The Iron Yard Reviews | Glassdoor

The Iron Yard Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
The Iron Yard CEO Peter Barth
Peter Barth
20 Ratings
  1. "CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Chief Executive Officer in Southlake, TX

    I have been working at The Iron Yard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great hard work but worth it.

    Cons

    Good but growth is hard work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep Grinding and keep praying for success

    The Iron Yard2018-08-29
  2. "Great mission, too bad it didnt work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Iron Yard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary was market rate, the people who worked there believed in the mission, and you got a lot of flexibility in how you work

    Cons

    Private Equity. Once they acquired a controlling interest it went downhill

    The Iron Yard2018-02-10
  3. "Still a newer company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Iron Yard part-time

    Pros

    The company is great to work with and offers pretty standard benefit packages.

    Cons

    The Coursework offered to students is a little underdeveloped as is the instructors' resource support.

    Advice to Management

    Programming is done in iterations, to keep things current, and ever progressing, your students should be taught from day one to do the same. Use broad strokes to cover "start to finish" projects and instruction examples, then fill in the details and terminology as you dig into the real nuts and bolts of how it all actually works -iteration by iteration.

    The Iron Yard2018-01-19
  4. "Great mission, great people, hard emotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campus Operations Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Iron Yard full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Getting to be a part of changing people's lives for the better was awesome. Working with hard working and driven people was exciting and encouraging. I took pride in how we kept our curriculum flexible and changed it to suit our class groups. We were big parts of the tech community in our cities. The instructors were paid very well.

    Cons

    There was a lot more change and pivoting than expected, and there changes got bigger and bigger as time went on. It became emotionally difficult for some to keep up and to let go of plans and procedures, especially without being a part of the decision making process. There were a few bad apples in the team, but they moved on of their own accord after some time, thankfully. There were often very long hours for all staff.

    Advice to Management

    If given the chance to do it again, I think having teammate happiness and encouragement be a priority would have been great. I know managers and directors shouldered some of that responsibility, but doing more or separating that job to a different person or subsidizing mental care would have helped many instructors I know of, along with the hard working campus staff.

    The Iron Yard2017-12-15
  5. "A great company, closing for unfortunate reasons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Instructor in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Iron Yard for less than a year

    Pros

    Ability to continue personal and professional development Highly Passionate Individuals Excellent Compensation

    Cons

    The Iron Yard is closing soon The Iron Yard is closing soon The Iron Yard is closing soon The Iron Yard is closing soon

    The Iron Yard2017-10-31
  6. "Great but ended too soon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Iron Yard full-time

    Pros

    I loved it there and the changes it made in my life

    Cons

    ended way too soon because of things outside of our control

    The Iron Yard2017-10-31
  7. "An AWESOME place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Iron Yard full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are irreplaceable. They lived for teaching and sharing and were always looking out for the students' best interest.

    Cons

    The only con that it is closing, and I wish Apollo hadn't made that call (an unethical one). Every student interested in web development would have been lucky to attend and experience The Iron Yard

    Advice to Management

    Come back! Bring The Iron Yard Back!

    The Iron Yard2017-10-31
  8. "Operations Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Assistant in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Iron Yard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was great 6 month employment, I wish it would have continued.

    Cons

    Company ceased operations, so there is the con

    The Iron Yard2017-09-25
  9. "Poorly managed company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Iron Yard full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love working with the students and helping them learn to code.

    Cons

    Poorly managed company with questionable HR practices.

    The Iron Yard2017-09-27
  10. "Wonderful Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Iron Yard

    Pros

    Fantastic group of people. The culture and environment at The Iron Yard made it a wonderful place to work. Everyone truly cares about their fellow employees and makes an effort to have fun and enjoy what they do.

    Cons

    No cons, a wonderful place to work

    The Iron Yard2017-09-09
Found 41 reviews