The Joint Commission Reviews | Glassdoor

The Joint Commission Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
The Joint Commission CEO Mark R. Chassin (no image)
Mark R. Chassin
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, strong reputation, good networking opportunities(in 9 reviews)

  • "Enjoy the work life balance, great benefits, managers care about you and your career(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of movement due to extremely poor management across the organization(in 5 reviews)

  • "company structure makes decision making difficult(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A really great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Joint Commission full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Mission-driven, excellent leaders moving health care quality forward, benefits, vacation time, remote working opportunities

    Cons

    There are no significant cons

    The Joint Commission2019-02-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Stuck in the same position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Joint Commission full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    PTO, Personal days, sick days. Clean building and spacious cafeteria, Walking distance to many great restaurants

    Cons

    Lack of movement due to extremely poor management across the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Fix your hiring process by promoting your current and well qualified employees to a position that she/he desires. Moving and promoting your current employees as well as hiring the interns should be your top priority. I know change is hard for you but you have a whole department dedicated to process improvement so ask them for help.

    The Joint Commission2019-09-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Don't Bother ... Apply Someplace Else!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contractor in Oak Brook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Joint Commission full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Onsite Cafeteria, nice office, and parking garage

    Cons

    Not Sure - Where do I begin?

    Advice to Management

    Remember your internal customers are important too!

    The Joint Commission2019-08-17
  4. "surveyor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at The Joint Commission part-time

    Pros

    good for end of career clinicians

    Cons

    you will not have control over your schedule

    The Joint Commission2019-01-06
  5. "Consistent and Sturdy while making a difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Joint Commission

    Pros

    Strong employee relationships and a mission statement to believe in.

    Cons

    Healthcare industry is always scrutinized by the media.

    The Joint Commission2019-01-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Project Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Director in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Joint Commission full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Joint Commission is an employee friendly organization with good benefits

    Cons

    At this point, management is making changes in directions resulting in layoffs.

    The Joint Commission2018-10-20
  7. "Senior Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Secretary in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Joint Commission full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, PTO, office environment.

    Cons

    I do not have any.

    The Joint Commission2018-09-06
  8. "Remarkable company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Joint Commission part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Senior leaders are very intentional about practicing what they preach, being transparent with the team members about financials, and setting clear expectations. I think the company pays fairly and reimburses travel expenses very quickly. I enjoy traveling and inspiring organizations to achieve more and grow their programs.

    Cons

    The only challenge (not really a con) is traveling in difficult weather conditions and sometimes to remote areas / smaller airports and planes.

    The Joint Commission2018-08-04
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Joint Commission full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work Believe in the company’s mission

    Cons

    No culture is safety Lots of politics People get promoted because of who they know and not what they know

    The Joint Commission2018-07-27
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Interesting work but this organization’s culture refuses to change."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lean Six Sigma Black Belt in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Joint Commission full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart and extremely qualified coworkers, seems everybody has a Masters or PhD. Everyone is very nice to work with. Central office was just completely remodeled and the new onsite cafeteria is nice. Covered parking in the winter is a big plus.

    Cons

    Culture is very traditional with lots of formality and approval seeking. Lots of resistance to try new things and challenge the status quo. Excessive meetings and time spent over planning is very frustrating. Project fatigue is beginning to burn out staff.

    The Joint Commission2018-07-12
Found 66 reviews