The Home Depot Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Reviews

Updated June 21, 2017
4,558 reviews

Filter

Filter


4,558 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • work schedule to improve work life balance (in 422 reviews)

  • Not very many options for full time positions (in 740 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mea in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Mea in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits and chance for growth within the company great hours and flexibility with your schedule great work environment people are easy to get along with

    Cons

    Pay for what I do is not fair should be getting paid more should be getting at least a night difference

    Advice to Management

    Look at the pay for night met don't see why they get paid the same as a day met associate


  2. Helpful (1)

    "FES"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Supervisor in Billings, MT
    Current Employee - Front End Supervisor in Billings, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits package once you are on as an associate. Both full time and part time benefits. They are good about working around school and family.

    Cons

    My experience with scheduling, is that we are frequently under staffed and it leads to over stressed associates and pissed off customers. One person left to do the work of 2 or 3 .

    Advice to Management

    There is little to no communication between upper and middle management, the store manager and the assistants don't communicate to department supervisors very well

    The Home Depot Response

    May 25, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

  3. "Fair enough and good environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Like a family everybody is trying to help each other

    Cons

    After tax and everything you actually make $8/h


  4. "The experience you have is all based off what you make it and your attitude."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Cashier in Lafayette, LA
    Current Employee - Head Cashier in Lafayette, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You learn to love all your customers and coworkers. You have flexible hours and its good if you're in school or have a second job

    Cons

    There's not much room to grow after that. Once you're head cashier you have to fight to get seen for promotion.

    The Home Depot Response

    May 25, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  5. "As A Kitchen Designer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Designer/Décor and Flooring Specialist in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Kitchen Designer/Décor and Flooring Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Home Depot can be a great place for anyone to work at. It could be a great start for designers and business oriented people at a retail level. Try to obtain a position in the specialty departments or Management.

    Cons

    Your Home Depot experience could really be terrible based on how poor the management team is. There can be a mix of power trips and prejudice people who won't like you and find ways to make life hard for you. I've transferred to three different locations and I've met the best to the worst. It really depends on management and it shouldn't be that way in a professional setting at this day and age

    Advice to Management

    HR needs to do a better job and listening to hourly employee complaints. I was a top 3 sales associate in the Gulf region but someone in upper management was plotting on me. It can be a very terrible feeling

    The Home Depot Response

    May 25, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your hard work and dedication. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Although we are unable to comment on your specific experience, we value our associates and ... More


  6. "Freight Team"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Freight Team Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Freight Team Associate in Salt Lake City, UT

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits
    work well with military
    Profit sharing

    Cons

    managers need to communicate more

    Advice to Management

    communicate

    The Home Depot Response

    May 25, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!


  7. "Good company, limited growth opportunities"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Like the work, fast paced and challenging. Money is good and rewards (stock) are good.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to move up; can be tough on work life balance.

    The Home Depot Response

    May 25, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

  8. "Fast paced, high stress"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Katy, TX
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Katy, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Community and associates. Benefits and compensation, helping people solve problems, community involvement, giving back, and challenges. Control of bonus outcome via sales.

    Cons

    Stress, ever changing goals, pointless tasking, and unattainable goals. Long hours, weekends and holidays, including varying levels of shift work disorder from non consistent scheduling.

    Advice to Management

    None


  9. "garden center department head"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - The Home Depot Department Supervisor in Evans, GA
    Former Employee - The Home Depot Department Supervisor in Evans, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    great work environment and motivational company...enjoyed time there and learned how to run several different departments...

    Cons

    work schedule was hard on a family sometimes...

    The Home Depot Response

    May 25, 2017 – Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.


  10. "Logistics Expediter"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Order Specialist in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Customer Order Specialist in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    no weekends and no nights

    Cons

    dealing with unhappy customers is stressful

    The Home Depot Response

    May 22, 2017 – Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to business at The Home Depot is our commitment to customer service.


Showing 4,558 of 14,724 reviews
Reset Filters