The Home Depot "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Employee Reviews about "great people"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19962 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
5958 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It is very hard to get full time(in 941 reviews)

  • "Not enough hours as part-time employee(in 870 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Asds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time

    Pros

    Work with great people, advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Retail requires a flexible schedule

    The Home Depot2019-04-25
  2. "Under paid and a great place to work. Say whaaaaat???"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The team I work with is spectacular. Most of the managers are great people and want their people to succeed. The hours are okay but overtime is rare.

    Cons

    Low starting rate of pay and minuscule raises [insulting] for hazardous work. Very few commission jobs. High turnover in some departments. Managers are frequently stressed and stretched thin. Everyone of them dreams of getting a corporate gig in Atlanta or getting their own store. Very few will. The sadder story is the rank and file. Most do a great job and just want to keep regular hours. Their future prospects...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a que from Henry Ford. How about living up to those Core Values and actually paying your people a living wage. The only thing you have to lose is your own avarice. How about paying more for certain skill-sets? Lip service is cheap and so is orange paint. Otherwise you're setting the company up for a good union to come in and make the workers whole. And when that happens you'll have no one to blame but your...

    Show More
    The Home Depot2019-04-30
  3. "Good started job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    The employees are mostly great people and that goes for the management as well.

    Cons

    Customers, for the most part, are actually really nice people but sometimes you get a bad customer who ruins your entire day.

    The Home Depot2019-04-12
  4. "Hardware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hardware in Elyria, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great workplace with great people

    Cons

    The weather was terrible some days and sucked to work outdoors

    The Home Depot2019-04-10
  5. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time

    Pros

    great people to work with

    Cons

    management can sometimes be too strict

    The Home Depot2019-03-30
  6. "Great place, not great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Associate in Orange, TX

      I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      You learn a lot and meet great people. Great co workers but the management is questionable

      Cons

      Management only cares about their own skin. To the point I had a co worker take their own life. Half the management staff was termed

      The Home Depot2019-03-12
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate Merchant in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Loved working at HD, great people, I learned a lot!

      Cons

      I have no cons, it was a great experience.

      Advice to Management

      No advice

      The Home Depot2019-03-08
    • "Ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Decorator in Cordele, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great People. Dynamic work environment.

      Cons

      Poor customer service. Terrible training in store.

      The Home Depot2019-03-21
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Operations Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great People; Flexible working environment

      Cons

      Poor planning leads to lots rework

      The Home Depot2019-02-28
    • "Head Cashier"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Head Cashier in Burleson, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good pay & great people

      Cons

      Unorganized and not the best management

      The Home Depot2019-03-10
    Found 19962 reviews