The Learning Lab "last minute covers" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

The Learning Lab Employee Reviews about "last minute covers"

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
The Learning Lab Chief Executive Officer Hamilton Lau (no image)
Hamilton Lau
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "last minute covers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (19)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Learning Lab full-time

    Pros

    Professional and nice colleagues. Office environment is well designed. Curriculum is structured and well crafted. Pay is comfortable. Observations and feedbacks to help you grow and improve.

    Cons

    Have to work on weekends, and 2 late days (till 930) Hard to schedule meetup with friends when your hours are not in sync. Last minute cover classes are quite common. sometimes have to cover classes back to back @ two different venues. Students can be quite a handful sometimes.

    The Learning Lab2016-07-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great teaching experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at The Learning Lab

    Pros

    The company provides various workshops to train newcomers, curriculum teams are willing to openly consider teachers' opinions, nice working environment overall.

    Cons

    Last minute covers can be rather stressful.

    The Learning Lab2015-07-29
  3. "English Teaching Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Learning Lab

    Pros

    Good materials and lesson plans, autonomy over conduct of lessons, smart and capable colleagues, nice facilities

    Cons

    Admin department can be quite political, a lot of last minute scheduling and filling in, no time to prepare adequately, high attrition rates among full time staff

    The Learning Lab2019-08-05
  4. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Teaching Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Learning Lab for less than a year

    Pros

    High pay for intern Good pay Nice environment Friendly teachers Nice pantry High flexibility

    Cons

    Odd working timing Last minute cover. Change in class schedule with notice of one or two days before. Stressful if there is a last minute cover. Need to work during weekend It can be quite tedious to manage naughty children. Classes can be at different centres in Singapore. So need to travel a lot.

    Advice to Management

    N.A

    The Learning Lab2018-12-21
  5. Helpful (3)

    "A relatively good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Learning Lab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been in the workforce for several years now and worked in a few places including government agencies and private companies. The Learning Lab has better welfare than most of them. Staff are friendly and kind and hours, while odd, are reasonable. As it is a place with mainly female staff, the company can be quite family-friendly. Women have brought their children in on really busy days and there are usually... willing teachers around to look after them. The other teachers are absolutely wonderful to work with. The curriculum is robust and written with great care and thought and the teachers are mostly very dedicated to teaching it well. They are all eager to share ideas and discuss how best to impart knowledge and the meetings are filled with good discussion and questions about how to handle the curriculum. It is inspiring to work with people who care so much. At the same time, teachers get some freedom in how they want to share the material with students and this allows teachers to plan their lessons in ways that best suit them and have fun in the classroom. Class sizes are also relatively small and allow a little more focus and care for each student. There is no sense of competition or politicking among the teachers which means that everyone can focus on teaching without worrying about playing the games that I've witnessed in other corporate environments. People are mostly helpful and caring. There are also some options for flexibility and these work well for mothers of young children or teachers who want to pursue other interests outside of the office. All-in-all, of all the places I've worked, The Learning Lab allows relatively more flexibility and fun and co-workers are an absolute delight.

    Show More

    Cons

    Quality standards are high. This in itself is not a con of course, but I've noticed fresh graduates or former MOE teachers struggle with the workload when they first start, especially if they were expecting to cruise a little more. For people who have never taught before, the marking loads can be a killer (as we are expected to be thorough) and the learning curve is steep enough to put some off. It is important... to develop coping systems or teachers may find themselves marking 7 days a week. On desperate days, the planning office is forced to give teachers *very* last minute cover classes and those can be nerve-wracking and very stressful to prepare for and execute and they can ruin one's plans. At times, upper management comes across to teachers as being somewhat opaque (although this has improved a little in recent times). Most significantly, the work hours for new teachers are quite draining as many of them have to work two full weekends each week and lose out in their social lives. Teachers who have been here longer enjoy somewhat more flexibility.

    Show More
    The Learning Lab2018-12-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Intellectually stimulating and lots of camaraderie but inflexible schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Specialist in Bukit Timah, Central
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Learning Lab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -good if you enjoy working with young people -you get as much out of the job as you put in -you can be as social or as solitary as you like -female-dominated working environment -great hours and going to work at 11AM or later often make up for lack of flexibility -colleagues are passionate about helping students -(for secondary school tutors) you get a chance to be creative and have the freedom to engage... students and get them interested in political and social issues -you can feel like you are making a difference in students' lives -heads of department and fellow teachers are very understanding of teachers' concerns

    Show More

    Cons

    -May be difficult to adapt to 9-5 desk job after this job -leave can be difficult to obtain -If you teach secondary school students, may be asked to assist in kindergarten classes which they do not tell you in the job description -last minute covers -have to give up part of your weekend -

    Advice to Management

    -more flexibility when it comes to working hours -focus a bit more on staff welfare and happiness over clients

