The Home Depot Reviews in Salt Lake City, UT | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Salt Lake City Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
11 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everything about this company is great

    Cons

    I don’t have anything negative to say

    The Home Depot2019-08-08
  2. "Great place to work especially for semi-retired and youth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can get an entry level position without knowing anything about anything , even English , almost. They train as you go in product knowledge , customer service , everything , almost all through easy paced videos always on the clock.

    Cons

    They are struggling to keep enough workers in this job environment , as is almost everybody , so you can be put in a department you may not be trained for , just based on the need of the moment. But , if you can be comfortable with that , you can move sideways and upward fast. Be prepared to do whatever it takes , like cleaning up dog pee or poo , in the aisle , on the spot. Customers and their pets are number one ..., with a smile.

    Show More
    The Home Depot2019-08-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MET in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have an amazing direct supervisor. The DM over Met is very good as well. Our Met supervisor works on helping us learn more and improve our skills. We have a good work life balance. You can learn new things all the time about products.

    Cons

    Store side store manager doesn't promote by your abilities or experience. It's by who your buddies with. Pay is really low for the work you do. No compensation if you get certified for heavy equipment. Cost of housing is high here you cant afford to live off 11 dollars an hour. The insurance is not as good as it was. It's a shame because people who want to stay and try to promote can't afford to. We lose a lot... of good people. Turn over is high. Store short staffed quite often do to people quitting.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually look at the experience of the people who work for you. Pay a living wage. You are doing so many other good things but the pay and insurance need improvement. The cost that your paying in training all the new people would drop dramatically. You'd have more people very skilled at sales and knowledge of your products making money for you. The reason I wouldn't recommend is pay and opportunity to grow.

    The Home Depot2019-04-15
  4. "Best company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome, great company to work for.

    Cons

    Home Depot does not have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on

    The Home Depot2019-03-06
  5. "Good schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandising Execution Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    MET team has a set schedule, M-F 5-1:30. Fun team to work with and never run out of stuff to do!

    Cons

    You have to be there at 5. Pay raises are slow, but consistent if you work hard enough.

    The Home Depot2019-01-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "worst job in fifty years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fellow associates, great customers,

    Cons

    employees are treated like dirt, disposable, and expendable, they gaslight you with their upside down pyramid, with the ceo at the bottom and stockholders, and the associates and customers at the top. they are always, always, always, hiring, retention rate, of a year, is maybe ten percent? I'd like to see the stats...but turnover is horrendous, of all that started with me, there was one left at six months when I... left. and if you call attention to unsafe conditions or job injuries they will ignore it, or bully you into not filing for injury benefits, "we have a team of doctors and lawyers, and good luck with that." all they care about is getting busted and fined for an osha violation, and if you bring it up, they'll target you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lowes rocks, I'll take the ten k I spent at home depot last year, and go to Lowes this year.

    The Home Depot2019-02-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees are very nice. Many home improvements knowledge can be learned

    Cons

    Limited promotions for employees. Pay is not very competitive

    The Home Depot2018-12-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great coworkers- scheduling is inconsistent - short staffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers who are fun, supportive & just plain nice people. Learning opportunities with the variety of products & online classes.

    Cons

    Schedules are inconsistent, few, if any weekends off & not willing to work with you on your availability. Pay is low. Return policy is outrageous allowing junk & items 2-3 years old to be returned. Need Controls in place for thieves who find cash or debit receipts, get the item & return it for cash. Have someone at doors checking receipts. If you reduced the theft & returns you could pay better wages.

    Advice to Management

    Provide your employees with input on their schedules. Ask if an employee is able to work 6-10 days in a row. Treat your employees as well as you do your customers.

    The Home Depot2018-10-07
  9. "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good culture to work for

    Cons

    Companies goals get lost with the District Managers alot of the time

    The Home Depot2017-10-07
  10. "Fun and Interesting but not very accommodating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Expediter in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always something new to learn -- vibrant environment for curious technician and/or artist types. Full time options once you've proven yourself, or for a few experienced newcomers. A good way to learn about business.

    Cons

    Poor accommodations for disabilities / little room for advancement based on educational background. Re discrimination: based on my merit as a smart, enthusiastic, and hard-working employee, I had been asked twice to apply for open supervisory positions. But this was all prior to disclosing to my Store Mgr and HR District Manager that I am Bipolar. After that, I was never asked again ....

    Advice to Management

    Seek input from your employees in the field. The update to Special Ordering system seemed to have been a one-size fits all expansion, rather than addressing whether limited bandwidth could handle a simple scale-up of existing data architecture.

    The Home Depot2017-08-22
Found 47 reviews