The Home Depot Reviews in Schaumburg, IL | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Schaumburg Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
0 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Supervisor in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Teamwork, if you are a team player everything is great. Customer service THD gives you everything you need take care of customers, there is no reason to say no to a customer. Lots of fun. We built things for schools and people that needed help getting by... Giving back is important

    Cons

    Full time no cons, part time hours can be cut during slow times. Not everyone that is on the floor in an aprin is a team player..... Some are just there to take advantage of the pay.

    Advice to Management

    As always... Pay more. Otherwise keep up the great work.

    The Home Depot2014-05-21

    The Home Depot Response

    June 3, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing. An important part of The Home Depot is giving of our time, talent, energy and resources to our community and society. In the same way that The Home Depot’s products help people build homes and projects, the eight core values we uphold help us build a strong ...

    Show More
  2. "Good company overall to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Cashier in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Internal growth within the company

    Cons

    Training is not a priority at least at this location.

    Advice to Management

    Training your employees outside of self learning on a PC is something to be taken as a priority. In the end its time and money saving for the company and our customers.

    The Home Depot2019-06-11
  3. "No good management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits were decent. Good fellow associates.

    Cons

    No room for advancement. Promises were broken.

    Advice to Management

    Stop nit picking. Let your good employees advance.

    The Home Depot2018-12-30
  4. "New hire with experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Friendly workers, good management, excellent training, good internal systems, excellent benefits

    Cons

    Shifts seem thinly scheduled with seasoned associates

    Advice to Management

    Consider having an expert plumber on hand

    The Home Depot2017-05-11

    The Home Depot Response

    May 15, 2017Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Content with thos Secure Retail Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Cashier in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for the work expected. Co-workers are good. Plenty of hours available in my experience. Willing to work with schedules (good for those in school, or who have kids). Benefits (vision/dental) as part-time employee (unheard of!)

    Cons

    Opening shifts start at 5:45am mon-sat. concrete floors (hard on feet). Slow season is SLOW, and busy season is BUSY! If you don't have someone scheduled to Lot (getting carts, loading assistance), Head cashiers and cashiers usually get stuck doing the Lot work. Quick turn around with employees. Lots of Polish, Spanish, language barrier issues for this area.

    Advice to Management

    always have at least one Lot person scheduled, if not 2 or 3, we need it! Missing, damaged sku's is a real problem for cashiers, we spend too much of our time just tying to look up items in the horrible Online Cashier Book. Improve the OCB or improve methods of attaching sku's.

    The Home Depot2017-04-20

    The Home Depot Response

    April 24, 2017Content Marketing Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

  6. "A good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paint Associate in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good bosses that will help you when you need it. Great pay!

    Cons

    Doing too much at one time. needing more people in other departments.

    Advice to Management

    Cover more of the departments better.

    The Home Depot2013-02-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Customers and products are good with good locations

    Cons

    badly managed company with no respect for their workers.

    Advice to Management

    treat your people better

    The Home Depot2011-02-25
Found 7 reviews