The Home Depot Reviews in Woodbridge, VA | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Woodbridge Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

1.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
9%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
3 Ratings
  1. "This was my first job at 18 yo. I felt very welcome and enjoyed coming into work every day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate - Paint Department in Woodbridge, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work environment is very friendly and welcoming. The pay is great for people with little to no sales experience. Scheduling was decent. Easy to grow within the company.

    Cons

    I found myself alone every once in a while when I was in the paint dpt. on busy days (although they try very hard to prevent that for customers' satisfaction). If you're not looking to work hard, lift heavy products, and always put the customers first this may not be the job for you.

    The Home Depot2018-02-13

    The Home Depot Response

    February 14, 2018Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your employment with The Home Depot. We appreciate all of your hard work.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Never take lot associate position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lot Associate in Woodbridge, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You are outside on nice days

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours maybe $300 every 2wks b4 taxes. Advancement from lot associate is almost impossible. There is no full time positions for lot workers. You work all day outside in the cold and extreme heat. Loading concrete bags, sand, drywall as well as anything else the cashiers call you to do. This job sucked really bad and would never work at this location. The management was lazy and only saw them on the way...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advance from within and more hours in the winter. Don't hire seasonal if you don't have hours for regular staff

    The Home Depot2019-01-21
  3. "Merchandising Execution Team - Way too micro-managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Associate in Woodbridge, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pretty good hours, weekends and major holidays off, good benefits (if you're full-time), some coworkers are fun to work with

    Cons

    Bad management from both merchandising and store sales side, unrealistic expectations from regular associates, never enough sales associates scheduled to help customers, workplace can get hostile, toxic workers aren't held accountable, company doesn't provide enough resources for employees to do their jobs effectively, pay is not enough for a decent living

    Advice to Management

    Consider what regular associates have to deal with while customers are in the stores and have fair expectations, have more associates on the sales floor so that the customers' needs are met and the merchandising teams can focus on their jobs, cut out the toxic employees so that the workplace is more friendly, raise the pay rates to accommodate high living expenses

    The Home Depot2018-10-12
  4. "The Woodbridge location has to many favorites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodbridge, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    No good reason to work their

    Cons

    Pay and MET supervisor sucks

    The Home Depot2018-08-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pay kinda sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Garden Sales Associate in Woodbridge, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    not much.. good for part time

    Cons

    20 cent raises sucks ..not enough trained equipment people

    The Home Depot2017-04-11
  6. "Revolving door workplace, No job security, low hours in fall and winter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lot Associate in Woodbridge, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fast paced, entry-level, coworkers are fun to work with. Decent bonus at end of seasons added to pay

    Cons

    No set schedules, always working on the weekend, bad management, don't back their employees, the customers are rude and allowed to treat you like trash.

    Advice to Management

    Be more supportive of employees, store manager needs to be more hands on instead of sitting behind a desk. Pay lot attendants more

    The Home Depot2016-11-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Pay and Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paint Sales Associate in Woodbridge, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Outstanding Management and the training was great

    Cons

    Benefits could be better but suffice.

    The Home Depot2016-02-16
  8. "Department Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Supervisor in Woodbridge, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Knowledgeable associates. Home Depot gave me the tools I needed to look for careers outside of retail.

    Cons

    Upper management has absolutely NO backbone. Managers have routinely given customers free services/ product just because they were yelling.

    Advice to Management

    More support for the hourly associates would help with employee turn-over

    The Home Depot2015-11-15
  9. "appliances"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodbridge, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot

    Pros

    Part time chill people benefits

    Cons

    A lot especially managers still sucks

    Advice to Management

    Get replaced

    The Home Depot2015-05-05
  10. "On your feet and get those sales! A good job for sales experience. better be a people person."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Depot Interiors Sales Promoter in Woodbridge, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great part time job with decent hour pay as well as a sales compensation. Hours are flexible but that may limit your over sales goal. Which is always looming over your head. you get to move to different locations and meet new people within the company. great Networking opportunity. over all a good job

    Cons

    Training was a little relaxed for me. I wanted to know everything that we sell in order to tell the customer at one time. In stead you learn a small piece, work, then learn more. Wish you wore a different color apron from the other home depot employees because your not trained on anything in the store just what your selling. so it just makes a poor impression for home depot in general. It is a sales job so if you don't...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Training should be completed on everything you sale first and the promotions going on in just your location your doing at that time to limit customer confusion. Different color aprons to differentiate sales promoter and sales associates.

    The Home Depot2015-03-05
Found 10 reviews