The Humane Society of the United States "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Humane Society of the United States Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Oct 15, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
The Humane Society of the United States President and CEO Kitty Block
Kitty Block
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "I loved interning with the HSUS(in 18 reviews)

  • "Flexible, dogs at work, nice people(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance, Low pay, Old building(in 16 reviews)

  • "If you complain about the working conditions then you just don't care enough about animals(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place for Animal Advocacy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at The Humane Society of the United States

    Pros

    Like-minded individuals passionate about their work

    Cons

    Often work after hours; low pay

    The Humane Society of the United States2018-10-15
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Change for the better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Humane Society of the United States full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Having an impact on animal welfare, Working with amazing people, Great manager, Good benefits, Acting CEO seems to honestly want to change the "boys club" culture.

    Cons

    Work/life balance, Low pay, Old building

    Continue reading
    The Humane Society of the United States2018-05-15
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great cause and passionate coworkers, no room to grow and low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Humane Society of the United States

    Pros

    great cause, passionate and friendly people, great benefits like flex schedule and working from home (for some departments)

    Cons

    very high turnover, very low pay, hardly any room to grow as a professionally, the max annual raise is only 3%, the g'burg office is very uninspiring and dull

    The Humane Society of the United States2016-08-15
  4. Helpful (20)

    "No longer what it used to be, a great stepping stone for college graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Germantown, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Humane Society of the United States for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very effective in the animal protection world.

    Cons

    No longer cares about its long-term employees. 10 years ago HSUS was the top animal protection organization to work at. Now it has become a great first job for college kids and nothing more. They show no appreciation to their long-time employees, very little ability to move up, it's all about who you know now, not who is best suited for the job. Severely low pay and constantly dwindling benefits. People hired last month can be hired at the same pay rate as someone who has been working there for 5-10 years. Many, many great employees have left, and the ones that stay do so because they believe in the mission. They recently discontinued the pension plan and in the same month re-vamped the entire upstairs kitchen. Priorities are screwed up, ridiculously high turn-over rate. They recently decided to stop following the federal government for weather Closings (for the second time) because they would rather risk their employees safety and have people come to work or have to use their PTO to stay at home. Really sad to see what this company has become over time.

    Continue reading
    The Humane Society of the United States2016-02-10
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Humane Society of the United States full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing, passionate, dedicated and smart co-workers. People who work here care about helping animals and there's no doubt you're part of something that's changing the world for animals. The victories, accomplishments, and rescues you see on the humanesociety.org website are a fraction of the many, many great things going on daily.

    Cons

    No advancement structure or professional development plans: You're basically expected to stay in your position, do it well, and do it over, over, and over. Especially if you don't work at headquarters. Low pay: HSUS pays better than many other animal nonprofits, but the salaries are generally lower than comparatively sized organizations in the nonprofit sector in general. This is an animal-sector wide issue. (However, the ASPCA which is similarly sized but a tad smaller, pays upwards of 30% to 70% more in many similar positions.) Pay increases only happen by a few percentages a year. Annoyingly, if you work there for a few years, your pay may be much lower than a new hire who has less experience than you do for the same/similar position. After working there for 4 years, I found out a new hire with less experience and in the same position as me made nearly 20% more than I did. The organization also doesn't do much to make cost-of-living adjustments based on geography despite being a national organization with staff in nearly all 50 states. Your pay scale is within the same range wherever you live. Workaholic culture: You're expected to give it your all. And many do. Some apologize for taking longer than a couple hours to respond to a non-urgent email you send on a Saturday. If you do your job well, more work will be handed to you and more will be expected of you. Many are overworked, stressed, and are made to feel guilty when they take time out for themselves or their families.

    Continue reading
    The Humane Society of the United States2015-12-13
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Marketing Communications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Humane Society of the United States full-time

    Pros

    People dedicated to protecting animals. Good benefits package

    Cons

    Low pay and everyone appears to be overworked and stretched. Infighting and executive staff pay (compared to mid tier, hands on workers) is excessive.

    Continue reading
    The Humane Society of the United States2015-11-21
  7. Helpful (17)

    "Sexist, confused and old-fashioned management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Humane Society of the United States full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They do great work for animals and many employees are a joy to work with --dedicated, kind, super smart, funny.

    Cons

    Management is a confused mess. Employees work very long hours with high stress and low pay, and little help from management. Constant drama and infighting. HSUS is run by a small group of rich straight white men who do not like women. Their leadership webpage is encouraging, with lots of female faces, but when you work at HSUS you learn that any females in management are ignored or even harassed. High turnover. The CEO makes over $300,000 but can't stand to hire even a cheap temp position to help with the constant overtime hours. Work doesn't get done, managers have so many people reporting to them they have no idea what's going on, and leadership (all white men) want nothing to do with employee feedback. The internal employee moral surveys get worse every year. Women are not promoted, not invited to meetings, laughed at, and worse...HSUS has a robust history of sexual harassment lawsuits. Perhaps the best way to sum it up: Female employees are expected to attend company functions to talk to donors. This involves weekend and evening work, of course. They have to pay for their own meal. Not making that up. An employee is expected to give up a Friday or Saturday night to schmooze donors (including donors with a history of rape accusations, sexual harassment, etc) and then pay HSUS for the meal. Management has zero interest or ability in handling gender or race diversity or equality issues, pay equity, sexual harassment, massive overtime, or projects not getting done. Leadership will often demand more work of employees already maxed out, and employees know it's best to just agree. But the work never gets done, and that's bad for the cause. Lots of employee complaining and frustrations which makes it hard to stay positive. If you can survive a couple of years it will look good on your resume but I recommend starting the job with low expectations. And if you're female--be careful!

