The Home Depot "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Home Depot Employee Reviews about "long hours"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19989 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
5958 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It is very hard to get full time(in 941 reviews)

  • "Not enough hours as part-time employee(in 870 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They do give you hours sometimes a full time if you are available

    Cons

    Standing long hours, rude customers

    The Home Depot2019-05-09
  2. "Pretty solid job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 

      I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

      Pros

      Believes in their sales associates.

      Cons

      Long hours, the store gets hot.

      The Home Depot2019-04-20
    • "Great Place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier in Boca Raton, FL
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good place to work as a student Atmosphere is quite relaxed as compared to other retailers Tuition Reimbursement is available for students Cashier job can be really fun is you like interacting with people. You can make a lot of contacts workings there.

      Cons

      My job had me work long hours on my feet and sitting down is highly discouraged.(However accommodation can be made for you provided you had a doctor's report) Could be a little stressful in peak hours where sometimes we are insufficiently staffed.

      Advice to Management

      Management did a great job at the Boca Raton location. At the end of the day, your job is what you make it.

      The Home Depot2019-04-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "A disappointment. Not as great as you'd expect."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Senior Online Merchandising Analyst in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Cafeteria's pretty great. Good potential for growth, as it's corporate HQ. Daycare for children, workout center, on-site dry cleaning and car maintenance available. Employee Stock Purchase Plan is great. 15% discount for buying stock, up to 20% pre-tax pay, purchased in bulk every 6 months.

      Cons

      The culture just feels really off. May just be my experience, but from week one it has felt like I am unwelcome on the team. Onboarding process was rough. It's really a trial by fire. Health coverage is mediocre. They took away the Gold coverage option for 2019. Now only silver is available. Parking deck doesn't have enough spots. At some point, you WILL end up parking illegally. Expect long...

      Show More
      The Home Depot2019-04-20
    • "Garden Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Garden Sales Associate in Key West, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Well started working Home Depot 12/05/2017 and while employed for the company I found out on my birthday in Nov that I was diagnosed with Lymphoma, and I thank the good man above that I had applied for all benefits that I could use as needed for my future and it was worth every second. I have been on medical leave of absence since Nov of 2018 and my short term plus long term just kicked in along with the company paying...

      Show More

      Cons

      The only cons are long hours of work with no free time for yourself except on your scheduled off days which are either spread out or days back to back off.

      Advice to Management

      Great management team and they will work with you when able to beyond reason.

      The Home Depot2019-04-05
    • "Decent Company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Service Manager in San Jose, CA

        I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Good Benefits and lots of training great training decent pay

        Cons

        long hours weekend work not enough raises

        Advice to Management

        none

        The Home Depot2019-04-19
      • "Long hours but good bonus"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Home Depot Store Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        Bonus and stock options

        Cons

        Long hours. The regional team doesnt care what you go through in order to achieve a metric.

        The Home Depot2019-04-16
      • "Sacrifices"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Operations Manager in Dallas, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        Good benefits for full time employees

        Cons

        Long hours as a salaried manager. Inconsistent scheduling, causing poor work/life balance.

        Advice to Management

        Re evaluate the values wheel. Not consistent on living up to those core values.

        The Home Depot2019-04-03
      • "Fun Work Environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Cashier in Atlanta, GA
          Recommends
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at The Home Depot part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Decent Pay, Nice Co-Workers, Great Management, and treat of employees is amazing.

          Cons

          Long Hours, Standing on Feet, competitive nature

          The Home Depot2019-03-15
        • Helpful (2)

          "Being a Merchandise Planner for the HD"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Merchandise Planner in Atlanta, GA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Really hard work, but immense growth opportunity

          Cons

          Requires long hours, so work/life balance can be challenging

          The Home Depot2019-03-05
        Found 19989 reviews