The LEGO Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The LEGO Group Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 511 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
The LEGO Group CEO Niels B. Christiansen
Niels B. Christiansen
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment with great people that supported a company mission higher than profits(in 41 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance is taken very seriously and you get to have a LIFE aswell as WORK(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "No real opportunities for full-time employment unless going to their headquarters in CT or willing to relocate to another store(in 13 reviews)

  • "I had to move back to my home country and I would have loved to relocate here for a part time job(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The LEGO Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount, great people to work with

    Cons

    None, I had lots of fun!

    The LEGO Group2019-06-18
  2. "Job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enterprise Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The LEGO Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company is great to work for

    Cons

    Management poor! They do not want to hear you

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    The LEGO Group2019-06-16
  3. "Good environment nice formal company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Brick Specialist in New York, NY

      I worked at The LEGO Group part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good environment and nice interaction with clients.

      Cons

      Temporary position, not many beneffits

      The LEGO Group2019-06-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great brand but in need of new leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director of Marketing in Enfield, CT

      I worked at The LEGO Group full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Iconic Brand heritage Great people Make a difference in the lives of children 401k match Family friendly employee events

      Cons

      Leadership turnover bringing in new culture Office Location Lack of Innovation

      The LEGO Group2019-05-01
    • Helpful (9)

      "Great company that still cares"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Brick Specialist in Newark, DE
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The LEGO Group part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Despite just being a basic floor employee the company really takes care of you! They give you a rare employee only Christmas set, a Christmas bonus, and give you a 401k with dollar for dollar match! I’ve never heard of a company that treats their sales associates so well

      Cons

      Mystery shops can be annoying only because they have such very high expectations. They are absolutely necessary, and part of why customers have such a good experience all the time. However, the amount of things they want you to always do almost makes you feel like you’re bothering customers sometimes

      Advice to Management

      Lighten up on mystery shops just a tad. I mean its a little odd to ask a customer to engage in a play experience. And as a customer I personally don’t want things handed to me, it feels pushy. Lego sells itself, no need to be pushy. Other than that I still look back and remember how great it was to work there. I have really good memories and would absolutely go back if I ever had to.

      The LEGO Group2019-03-12
    • Helpful (2)

      "Not as good on the inside"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The LEGO Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good values, Great discount, Good people

      Cons

      Prioritizing doesn't happen Leadership is lacking Career pathing questionable

      Advice to Management

      Don't make people people leaders as a next step, instead focus on training those who want to be and have that skill. Also, revisit your career pathing and focus on everyone. I have felt like others happiness was more important than mine and my role after the downsizing in late 2017.

      The LEGO Group2019-04-19
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at The LEGO Group part-time

        Pros

        Everything is a pro in my opinoon

        Cons

        It is always busy in the store

        The LEGO Group2019-02-11
      • "Great company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Supervisor in Los Angeles, CA
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at The LEGO Group full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Fun atmosphere! You get to play at work!

        Cons

        You must have an active imagination!

        Advice to Management

        Keep employees rotating shifts

        The LEGO Group2019-01-31
      • "Very fun and wonderful job!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Brick Specialist in Canoga Park, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at The LEGO Group part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Fun, friendly staff, easy environment, employee discount

        Cons

        Difficult to get more than 10 hrs a week if you are a seasonal employee.

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the good work! Management at the LEGO Store is a very wonderful example of exceptional management.

        The LEGO Group2019-01-28
      • "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Brick Specialist in Charlotte, NC
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at The LEGO Group part-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        This is a great company that really cares about their employees. I met with the District Manager multiple times and they always asked how you were doing and if there was any improvements.

        Cons

        A lot of the environment of the store is based on your management team. So, it can really differ obviously if you just get a bad group of management. It is a customer based company and retail has its own cons that follow throughout different companies. When I was in the company there was a hard focus on customer reviews which is important to a sense but often times you felt a lot of pressure because of those and your...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Overall, management is based on who you get. But in general management was good. My management was personable and interested in their employees live and happiness.

        The LEGO Group2019-01-17
      Found 511 reviews