KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

The Icee Company

Engaged Employer

The Icee Company

Add a Review

The Icee Company Employee Reviews about "icee"

Updated Jan 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 100 reviews

3.8
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
The Icee Company President Dan Fachner  (no image)
Dan Fachner
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-Life Balance, Good Benefits, Brand New Office(in 6 reviews)

  • "work good(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No vacation until after a year from ICEE hire date(in 9 reviews)

  • "Upper management has too many reports(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "icee"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Welcoming Environment

      Dec 11, 2020 - Customer Escalations Specialist in La Vergne, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ICEE has a very welcoming environment that ensures all team members are comfortable working there. Being apart of the customer service department has allowed me to gain new skills and meet new people.

      Cons

      With being in customer service, to ensure ICEE's clients are always taken care the customer service line is open 365 days. However, ICEE does a great job at making the holidays feel special.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      The happiest place i've ever worked!

      Dec 10, 2020 - Current Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The ICEE Company is a fantastic company to work for. They are big enough to offer growth and development opportunities but small enough to feel like a family. I have never worked somewhere with a better work life balance. It is a fun, friendly place to work full of so many fantastic people. I couldn't have chosen a better company to call home!

      Cons

      There are so many upsides to working for ICEE. However, the paid time off options available to new hires within the first year have an opportunity to be reevaluated.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall positive experience

      Jan 4, 2021 - Project Scheduler in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible with time off. Continued employment during pandemic. My Team Lead communicates well.

      Cons

      Hire on process is through a temp agency. No vacation until after a year from ICEE hire date. Average Pay. Little room for growth. Company recently moved to Tennessee. Due to most employees being with the company less than a year, there are growing pains. Little training from Management.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Service technician

      Oct 30, 2015 - Service Technician in Macon, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Steady work, ot every week. Fairly independent, leave home straight to work. Good if your just getting into the field. You'll get some xp in refrigeration if your just getting into it. Training and support are a phone call away.

      Cons

      Ridiculous amount of windshield time, you'll be sick of driving real quick. What's worse is the in cab camera filming you all the time, but just forget about it and it isn't so bad. Your limited to the equipment you'll be working on. Like I said, good for a newbie but nothing compared to doing commercial hvac and refrigeration. Salaries cap out at a certain #, want anymore you'll need to go into commercial hvac and refrigeration like I did- just be prepared to work a lot harder cause it makes icee seem easy peasy. I miss the easy peasy security of icee but needed to chase the money and go after what I set out to do long ago. No regrets. Healthcare is pricey.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee

      They hire new people making more $ than the vested employees

      Mar 1, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They Work with your schedule. There is health insurance. This company isn't going any place. They have been around for years, and I see them hanging on as long as people continue to buy frozen beverages.

      Cons

      Expensive Heath insurance. ICEE is ever growing. That is a plus for the company, but they do not compensate for the very demanding work load. Finding out that being an employee for 4, 5,10+ years and they bring in new hires making not much less, if not more money is very discouraging. There are no repercussions for late employees or unreliable ones.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Wow...What way to waste 20 years

      Dec 21, 2013 - Service Technician in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'll get back to you on this one....Maybe its better than hoping for free bread and cheese? Honestly, you can learn service skills that will help you get a job with a good company.

      Cons

      An awful company. Poor compensation for their Service Techs. No regard to Osha rules and standards. Almost no safety rules, with regards to the job. One of my co-workers was ridiculed for asking for a harness used when climbing ladders. The ladder was expected to get a guy on the rood of a 7-11 store. The ladder was slightly damaged when it was purchased at Home Depot. Really? However, they have cameras in your vehicles to catch you doing things that will set the camera off...things like stopping quick, or turning sharp. Also, most of the management are people who worked their way up in the company. I made 5000 per year LESS when I took a management job. They do have some good managers, but typically they find managers who really enjoy the title, not because they are good managers. I knwo this because I did it for seven years.There is also nothing that is confidential. If you have medical issues, expect the entire office, and your co-workers, to know everything. Its such a small company, state by state, that I'm sure few are willing to talk about working conditions for fear of retaliation. I'm not bitter towards Icee. I'm posting this hoping someone might actually take safety seriously and keep my friends alive.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      To Much Drive time,no incentive,seniority Means nothing!

      Jul 14, 2016 - Anonymous in Belmar, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company vehicle-With a camera pointed at you every second,Medical insurance-premium is very high. Full time work- mandatory on call hours. If you love driving all day long this is the job for you!

      Cons

      I am a technician not a truck driver. If you work here be prepared to spend more time driving then actually repairing the machines.I was sent to a call almost 2 hours away only to find out there was another tech that was only 20 min.away.This happened over and over. Its like the manager has no clue! I have driven more than 100 miles in a day.It is very frustrating to spend the entire day driving and not knowing where you will be going the next day.Seniority means nothing !There is no bonus, or incentive programs. The yearly raise is the same 2.5 percent for everyone.Then the premium for the medical insurance goes up too. It's like you didn't get a raise at all. The president of the Icee company Got a bonus of 501,726.00.I got a 200.00 Christmas bonus. It would take me 11 years working here to make what the president of the company got in one year as a bonus! The place I work at now gives monthly bonuses. The tech. pay at Icee is very low,and there is a cap.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible company to work for

      Aug 26, 2014 - Service Technician in Bellmawr, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company truck Uniform benefits were somewhat good

      Cons

      Terrible management that provides no support and treats employees as servants/slaves Micromanagement No training provided (though training was promised during hiring process). Management just throws techs into assignments without providing any training or guidance. Driving 90% of the time Got injured on the job, was denied workers comp/short-term disability, no paycheck for 6 weeks; received bill from ICEE for 238$ for health premiums with treats to pursue legal action against me dead end job

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      unappreciative company

      Feb 15, 2019 - Branch Secretary 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Had good medical insurance, 401K, stock options

      Cons

      worked at Icee for almost 20 yrs, when they decided to eliminate all branch secretaries all over the country. Was given 2 weeks severance pay, & NO medical insurance from the day I left!! Very heartless company

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Icee Company Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The Icee Company? Share Your Experiences

    The Icee Company logo
    or