    The Learning Lab2018-10-11
  7. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Learning Lab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Curriculum unit is helpful and nice Kids and great Good if you like flexibility and weekdays off. Or retired without family commitments

    Cons

    Parents might be tricky Long hours and weekends Last minute covers No career growth

    The Learning Lab2018-10-17
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Negative reviews painfully funny but true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Learning Lab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -flexible schedule (you are generally left alone before 3pm on weekdays and if you're lucky, no 7.30pm classes so you can leave early) - *some* fun, friendly colleagues you can rant to about management/students - *some* of the kids are adorable -pay is relatively high

    Cons

    Where do I even begin? Every week, I hear of one or two teachers leaving, even barely a month into the job sometimes. Mentor makes a big fuss over 'negative feedback' that isn't even a big deal. Tends to micromanage , making me feel inept and terribly unhappy. I constantly feel like I'm being talked down to and compared to other Ts who may have had prior experience. Other mentors barely even speak to their... mentees. Some people have managed to coast by with subpar performances (unmarked scripts that are months overdue, noisy classrooms) and frequent MC-taking, whereas I'm being taken to task for not strictly adhering to house style and having some boisterous children in class. Some teachers have not even received proper training. The last-minute covers can be a pain. Don't be surprised if you are asked to come in even when the class has already 'started'. A lot of the time, you're just a body to fill the space in front of the classroom. Some kids can be extremely bratty and entitled. Their parents can be equally demanding too. It really feels like going back to a girls' school. The first day of training people were already judging others based on appearances and picking friends based on how pretty they were. If you're pretty, you'll be popular here. Many 'influencers'. Very superficial and toxic environment as people can be petty and proud.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop emphasising that parents pay a lot to come here, hence we have to treat them and their kids like royalty. I used to be a TLL kid way back when too. So?? What is the big deal? Are they that much better than us that we have to pander to every whim and fancy of theirs? Customer is always right? Why do you accede to some requests and not others then, if *all* customers are right? Something was done to one of my... classes that was not a unanimous decision. You did not ask the other kids/parents. You're deathly afraid of complaints and withdrawals. You blame the teachers for them though, most of the time. Most of the time nothing has even happened yet but you're like, no, you *must* do this and that *in case* parents come after you etc. And you keep opening new classes with only *one* kid in them. Why not open only with a minimum HC? Ah, sorry. Profits. 7.30pm is also a horrible timeslot for younger ones. They are tired and so are we, to be honest. Trust your teachers to do a good enough job without all the hand-holding. Train those who need/want it, don't just let them fall through the cracks. Some Ts have had no training or absolutely unprofessional behaviour, yet you passed them without batting an eyelid. Meanwhile, I've been a solid team player. Show up on time. Accept most covers. Scripts are never overdue. But you find a lot of issues with my teaching not being up to par. There are many other teachers with issues too. You're just not that concerned about them because they are now 'seniors', that's why. Understand who your teachers are - see them as fellow humans and not mere vessels spouting knowledge/info. Help us grow and accept that we're all different, instead of trying to force your ideas and career goals onto us. Appreciate that we all have different styles of teaching. I don't want a class of silent, robotic kids. Unfortunately, you do. I haven't left yet and neither have my friends, but believe me when I say quitting is pretty much all anyone ever talks about. It's just a matter of when, not if.

    Show More
    The Learning Lab2018-05-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Specialist Teaching Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Learning Lab full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ---Flexible working hours ---High starting pay, please at least ask for 4k ---Nobody really cares what time you come in so long as you are there to teach your class

    Cons

    Last minute covers Very shady pay scheme (some teachers get paid more and do less work) Have to work on Saturday and Sunday, non nego IMPOSSIBLE TO CLAIM TAXI FARE

    Advice to Management

    Please ease taxi fare claim procedures Don't give too many covers Allow your employees to take mc easily Allow them to take their leave Treat everyone with respect

    The Learning Lab2018-03-22
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Could be worse, but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist Teaching Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Learning Lab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good hours if you like to sleep in on weekdays - Curriculum is mostly planned - Decent salary for fresh grads - CEO is friendly enough

    Cons

    - Off days are mostly spent marking - Manpower issues mean lots of stress when there are last minute covers - Teaching staff overworked with 10-12 classes a week and sometimes there are extra special programs to do on top of the 12 class load - Weekend classes are a nightmare with some teachers doing 4 2-hour classes back to back - Not transparent regarding different pay schemes and increments, especially to... newer teachers - Not transparent regarding different work schemes as well... Some teachers are paid per class, some for headcount and others just have to take whatever the management says they have to do. Some teachers get to have more than 2 days off (and are still paid the same), while the newer teachers are only allowed to take 2. - Some office politics and unreasonable expectations for observations - Little job progression

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try not to overwork your teaching staff so the turnover rate won't be so high and make the work schemes clear to everyone.

    The Learning Lab2017-11-13
Found 21 reviews