The Howard Hughes Corporation Reviews

Updated Apr 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
47%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
The Howard Hughes Corporation CEO David O’Reilly
David O’Reilly
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good honest people, hard working(in 7 reviews)

  • "There are great benefits, some of the best I have seen(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Inconsistent, responsibilities regularly require 70-80 hours a week, awful work/life balance,(in 6 reviews)

  • "Long hours can adversely affects work/life balance(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      You've never worked for a team like this one.

      Jun 18, 2020 - Senior Project Manager in The Woodlands, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team oriented, no really, they all work together. Good honest people, hard working.

      Cons

      Real Estate is a cyclical business, so there are ups, and there are downs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Best job I've ever had.

      Mar 8, 2021 - Senior Marketing Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and teamwork atmosphere.

      Cons

      Great place to work and glad I was able to work here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Started Good, Ended Poorly

      Mar 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in The Woodlands, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall I would say I am grateful for the time and learning experiences I had at Howard Hughes. I was able to work on some pretty extensive projects and collaborate with people all across the company. I am grateful for my manager, they made working at HHC fun and always did their best to advocate for our team. Before the pandemic, I was able to travel quite a lot both for work and training. During my time there I also connected with a handful of pretty amazing people who genuinely wanted to make a difference in the world.

      Cons

      When I first started at Howard Hughes I was over the moon excited. I was experiencing that "honeymoon phase" at a new job where everything is just amazing. However, that started to fade out as I soon realized that actions spoke louder than words. The main reason why I left was that I was looking for career growth. My current role was not providing me the room to expand my experience or push my skill set to the max. Another reason I left was I essentially lived in fear of losing my job for over a year and a half for many reasons and to no fault of my own. – In June 2019 the company wanted to be purchased which meant looming potential layoffs if we merged with another company. – When no one wanted to buy the company they did a round of layoffs just before Thanksgiving and another just before the Holidays. – In March 2020 mainly due to COVID-19 they did another round of layoffs. I was fortunate to survive 3 rounds of layoffs, but it was scary waking up every day not knowing if I was next. Lastly, the culture is not what it is promised to be. Politics and Cliques run deep on every level in almost every region, and not just with senior leadership. Anything embarrassing, goofy, or silly you say or do can and will be used against you even months after it happened.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Ambitious, Driven and Innovative

      Apr 10, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity for growth, great people, wide range of developments and projects, ambitious visions.

      Cons

      Communication within departments is not streamlined therefore creating process issues.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Would not reccomend

      Mar 17, 2021 - Security Officer in The Woodlands, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They offer some easy summer jobs

      Cons

      Terrible management, multiple waves of firing and hiring after every quarterly earnings statement. They would rather buy a 100,000 Mercedes sprinter van that they didn’t even use than keep on a tenured employee with 15 years with the company (not me). No job security at all.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good job, but not much room for growth

      Mar 3, 2021 - Punchlist Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Organized management, responsive corporate office, up to date software and equipment

      Cons

      Can be stressful with near-impossible deadlines, no growth in certain departments

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Much change going on, new management direction

      Jan 26, 2021 - Information Technology 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High end real estate and development work, good funding, great set of assets, energetic employees

      Cons

      Major change of business plans from year to year, focus on growth. Recent upper executive changes fractured company, sold off some assets, moved headquarters from Dallas to Houston.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Flexibld

      Feb 16, 2021 - Finance &Amp; Accounting Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      During pandemic very flexible and reasonable.

      Cons

      Pay is not high, but stress level is low. So, it washes out.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Company Culture

      Jan 20, 2021 - Senior Property Accountant in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, CEO, CAO, the people

      Cons

      Very Structured, no variance in the work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Exciting place to work at

      Jan 21, 2021 - Operations Administrator in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have awesome office culture

      Cons

      A few layoffs during my time here

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 86 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Howard Hughes Corporation Job Seekers

    Sales Administrative Assistant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sr. Manager, Digital Marketing
    Learn About the Job
    Community Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
    Learn About the Job

    Work at The Howard Hughes Corporation? Share Your Experiences

    The Howard Hughes Corporation logo
    or