The MENTOR Network Reviews | Glassdoor

The MENTOR Network Reviews

Updated August 18, 2017
538 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

538 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Developing relationships that make a difference (in 19 reviews)

  • Clients are great, some staff are great (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • All your compassion is for the consumer but you have none for the employees, no raises, managers that have no power over their staff (in 35 reviews)

  • Upper management will tell you things will change for the better but they won't (in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (4)

    "Good entry level but that's it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Service Coordinator in Broomall, PA
    Current Employee - Program Service Coordinator in Broomall, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The MENTOR Network full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Making a difference in the lives of children in foster care. Good resume builder. Decent amount of vacation time.

    Cons

    Poor management. Direct supervisor with NO clinical skills. Late hours for home visits. Supervisor constantly accusing you of not doing your job. Zero supervision time. Supervisors harrass and bully. Revolving door mostly because all new employees have issues with a direct supervisor. Zero appreciation for all of the good work. Upper management will tell you things will change for the better but they won't. Salary is lower end of the spectrum and you will not get a raise.. ever. Mileage reimbursement is very low and you will do a decent amount of travel with your own vehicle. Supervisor will not help you to improve your clinical skills with constructive criticism and problem solving. Supervisor will talk behind your back to other coworkers. Unprofessional and petty.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure direct supervisors have clinical skills and are willing to help workers improve their own. Place heavy emphasis on professionalism. Be proactive instead of reactive. Appreciate your employees for all of the good things they do for their clients instead of throwing them under the bus for every mistake. Recognize mistakes as growth opportunities.

    The MENTOR Network Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your experience with your manager has not been a positive one. We take concerns about harassment very seriously, and encourage you to speak with your local... More


  2. "Awesome organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Patient Services in Madison, WI
    Former Employee - Direct Patient Services in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The MENTOR Network part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Caring people throughout the organization and well structured.

    Cons

    Pay was on the 1st and the 15th , not every other week

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    The MENTOR Network Response

    Jun 20, 2017 – Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for your review. We’re glad you had such a positive experience with our organization, and we wish you well in your future endeavors.

  3. "Activity Assistant for Elderly Hatian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Activity in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Assistant Activity in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The MENTOR Network full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Love to with people from my community

    Cons

    No complains at this point

    Advice to Management

    Would do my best to be helpful

    The MENTOR Network Response

    Jun 16, 2017 – Employee Experience Team

    We appreciate your review. We’re pleased that you’re having a positive experience engaging with the people we serve in your community. If you have any additional feedback in the future, please do not... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Direct Support Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at The MENTOR Network full-time

    Pros

    Good hours, fun place to work

    Cons

    Staff, drama, forced overtime, lack of care

    The MENTOR Network Response

    Jun 20, 2017 – Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We wish you well in your future endeavors.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Icm in Bethlehem, PA
    Former Employee - Icm in Bethlehem, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The MENTOR Network full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pa mentor is a big company which makes it easier when going on call because it is less often than other providers. They let you take advantage of taking off when needed and first appeared more laid back.

    Cons

    There is more cons and cannot list them all, but let's just say that management is not on the same page and gives conflicting answers to questions that leaves workers confused and vunerable when it comes to their jobs. I feel
    That the Bethlehem office doesn't listen to or consider ICM concerns or struggles and often defends their beliefs and rules, rather than helping you. Myself and other ICM's, either working there, or no longer there, were made to believe that their strongest suit was that they give caseloads close to one another to have less travel time and be able to make the weekly hour quotas. THAT WAS FAR FROM THE TRUTH ! I had clients in Easton, Nazareth, catasaqua, Whitehall, Bethlehem, and Allentown! And when I try to ask to switch to have less travel distances, they tell me I can't until I make my hours! ( that was part of the reason I couldn't! I am not the only one this is done to! They are quick to write you up for everything ! Let me not mention that the corrections are ridiculous! And often times have nothing to do with the content! They stress everyone about hours and then make you correct notes that have one word that is not capitalized, which takes time from your day trying to make billable with clients! The supervisors are very unprofessional and made it very uncomfortable for me to work because I heard on more than one occasion from more than one staff member she, Supervisor E had less than professional words and made faces about my work to other staff! I hated it here! They treat you like your disposable and the director doesn't even make people feel welcomed ! He only speaks to the supervisors and that further makes it a very passive aggressive and uncomfortable almostphere for ICMs! They force you to cover other ICM's appointments that are more times than none are to take clients to appointments and you can't bill for that ! They shove oncall
    Down your throat as well by stalking you to cover days! Seems like you only get a promotion from being friends with current supervisors, instead of having much skills to work professionally and being supportive !

    Advice to Management

    BE MORE PROFFESSIONAL AND CONSIDER WORKERS IDEAS AND FEELINGS ! Know that to have a real successful business, it starts by catering to staff and making them happy enough to stay and grow with you , instead of being quick to reprimand!

    The MENTOR Network Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Employee Experience Team

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, and regret that you left with a negative perception of our organization. Our goal is to make sure that every employee finds our organization a... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "QMHA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QMHA in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - QMHA in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The MENTOR Network full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I had plenty of opportunity to refine my skills doing just about anything, and I did most anything... and went above and beyond my pay grade.

    Cons

    There was a constant need to go above and beyond, because there was so much lacking. If you didn't do 200 percent, nothing was getting done.

    Advice to Management

    Very glad the ABI/PSRB element was removed from Mentor Oregon in Portland, the management was atrocious and supported the propogation of slacker mentality with under payed, under appreciated performance from those who actually cared.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Do not want to say."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The MENTOR Network full-time

    Pros

    It's extremely flexible. Also, I love the people I work with.

    Cons

    My god, so many. I hate saying this, but it's true. We just found out we still won't be getting raises, and it sucks, The workloads have increased dramatically in the last year and we still don't get a raise. It's disgusting. When they ask us about how they can deal with the turnover, I immediately say "give people raises and offer them more money" but they literally refuse. They will offer a $300 bonus to people who recommend someone who stays employed for over 120 days, but they won't offer raises to their current employees. The only reason I stay is because of my current team members. Everyone is really wonderful and giving. I hate the company though. I'm sort of ashamed of it. The bottom line is, they need to give people better benefits and better pay, but they simply don't respect their staff enough to do so. The people at the top just get rich while keeping everyone at the bottom in poverty. (It's a for-profit company).

    Advice to Management

    I have soooooooo many things to say, but I will only say a few. Ya'll need to give raises. Stop acting like you can't. You can. Make it happen or continue to have a terrible turnover. Also, give better benefits. Until this happens this company will always have a bad reputation. And you deserve it. Having a good reputation requires good compensation and benefits.

    The MENTOR Network Response

    Jun 16, 2017 – Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We’re happy that you have such a positive relationship with your team members, and we regret that you have formed a negative perception of our... More

  8. "Getting paid to work with your friends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Program Director in Bridgeport, WV
    Current Employee - Program Director in Bridgeport, WV

    I have been working at The MENTOR Network full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Rewarding work. Flexible schedule. Understanding management who aim to please. Opportunities for advancement. Work environment that fosters opportunities to be creative, independent, and add to your personal growth. You aren't just body in a work station. Your work REALLY MATTERS!

    Cons

    It's hard to maintain the balance of working with people you see as friends/loved ones while following all of the guidelines/practices needed to supply services to them. Example: you want to be able to tell everyone you know how great it was to help someone achieve their goals but you have to censor how you say it to maintain their privacy. But the sense of accomplishment makes it all worth it!

    The MENTOR Network Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our goal is to create a personally and professionally rewarding experience for each of our employees, and we’re happy to hear that you’ve had... More


  9. "Great PLace to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at The MENTOR Network (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work and flexible

    Cons

    Not enough for salary, can be over whelmed by work load

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    The MENTOR Network Response

    Jun 15, 2017 – Employee Experience Team

    We appreciate your feedback, and we’re happy that your experience here has been a positive one. We understand that jobs in the human services industry are demanding as much as they are rewarding. We... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Program Coordinator point of view"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Pittsburgh, PA
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The MENTOR Network full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    All the overtime you want.

    Cons

    Revolving door, management doesn't support staff, poor pay.

    Advice to Management

    Should be more involved in the day to day operations. Pay should be more for the amount of work that is done.

    The MENTOR Network Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Employee Experience Team

    We appreciate your feedback, and regret that your experience has not been positive. Staffing is a challenge across the human services industry, given the high emotional demands of human services... More


Showing 538 of 553 reviews
Reset Filters