The Home Depot Cashier/Crew Member Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Cashier/Crew Member

The Home Depot Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21105 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
6,370 Ratings
  1. "Best Customer service job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Gulfport, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Answering phones; opening and payments on accounts; assisting customers

    Cons

    No downsides; loved every experienced & knowledge gained!

    The Home Depot2019-10-07
  2. "I loved being part of home depot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Garden Associate in Ballwin, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and an amazing supervisor

    Cons

    low pay considering the amount of work we put in

    The Home Depot2019-10-07
  3. "Great company and team to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible work hours, helpful team members, great manager

    Cons

    employee benefits such as discounts, insurance

    The Home Depot2019-10-06
  4. "Pulling online orders for customers and deliveries for next day delivery."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Picker in Upper Marlboro, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Great people and the management was warm and welcoming.

    Cons

    Can walk up to 10 miles a day, very labor intensive

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your people and the store will run itself.

    The Home Depot2019-10-05
  5. "Not a bad place to start out at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Millwork Sales Specialist in Georgetown, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible scheduling, pay, benefits, and help with college tuition

    Cons

    Each store is different. The first one I worked at was great. All the employees were like family and our HR representative was incredible - really cared about us and did her best to work with us. The store I currently work at has a very rigid demeanor. Management treats you like a child and has no patience for mistakes that a new employee makes. You are almost always denied your time off requests even when you ask... for them 3 months out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your employees, treat them with respect, and try to see a simple mistake or two as learning opportunity rather than something to be punished.

    The Home Depot2019-10-06
  6. "Solid company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Solid experience w/ world class enterprise level technologies. Good on your resume.

    Cons

    Basic benefits, basic pay, limited opportunities for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so bureaucratic.

    The Home Depot2019-10-06
  7. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Downey, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great hours and great management

    Cons

    No cons, fun place to work

    The Home Depot2019-10-04
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, very relaxing environment

    Cons

    Bonus are not great, and small end of year salary increase

    Advice to Management

    Pay better

    The Home Depot2019-10-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Easy job, good if you're young."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Order Puller 

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Time went by fast due to a lot of work that had to be done.

    Cons

    Order pulling department was not managed well. Sales associate responsibilities got in way of doing the main job.

    Advice to Management

    Allow order pullers to dress differently than sales associates so customers know not to stop them from fulfilling orders to give advice on things they are unaware of.

    The Home Depot2019-10-02
  10. "I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time

    Pros

    Good name recognition for your resume, and lots of very talented people.

    Cons

    Typical giant company hurdles. You could be here a lifetime and not know what all the different departments do.

    The Home Depot2019-10-04
Found 21105 reviews