO
      Recommends

      I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Pay higher than most places in area

      Cons

      Consistent turnover in management

      The Home Depot2019-05-20
    • "Good for a full time college student"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Freight Team Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Since I go to college full time I am still able to work there two days a week. If I ever want to earn more hours I can show up on my off days and there usually is something for me to do. Coworkers are good people to be around so it makes the work environment more pleasant.

      Cons

      There are days where we would receive a truck with a lot of freight and there would be only four guys to unload the truck so that can last a few hours. There aren't enough people on the freight team to effectively offload the truck on certain days.

      Advice to Management

      Allow freight workers to cover each other's shifts for days when there aren't enough people to help with a large truck. Increase the pay to draw more people in as the job is laborous and at my store at least, there aren't enough people to effectively deal with the amount of freight we receive on high volume days.

      The Home Depot2019-05-19
    • "Overall"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Head Cashier in Corona, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Lots of overtime, friendly atmosphere,care for its associates

      Cons

      Pay starting off is bad

      The Home Depot2019-05-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Great Benefits and work environment

      Cons

      Work days not a set schedule

      Advice to Management

      Employees have a life too

      The Home Depot2019-05-17
    • "Great Company and Leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Safety Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Leadership is attentive and driving progress to keep leading the way.

      Cons

      None, they were there for me when I needed them and I did the same for them.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you’re doing.

      The Home Depot2019-05-18
    Found 19952 reviews