KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

The Joint Commission

Is this your company?

The Joint Commission

Add a Review

The Joint Commission Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 of over 101 reviews

3.3
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
The Joint Commission President Mark R. Chassin (no image)
Mark R. Chassin
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, many holidays, and decent pay(in 11 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance, great benefits, growth for the first 2 years(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can be professionally isolating because Joint Commission employees don't have natural peer groups(in 5 reviews)

  • "The compensation is fair but could be a little more given the road warrior life style Field Surveyors live(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of The Joint Commission and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      I loved working here

      Dec 5, 2021 - Senior Secretary 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, many holidays, and decent pay. They support professional development.

      Cons

      A few toxic managers were allowed to stay. For a few years I was subjected to that, until I moved within the company at a pay cut.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      good company

      Dec 7, 2021 - Surveyor in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      some concern shown for traveling staff, decent benefits.

      Cons

      more talk the talk than walk the walk regarding concerns regarding traveling to covid spots, they encourage us to use our personal phone for business and do not reimburse us. Too much emphasis on top down vs 2 way communication. little input by surveyor staff about problems with standards . work part time requires a lot more time than is reimbursed ( emails, online training, meetings)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Okay... Definitely Pros and Cons

      Aug 17, 2021 - Project Director in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can make a positive difference in the healthcare industry Good benefits including vacation, personal days, and sick days Remote work opportunity after a few months on the job Enclosed parking and onsite cafeteria (although not cheap) Colleagues are knowledgeable and very professional to work with

      Cons

      Very little room for career growth The nurses writing the standards get very little recognition Extremely top down and hierarchal. Can slow down the system considerably Too many linear steps in the process, not streamlined enough Only top leaders get offices, the rest of us are in cubicles with nothing separating you from noise and distractions Nurse leaders can likely make more money elsewhere

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      PTSD Is a Way of Life Here

      Aug 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The paychecks came on time. Useful for name recognition but little else. Ample parking, I suppose.

      Cons

      Where do I even begin? First off, if you expect to advance...don't. Not even if you have years of evaluations saying that you "Far Exceed" expectations. Understand that the second you inquire about upward mobility, the switch will flip and there will be an active, consistent, and deliberate effort to ruin your career and your mental status. Retaliation for management comes as naturally as breathing and the only way out is to quit. I actually came across the nearly 2 inch thick packet of evidence I provided to HR on my way out and realized that I had more than enough fodder for quite the lawsuit. I knew it was bad and things hadn't changed when the employee who replaced me after I quit tracked me down online, invited me to lunch, and broke down sobbing because of the abuse she'd encountered on a daily basis. Can you imagine??? The people in leadership are sociopaths. They don't care about patients or their safety. They are only concerned with their "power" over others.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Overall Good Company

      Aug 10, 2021 - Senior Account Executive in Oakbrook Ter, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall a good company to work for. The benefits are really good in terms of PTO, 401K and there's even a company pension program. PTO increases with years of service. Health insurance is a bit expensive, but I believe it's comparable to other companies overall.

      Cons

      No room for growth. People in leadership/management positions tend to stay for a very long time in their roles so there's very little room for growth. Pay is below average compared to other companies.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Gain Experience and Move On

      Sep 24, 2021 - ACO 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Prominent presence in healthcare; Generous Vacation Time and Paid Holidays; Work from home

      Cons

      Opportunity for advancement inconsistent; Culture can be stifling at times; Decision making title driven, rather than knowledge based; Barriers to open line of communication with human resources and departmental/division leadership other than immediate supervisor

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      what a joke

      Jul 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      you get a paycheck and some benefits

      Cons

      Hard to believe there are this many 5 star reviews on glassdoor for this company. It makes me think someone in the organization is trying to compensate for all of the truthful 1 star reviews and are stacking the deck. There is so much wrong with this organization I don't even know where to start. I feel like I still have PTSD from my time spent there. The most prolific issue is the horrible, horrible leadership and a highly toxic culture that rewards people who put up with bad practices and punishes anyone who speaks the truth or tries to do the right thing. If you want to keep your head down, just do what someone tells you to without ever questioning the validity or value of what you are asked to do, and have the highlight of your day be pushing the off button on your computer, then The Joint Commission is for you!

      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Interesting blend of corporate and non-profit

      Jul 15, 2021 - Senior Manager in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission driven organization with passionate leaders. Lots of resources for development. Employee-centric culture.

      Cons

      Limited opportunities for growth without clinical experience.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Place

      Jun 23, 2021 - Accounts Payable in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Place to work, great bosses

      Cons

      I don't have any to share

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Culture

      Jun 22, 2021 - Field Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open and caring communication from top down

      Cons

      Poor Compensation fir time required

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 91 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Joint Commission Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The Joint Commission? Share Your Experiences

    or