KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

The Mark Travel Corporation

Is this your company?

The Mark Travel Corporation

Add a Review

The Mark Travel Corporation Employee Reviews about "mandatory overtime"

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 161 reviews

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
The Mark Travel Corporation Chairman, President, CEO, and COO William E. La Macchia (no image)
William E. La Macchia
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Core Values are true to who the organization is(in 18 reviews)

  • "Awesome team members and managers(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Mandatory overtime which is NOT optional(in 19 reviews)

  • "Peak season is a majority of the year and requires long hours(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "mandatory overtime"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Company to work for.

      Dec 1, 2016 - Reservations - Travel Agent in Albuquerque, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great hours and if you like overtime there is plenty of it.

      Cons

      The mandatory overtime was a bit much.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Call center employee

      Jul 16, 2019 - During Travel Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overtime provided, stable full time work

      Cons

      Holidays off aren’t realistic, mandatory overtime is draining, difficult to get time off

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      ITS OKAY

      Aug 4, 2017 - Customer Care Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ONLY PRO IS WORKING FROM HOME AND TRAVEL BENEFITS .......................... THERE IS NO OTHER BENEFITS OR PROS THEN THE ONES I JUST USED

      Cons

      No help and a high turn over rate . ITS A LOT OF FAVORITISM WITHING THE COMPANY IT WAS A GIRL COMING INTO WORK WITH NAME BRAND CLOTHES HAT AND SHE NEVER GOT SPOKEN TO ABOUT IT . They Schedule mandatory overtime so you have to work that then in addition to the mandatory overtime it really does not count as overtime if there's a schedule holiday so you just pretty much working extra hours for the company before letting you work from home they would rather hire a new training class then sending the people whose been working there for years home. There is one particular person who has been working there for over 20 years and she still is a customer care specialist she has said numerous of times that she's tried to move up in the company and they have kept her at her desk which is sad . The people in accounting is very rude and the people in the air department is beyond rude you would literally call them be on hold for 30 minutes and they will turn around and ask you well did you try to do it yourself. I kid you not other than that the company is OK but my words my advice to management would be to hire a new air team and hire a new accounting team .

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Customer Support Specialist III (500 Club)

      Jun 27, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company has great hotel discounts and comps. The people are very friendly and they have good core values. They always try to make it fun by constantly having events and things. They have a great work at home program.

      Cons

      They over work you. When it's busy season, which is most of the year, it's back-to-back calls and mandatory overtime. You have to work 9, 10, 11, and 12 hour shifts sometimes if you want to work only 5 days a week. The 500 club travel agents are very demanding, resistant, and stubborn. It's very mentally draining. The pay is unsatisfactory for the amount of stress you go through. Work/life balance is below average when mandatory overtime is in play. There aren't many positions you can move up to in Orlando.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      NEVER IN MY LIFE WILL I PUNISH MYSELF THIS WAY AGAIN

      May 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are guaranteed to work your life away.

      Cons

      Mandatory overtime. There were some months Ill work 2 weeks straight because due to being a mother and have kids to pick up by a certain time did not allow me to work late during the week, therefore i had to build my overtime on my off days which led no days off until I became sick in the hospital. But nobody is appreciated for giving up their life. And if selling a weakness, do not apply for the call center, your sales will determine your employment. Ive gotten coaching for my sales for one month. Which I brought in 38k and still was considered in the low 10% of your peers. Hey when you came into the company as a Customer Care rep and not a salesperson and work among people whose been there for 20 years, most likely you will be at the bottom. No opportunity for growth. Being aware of my sales weaknesses, I tried posting out of the department several times, but when you have several occurances, for sales, you cant move around. THIS COMPANY IS BY FAR THE WORST COMPANY I'VE EVER WORKED FOR IN MY LIFE. I'VE NEVER FELT TO THE POINT I WANTED TO SHOOT MYSELF IN THE HEAD IN THE PARKING LOT!! Only certain people can move around like a butterfly in that company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      The Mark Travel Corporation Response

      SVP and Corporate Counsel

      It's not often I will be able to know exactly who writes individual reviews but when one comes almost immediately after being terminated for poor performance, repeating statements about selling, this person may as well have signed it. I won't embarrass this person by helping to identify but I have to address one thing in particular. The comment about slavery is disgusting. Nodding to discrimination is bad enough to throw out casually but slavery?? Maybe this person could stand to take a breath and focus on taking personal responsibility and finding the right path for his/her success and wellbeing instead of lashing out on a company that went out of our way to accommodate this individual. I personally met with this person a number of times and checked in frequently to support shadowing other departments, working on areas we might provide further training, and encouragement. We went above and beyond when there were unanticipated events/issues that had to be accommodated. This person did not in all of the discussions with me and others on HR, talk about working to a point of hospitalization. Which this person knows full well how we accommodate medical issues. As well, it was discussed frequently with this person that performance was an issue and we queried how we could assist. What response? "I'm just not good at selling." Yes, it's true qualifying for moving into another role does require that there are no disciplinary occurrences. But this person did not make an effort to work with us on what it took to go into a new position. The certain people who can move into new positions do the work and there are far, far more people who have moved roles and departments than who want but have not been able to. You accept a position knowing what mandatory overtime is. Yes, it can be 5 hours of overtime per week and even more at the busiest time. But it's not a surprise and we do reinforce that this is part of the role which isn't for everyone. I'm puzzled as to what people think when they voluntarily accept a position knowing this. To the person who wrote this, I'm disappointed that you can't see the situation for what it really is and appreciate how we tried to help you. But maybe in time you will. In any event, I hope you can find some peace of mind and a place you feel you can be more successful. Good luck to you, Jennifer La Macchia

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Terrible company to work for.

