The Home Depot Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19988 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
5958 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (83)

    "Store/Warehouse Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Customer Service, Meeting New People, Diverse environment, Day to day challenges, Entrepreneurship, Working with and Inspiring the Team to be their best each and every day.

      Cons

      The downside was with it being Retail a lot of time was spent at work and a way from my family during the Holidays.

      Advice to Management

      My advice to any Manager is to steady the course and always do your best each and everyday, remember it is about the people you manage and not yourself

      The Home Depot2018-08-14

      The Home Depot Response

      August 22, 2018Client Partner

      Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot.

    • "Head cashier"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Head Cashier in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      They work around your schedule and the pay is reasonable

      Cons

      Management comes and goes sometimes a lack of communication

      Advice to Management

      Follow up on communication

      The Home Depot2019-05-24
    • "Not bad for parttime"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Merchandise Associate in Winnipeg, MB
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people, you learn a lot on how these stores runs

      Cons

      Lots of hard work, you have to pick up heavy items

      The Home Depot2019-05-24
    • "Not bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible Opportunity to move upwards and laterally in the company

      Cons

      Working as a cashier for any corporation is miserable in my experience

      The Home Depot2019-05-24
    • "Getting to know DIY home projects"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bay Integrity Associate 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I learned a lot about DIY projects.

      Cons

      Overwork in getting the list done each shift for a low pay.

      The Home Depot2019-05-24
    • "Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Portland, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good training, consistent working hours, nice people

      Cons

      On your feet all day, heavy lifting

      The Home Depot2019-05-23
    • "Low Wages & Poor Career Paths"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It is a great place to learn about how to perform various types of home improvement and how to properly use products sold at THD, and it is certainly a good workout (lots of walking and lifting heavy products.)

      Cons

      Management tasks associates with more than can be reasonably accomplished during a given shift, constantly re-prioritizes floor staff as needs arise and then counsels staff one-on-one about work they asked you to do not getting done, when you were 100% busy your entire shift. In addition even when focused on working the floor and providing excellent customer service they hound you to complete training, but don't provide...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      If a department isn't meeting standards throw more staff at it or bring it back to reference level with aggressive after hours work and then ask staff to maintain it. Also have more staff working together so that stocking can occur while customers are being helped.

      The Home Depot2019-05-23
    • "Great Benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Management Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      wonderful benefits and are flexiable with schedule

      Cons

      need more training on the lower management level and mid management level. Need education on all products, not just products in your specific department.

      Advice to Management

      Cross Train

      The Home Depot2019-05-23
    • "It was alright"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Home Depot Lot Associate 

      I worked at The Home Depot part-time

      Pros

      good pay flexible schedule

      Cons

      none they have good benefits too

      The Home Depot2019-05-23
    • "eh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Receiving Supervisor in Denver, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      paycheck arrives on time, they tolerate a lot of absences.

      Cons

      minimum wage goes up, they increase wages for those on the bottom but everyone else does not get a "cost of living increase", as they call it. making years of experience worth no extra pay. we have people that have been there 6 years that make starting wages and are twice as fast as the new guys. you get no extra money for any skill you possess, nothing for lift equipment certifications, nothing for being a trainer...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      pay people what they are worth or they will leave.

      The Home Depot2019-05-23
    Found 19988 reviews