The Hotel at Auburn University Reviews | Glassdoor

The Hotel at Auburn University Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
The Hotel at Auburn University CEO  (no image)
1 Ratings
  1. "* * *"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant Supervisor in Auburn, AL
    Recommends

    I worked at The Hotel at Auburn University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved the people I worked with - it was a great team environment.

    Cons

    Hardly had any time off, my hours would stretch over other shifts.

    The Hotel at Auburn University2019-01-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible Management and Executive Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Auburn, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Hotel at Auburn University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hourly pay for a server is high compared to the state minimum, but that's how they keep you around.

    Cons

    Literally everything else. Late hours, extreme favoritism, rude executives. There were several scandals that happened during my long stint at the hotel so there was at least always something new to gossip about.

    Advice to Management

    Do better. Treat your employees with respect.

    The Hotel at Auburn University2019-06-15
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great job for a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bellman 

    I worked at The Hotel at Auburn University part-time

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere and potential to meet interesting people.

    Cons

    Working outside during the summer gets a little toasty.

    The Hotel at Auburn University2019-05-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Find somewhere else to work!! Anywhere but here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Auburn, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Hotel at Auburn University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is higher than competitors, but that's how they keep you locked in this hell.

    Cons

    The guidance team. Worthless. Arrogant. Unskilled and untrained in their fields and treat employees with disrespect, disregard and neglect. Leave employees to "figure it out" when issues arise.

    Advice to Management

    Get over yourselves.

    The Hotel at Auburn University2019-06-05
  6. "Amazing workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Auburn, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Hotel at Auburn University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I learned everything I needed to know about hotel and restaurant operations, and I learned the right way.

    Cons

    I have no cons. This was a great place to work.

    The Hotel at Auburn University2018-11-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Hotel at Auburn University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    co workers were nice, only reason

    Cons

    Management was bad and inconsistent

    The Hotel at Auburn University2018-06-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Management here doesn't care about you or your well-being"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Auburn, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Hotel at Auburn University full-time

    Pros

    They give you a free meal every shift, and if you do manage to make it to full-time (which is a challenge) the benefits are pretty good.

    Cons

    Everything else, including the free meals which lead to a couple of my friends getting food poisoning a couple of times.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees, not just when your boss is around. Actually manage your people instead of just sitting in the office until your boss shows up.

    The Hotel at Auburn University2018-03-27
  9. "Bellman job is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bellman in Auburn, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Hotel at Auburn University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great part time job while in school. Good money and networking

    Cons

    Hard to have holidays and time off when in the hospitality industry

    The Hotel at Auburn University2018-02-06
  10. "Great Exposure to the Hospitality World"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Agent in Auburn, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Hotel at Auburn University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Up-ward mobility, opportunity to earn commission, and feedback is given to employee. The workers there tend to be friendly. Discounts on hotel rooms and restaurant food.

    Cons

    LONG hours; Always at least 8-hour shifts, sometimes they may ask you to work more. Very strict about dress-code and appearance. May be overwhelming when upper management isn't doing their job and it falls onto your plate.

    Advice to Management

    Hire an actual front desk Manager

    The Hotel at Auburn University2018-02-04
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Alot of great employees, long hrs, and networking opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bellman in Auburn, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Hotel at Auburn University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low stress for the most part, game days are hectic but you make plenty of money to make up for it. The front desk team is filled with awesome people. Especially management. You usually work with people you can get along with. pay is good. 7.90/hr plus tips Flexible with your class schedule if student Your concerns are heard if you have a problem that needs fixing Communication is emphasized and... utilized between the front desk and bellman You meet alot of great alumni, business-people, and all around classy folks while working here

    Show More

    Cons

    Long shifts (8 hrs) Sometimes could be there late (10pm) and come in at 7am the next morning There is a lot of down time. Sometimes you are scheduled when the hotel has 20 check-ins and expected not to look at your phone.

    Advice to Management

    The front office supervisors and managers are top notch. Molly Anne and Peter did a great job of connecting with and helping the new hires, and always staying positive with the team. The general manager seems to feed off of walking around the hotel and patronizing employees. He has rubbed many of the employees the wrong way. Whether this is unintended or not, it creates a poisonous environment. The interview... process is effective. As well as round table, daily line-ups, and the emphasis of informing employees of the events at the hotel.

    Show More
    The Hotel at Auburn University2017-06-15
Found 16 reviews