      Jan 8, 2013 - Customer Care Representative in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a job. Better than nothing I guess.

      Cons

      Low pay wages, bad working hours constantly change without propper notice, too much mandatory overtime when they need you but they cut your hours when they don' need you. The so called medical insurance they offer is a joke! with very high unreasonable deductibles. The Supervisors or Team leads are hired from outside and have no knowledge of the product and all they do is monitor your calls and critisize your calls and you get penalized for this. No travel discounts or benefits anymore at all! They try to appease employees by the ocasional pot luck or handing out candy bars and other worthless treats! They do not care about their employees at all. Management has all holidays off but call center workers have to work all the overtime and bad hours.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      The Mark Travel Corporation Response

      Human Resources

      Hello, We're sorry to hear about your frustrations, but do want to address them. Being in the travel industry, our call volume is always changing so we ask great flexibility of our Customer Care team. We understand you are concerned about benefits, but feel they are competitive, as premiums have not increased for five years. Our benefits team would be happy to review your options and get you on the plan most suitable for your needs. We are sorry you are not aware of the travel benefits or discounts we have - they can all found on our internal system. We do care about our team members and want them to be satisfied at work. Please do not hesitate to bring your concerns to the Orlando human resources manager so we can address them more appropriately.

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good company!

      Aug 1, 2016 - Customer Care Specialist in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company and people! Supervisors very supportive! Worked as a customer care specialist in a call center mostly helping travel agents and direct customers book or modify reservations. Loved visits from vendors and their free meals as well as complimentary or discounted stay at certain hotels.

      Cons

      Mandatory overtime of 6hours weekly! You can't just clock out when you are supposed to be done, until you are done with the call which sometimes can be 30 minutes or more passed your off time.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      very satisfied

      Nov 5, 2016 - Customer Care Specialist III in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      About 2 years ago I wrote a review on glass door. I was surprised at how quickly my 'con' was addressed. I received a notification that Mark Travel corp. had responded to my review. I felt that employees where not appreciated as much as they should be and that there was not the best fitting managers in my office. As a whole department, we have received much more appreciation and more opportunities to participate in company events such as group walks, and exercising times. I am much happier with my position now and appreciate Mark Travel more than ever. I have had many job opportunities in the past year and have turned them all down to stay with this company. I recommend it to everyone I know who I feel would fit the needs of our company.

      Cons

      The only downside to this position of CST in Milwaukee is that mandatory overtime takes up most of the year and this makes it difficult to have other commitments besides working. The only recommendation I can think of to resolve this is to hire more employees. However, I can see the effort put into new hire classes and the many attempts to offer only voluntary overtime. It is just a very busy and high demand field right now. -- this continues to surprise me with how many issues there have been lately. ( Zika, Hurricanes, fear of terrorist attacks abroad, and media coverage of other negative issues in our high travel areas such as Mexico.)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      The Mark Travel Corporation Response

      SVP-Human Resources and Corporate Counsel

      Hello and thank you for making the time to write a follow up review. I am heartened that you feel that your concern was addressed. I hope you still feel that way. I'm only sorry that it's taken me so very long to thank you. It's so important for our team to speak up and ensure their voices are heard. While I would prefer that this takes place by coming to talk to the team in HR where we can have a conversation as opposed to posting back and forth on Glassdoor, however we are alerted to areas we can improve, we'll take it! I've said in previous replies, but I'll say it again, I can't argue against the statement about mandatory overtime. It's the downside of us being so busy and growing the business. While being busy can be a good problem to have, we have to balance what that means for the well being of our team. You are 100% accurate that hiring more people is one of the big areas to help this. But it's often not enough. We are focusing on ways to help aid in the need for so much mandatory overtime and other ways to be more efficient and help our team members feel they can do their best without overburdening them. I can't tell you how much we appreciate the work of CST. Our team is industry leading and makes customers vacation dreams a reality. I strongly encourage you and others on the team to share your concerns and your ideas for how we can improve. I take seriously your advice about internal promotions. We are proud of all the many team members who have advanced throughout the company. I also believe promoting from within makes the company better as a whole. Your feedback is truly appreciated and I thank you again. Please don't hesitate to reach me directly should you wish to talk further. I love hearing from the team! Best, Jennifer La Macchia

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      CCS

      Apr 28, 2017 - Former Employee in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great supervisors and guaranteed hours

      Cons

      Mandatory overtime Change in schedule times every week Sometimes not enough help from cst

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work for

      Jan 8, 2015 - Customer Care Specialist in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive pay, benefits are affordable, the work is fun and interesting.

      Cons

      Mandatory overtime: would prefer they seek volunteers first then give mandatory overtime if need is not met. Makes for a very long day when you have to work overtime hours but the call volume is low and once you have it you can't get rid of it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The Mark Travel Corporation Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on working at TMTC! We are glad you find your work on the Customer Care team both fun and interesting and hope that continues. We have shared this review with our Customer Care leadership so they are aware of your concerns around overtime and SharePoint, but encourage you to bring these issues to your leader as well. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

    Popular Careers with The Mark Travel Corporation Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at The Mark Travel Corporation? Share Your Experiences

    The Mark Travel Corporation logo
    or