    The Humane Society of the United States2015-11-04

    The Humane Society of the United States Response

    November 19, 2015Senior Vice President, Human Capital and Administration

    Thank you for your posting. You mention a number of topics in this post, some of which can be addressed here. • The HSUS has a workforce primarily comprised of women and the demographics of our staff managers are fairly consistent with that breakout--about 75% female and 25% male. Over the past four years, nearly 80% of all staff promotions were for females, and 67% of those promoted to a Vice President or Senior Vice President level position were females. We believe that’s a pretty good track record. The level and scope of a manager’s authority and decision-making at The HSUS is contingent upon the individual’s role, accountability, and performance. It is not based on gender. • Our all-volunteer Board of Directors is currently made up of 29 members, almost evenly split between men and women (15 and 14, respectively). The immediate past Chair of the Board, and the current Vice Chair, are both women. These volunteer Directors are the individuals who set policy for the organization, and oversee the performance and compensation of executives and officers. • We are a mission-based organization, with a fast-paced campaigning style of work, and that is not necessarily for everyone. We have some jobs—which given the nature of their role—do have responsibilities that require those in them to work outside the normal business hours, i.e. evenings and weekends. Our fundraising; outreach and engagement; legislative and grassroots; rescue and response; direct animal care; and campaigns and advocacy-related roles often can be called upon to support events and activities during these off hours. We appreciate the time and efforts given by the staff in these positions and, when possible provide flex time and/or time-off to allow them the opportunity to balance their work requirements with time to refresh and rejuvenate. We also provide other benefits such as paid pet sitting for employees who are required to travel for work. In addition, many staff are able to telecommute some days during the workweek, dependent on the type of work they perform, and this provides a break from the expectation of them being in the office every day. • As an organization that is funded by donor dollars, we are committed to ensuring that we are using these funds in the most prudent and fiscally responsible way. Whether or not we fill a position, hire a temporary, require an employee to pay to voluntarily attend an event at which he/she is not required to work, or make any other spending decisions, we make them giving consideration to the impact they may have on our staff, as well as on our budget and our overall operations. Like all non-profit organizations, we often have to make hard decisions about how our spending is allocated, with finite resources and an unlimited number of worthy projects and positions to fund. • Our full-year turnover rate for 2015 is not yet available. Last year’s (2014) turnover rate was 13.9%, which was a decrease of 2% from 2013’s rate. This was below the non-profit trend for 2014 of 15%. Finally, you mention a number of issues related to harassment, equality, equity and diversity. Our employee handbook covers these in several of our HSUS policies (EEO Policy; Policy Against Sexual and Other Kinds of Harassment) and provides a complaint process. You are encouraged to contact the Human Resources department regarding these and any other concerns you may have.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good place doing good work; needs help on some fronts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Takoma Park, MD
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Humane Society of the United States for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Rewarding work with a company that is creating real change for millions of animals - Incredibly nice, smart, dedicated colleagues; very few bullies/monster egos - Dogs in the office program makes daily grind easier - Good benefits overall; telecommuting is mostly supported in positions that allow for it

    Cons

    - Low pay by the standards of other area nonprofits, and especially compared to other national nonprofits - Lack of cohesion in certain program areas; success of each department is driven not only by its own leadership but by how its leadership interacts with C-suite level, leading to perceptions of favoritism - Work experience hugely determined by what manager you end up under; there are some really good ones and some that need help - Seems to be constantly re-organizing certain key departments; high turnover in those areas - If you want work/life balance, you'll have to seek it out; tends to be a 24/7 culture and that is worse in certain departments

    Continue reading
    The Humane Society of the United States2015-09-23
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing organization, big-time HR issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Humane Society of the United States full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredibly effective organization with people who are dedicated to the cause, staff meetings are always inspiring to see the breadth and success of the work, friendly people.

    Cons

    Low pay. Working remotely inconsistently and unfairly applied. HR gives lowly titles and pay, then supervisors give director-level tasks.

    Continue reading
    The Humane Society of the United States2015-07-10

    The Humane Society of the United States Response

    November 11, 2015Senior Vice President, Human Capital and Administration

    We appreciate your feedback, and are sorry your experience is not 100% positive for you! We continue to solicit feedback from all employees, through our regular employee surveys, all-staff meetings, and other channels. We also continue to have an open door policy in our Human Capital and Development department and in our executive offices. If you have concerns specific to your position, please make sure to reach out to us directly so that we can work with you on the issues you raised. You should also feel comfortable to speak with your manager about your position and what his/her expectations are for your role, including what growth and development opportunities are available to you.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great mission, need to increase staff support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Humane Society of the United States full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The HSUS is a huge force in the world of animal welfare, and serving the mission was one of the best things about working there. Great camaraderie and a creative work environment.

    Cons

    They need to work on top-down communications, and the pay is a huge issue. I don't know how they expect people to live in an expensive city like Washington, DC for what they pay. I believe the low pay leads to a lot of turnover in certain areas.

    Continue reading
    The Humane Society of the United States2015-05-18
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews