The Home Depot Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Reviews

Updated April 25, 2017
14,041 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

14,041 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • work schedule to improve work life balance (in 408 reviews)

  • Never a consistent schedule as a full-time employee (in 725 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Cashier"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Cashier in Amherst, NY
    Former Employee - Cashier in Amherst, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A lot of friends, good laughs, aware of our situations as students, very very nice management and healthy working environment.

    Cons

    almost to 2% be aware not all ppl are educated.

    Advice to Management

    YOUR amazing ppl! hopefully see in summer!

    The Home Depot Response

    Apr 20, 2017 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.


  2. "My experience at the Home Depot has been a long process, but the pay is good and the staff is very friendly."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Greensboro, NC
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The pay is good, along with the amount of hours you're given. The benefits are good as well in the end.

    Cons

    Getting to learn everything can be overwhelming depending on the department you're in.

    Nothing much more other than that bit.

    The Home Depot Response

    Apr 20, 2017 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Did you know we offer a variety of training courses, leadership programs, mentoring programs and promotion opportunities to associates at all ... More


  3. "Great Company!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Diversity, room for growth, salary

    Cons

    change constantly, very fast paced

    The Home Depot Response

    Apr 20, 2017 – Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Paint Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paint Sales Associate in Alpharetta, GA
    Former Employee - Paint Sales Associate in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Managers OK at scheduling around your needs

    Cons

    none. typical hourly job tho the training is all computer based which makes it tough to learn everything about the products.

    Advice to Management

    Have more control over ASMs and who is selected for the position

    The Home Depot Response

    Apr 20, 2017 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. Sales associates and managers alike are essential parts of The Home Depot’s Sales network. We appreciate your feedback.


  6. "Good Service, Good People, and Good Opportunity"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Elgin, IL
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Elgin, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    One of the pros is the people. The store I work at we are all like a family. We share success and failures, along with growing as an individual and as a team. My store takes part in Team Depot and we give back to the community. The company not only pays for all the supplies needed, they also pay us for the hours we do the community service. It's pretty neat. There are so many opportunities to grow within the company and they have tons of ways to incentivize and motivate workers. Management is great at my store and district. I've learned so many useful skills that I have already started applying in my home life. The company has core values that can't be beat, especially for me. I am an Eagle Scout and good core values are at the top of my list. The customer comes first and I like that about the Company

    Cons

    I can't actually think of any downsides to the company except for some operational and technical problems that all stores have, but it's nothing major.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. I have no intention of leaving the company for a long, long time. I've been with Home Depot for 13 months and during that time, you've found a lifelong dedicated associate in me.

    The Home Depot Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  7. "A lot of fun"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Appliance Specialist in Wentzville, MO
    Former Employee - Appliance Specialist in Wentzville, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere and great resource for a home improver! I have a blast working most every day and love my co-workers.

    Cons

    Often understaffed, but hey, it's one of many challenges I face daily! Paid time off is apparently less than the industry standard. Doesn't bother me.

    Advice to Management

    Could use more bodies on the floor.

    The Home Depot Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  8. "Working at The Home Depot"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in San Leandro, CA
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits
    Excellent work environment and career opportunities

    Cons

    work schedule to improve work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time with associates

    The Home Depot Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.


  9. "Freight/Receiving"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receiving Associate in Sterling, CO
    Former Employee - Receiving Associate in Sterling, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great team leadership and a great job!!

    Cons

    moved me to part time so lost benefits

    Advice to Management

    Keep good employees full time so they don't lose them.

    The Home Depot Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.


  10. "Department supervisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Feels somewhat rewarding moving up

    Cons

    Alot of stress, customers service can get to you eventually.

    Advice to Management

    Not all managers are good at managing.

    The Home Depot Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  11. "Working at The Home Depot"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Team Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Freight Team Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Everything about working here was great, definitely somewhere I'd recommend to anyone.

    Cons

    No pay raises, only bonuses

    Advice to Management

    Pay raises after a certain amount of time

    The Home Depot Response

    Apr 17, 2017 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at The Home Depot.


Showing 14,041 of 14,184 reviews
Reset Filters