The Learning House Reviews | Glassdoor

The Learning House Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 110 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Todd Zipper
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Also, it's great to work on 4th Street Live(in 7 reviews)

  • "Being located on Fourth Street Live is a great plus(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "This is what TLH needs to work towards(in 9 reviews)

  • "Upper management is stuffy and incompetent(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Welcoming environment and fast-growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Learning House full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of fun activities during and after work, friendly coworkers, collaboration and opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Enrollment seems like a difficult job.

    The Learning House2019-01-31
  2. "TLH Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at The Learning House full-time

      Pros

      Great employees and friendly environment

      Cons

      The pay is pretty low

      The Learning House2019-06-11
    • "TLH has a lot of wonderful, intelligent, talented employees."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director in Louisville, KY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at The Learning House full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Lots of professional development opportunities, committees, etc. Progressive environment. Many caring team members and leaders.

      Cons

      Some teams deal with micromanagement. Lots of discussion around transparency, open communication and the desire for feedback, but not all leaders are open to this.

      Advice to Management

      None. Please continue to work with your teams and their leaders to ensure buy-in and support on new initiatives. Continue creating safe places for feedback.

      The Learning House2019-06-01
    • "Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at The Learning House full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great co-workers, great managers, opportunity for advancement

      Cons

      Benefits are okay but could be better

      The Learning House2019-05-29
    • "Horrible management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at The Learning House full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Decent team, good role, initially had a lot of potential for career growth.

      Cons

      Poor middle and upper management, no room for growth, honesty isn't their strong suite, chaotic training environment, poor work/life balance.

      Advice to Management

      Just because someone gets promoted to upper management, doesn't mean they should remain there even when they are not doing their job efficiently.

      The Learning House2019-03-29
    • "Great place to work, but would be nice to have same hours all week"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Enrollment Counselor in Louisville, KY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at The Learning House full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great environment/culture, relatively easy work, decent pay, generous PTO and holidays

      Cons

      Irregular work schedule (2 late , 3 normal days)

      Advice to Management

      Have two different shifts where ECs can choose if they want all late or all early.

      The Learning House2019-02-06
    • "Not what they promise"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at The Learning House full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      In my years at Learning House, I met lots of awesome people and made some really good friends.

      Cons

      Overwork - I worked 60 hours a week most of the time. When I brought up to my manager, in my weekly check-in, I was told different things: (1) that I shouldn't be working that long and then later (2) that I obviously didn't manage my priorities correctly because it shouldn't take me that long to do what I was being asked. Asking mission-critical questions of the management of your team, can get you conflicting answers...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I'd give advice but it won't be passed on as I'm sure any other advice/suggestions/questions I've submitted to my manager and other higher ups including HR weren't.

      The Learning House2018-11-30

      The Learning House Response

      December 4, 2018Vice President, HR

      We are sorry about the issues you experienced and pride ourselves on ability of our employees to grow across the company. Growth is one of our primary colors and something we are very proud of demonstrating through our employees and partners.

    • "Online Advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Learning House full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good co-workers, bonuses at end of year, fair amount of pto, pay is ok.

      Cons

      Micro managed, small cubicles, poor training

      Advice to Management

      Develop better learning strategies for new employees, bigger work areas.

      The Learning House2018-11-27

      The Learning House Response

      December 4, 2018

      Thank you for your feedback. We are currently working on streamlining on-boarding and training processes and hope our recent move to Wiley Education Services (WES) will help in that facilitation.

    • "Pleasant enough, a bit impersonal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at The Learning House

      Pros

      culturally pleasant, not too much corporate nonsense talk, understanding people

      Cons

      the work sometimes feels impersonal

      The Learning House2018-10-09

      The Learning House Response

      December 4, 2018

      We're glad to hear you appreciate the culture at Learning House!

    • "Online Advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at The Learning House full-time

        Pros

        Everyone have worked with has been great

        Cons

        amount of calls during registration

        The Learning House2018-10-09

        The Learning House Response

        December 4, 2018

        We're glad to know you have great colleagues! It takes Servant Leadership to foster a great team.

      Found 110 reviews