The Home Depot Project manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for project manager

The Home Depot Project Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great PM employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Capital projects are long-term and have stability. Good business team involvement when needed. Straightforward success metrics and comprehensive project planning usually lead to project success.

    Cons

    Environment is political and some higher-ups are more motivated by visibility than project success. The most successful PMs will find a way to balance project hurdles with transparent communications and present options to decision makers to overcome issues quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership,should focus on team building for better morale.

    The Home Depot2014-09-30

    The Home Depot Response

    October 7, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Fast paced, fun I.T. environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - I T Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Never bored; always seeking to be more efficient and deliver a better experience for customers and store Associates.

    Cons

    Publicly traded company; many indirect bad financial decisions made because of promises to stock holders or worry of the stock price. Also, not much vacation and long working hours.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to go back to the old days of focusing on your people. It needs to be implemented at every level including the stores. Provide opportunities to earn, buy or sell vacation.

    The Home Depot2014-06-07

    The Home Depot Response

    June 10, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and we try our best to accommodate our associates’ needs.

  3. Helpful (5)

    "Disjointed matrix environment with little direction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There benefits (health, 401K, etc) are good. Strong customer focus in the stores which shows in their success

    Cons

    IT salary is below industry standards Matrix organization with poor charge back model Little to no planning for year on year or future roadmap. Very reactive in nature. Communication between individual contributors and executive management is filtered and blocked by 1st and 2nd level management.

    Advice to Management

    Move away from Matrix model to improve internal customer relationship and speed up time to delivery. Remove perception that IT is a bottleneck by decreasing walls between sister IT groups.

    The Home Depot2014-03-05

    The Home Depot Response

    March 12, 2014Client Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We have shared your feedback with others. Our associates are encouraged to adopt and adapt good ideas from others, and initiate creative and innovative ways of serving our customers and improving the business.

  4. "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun, hard work, cool, great success, real

    Cons

    dumb, not great, could have been better

    Advice to Management

    Keep employees motivated better

    The Home Depot2014-02-24

    The Home Depot Response

    March 5, 2014Client Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We have shared your feedback with others. Our associates are encouraged to adopt and adapt good ideas from others, and initiate creative and innovative ways of serving our customers and improving the business. Keep up the great work!

  5. "I enjoyed my time at Home Depot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The environment was easy to work in, enjoyed the atmosphere.

    Cons

    Salary did not have much leverage

    The Home Depot2014-03-03

    The Home Depot Response

    March 11, 2014Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. We understand that our associates are the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are respected and that their contributions are valued. Taking care of associates is one of our core values. We continually look for ways to ensure associates have equal access to growth and development opportunities.

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Horrendous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Digital Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    Good look on your resume

    Cons

    I worked at the corporate office and my entire experience there was horrible. The management sucked, and didn't seem to want you to succeed at your job.

    The Home Depot2014-01-16

    The Home Depot Response

    January 21, 2014Client Partner

    Our nearly 300,000 associates share The Home Depot’s “orange-blooded” culture, which encourages inclusion, passion and respect both within the company and extending to all parts of our lives. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "HD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of work to do!

    Cons

    Not enough time to get project tasks completed without issues.

    The Home Depot2013-11-17

    The Home Depot Response

    November 20, 2013Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with The Home Depot. Keep up the great work!

  8. Helpful (3)

    "I Was Warned & Should Have Known Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - IT Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot for less than a year

    Pros

    Well known brand, knowledgeable coworkers, decent location, good pay

    Cons

    Conflicting views on PM process and who actually owns which piece of the pie creates nonstop politics. Not a projectized environment, more of a weak matrix. If you are expecting a senior PM role do not work here, others own delivery and you will be merely managing tasks and sending notes. Whenever you try to assert the usual role of a senior PM you will be seen as "clashing" with others while they dictate your... approach. Save yourself the aggravation, don't work here. If I had seen one negative review of the PM role on glass door I wouldn't have left my great job for this, so I am posting one. A prior coworker tried to warn me but I didn't listen. If you like where you are - stay, the brand is not a step up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be clear with PMs that it is a weak matrix, not a matrix

    The Home Depot2013-11-11

    The Home Depot Response

    November 13, 2013Client Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. At The Home Depot, we strive to provide an environment where associates feel they’re valued, treated fairly, and respected. Taking care of our people is one of our core values that we stress within our organization. We will share this information with others.

    Show Less
  9. "ProjectPrttt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager PMP in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Home Depot goes out of it way to take care of their customers. They have applications that make the shopping experience much better for the customer.

    Cons

    They to not get older employees opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Take experience from employees to see how to better the company and customer service.

    The Home Depot2013-09-17

    The Home Depot Response

    September 20, 2013Client Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our associates and managers alike are essential parts of The Home Depot’s network. We appreciate your feedback.

  10. "Good company with growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    convenience, if you want to transfer THD is everywhere

    Cons

    pay raises are not really based on performance.

    The Home Depot2013-08-28

    The Home Depot Response

    September 5, 2013Client Partner

    Thank you for sharing your review. Taking care of associates is one of our core values since we understand they’re the key to our success. We pay competitive rates and strive to create an environment where all associates feel they are respected and that their contributions are valued. We continually look for ways to ensure that our associates have equal access to growth and development opportunities.

    Show Less
Found 47 reviews