The Mark Travel Corporation "team members" Reviews | Glassdoor

The Mark Travel Corporation Employee Reviews about "team members"

Updated Nov 16, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
The Mark Travel Corporation Chairman, President, CEO, and COO William E. La Macchia (no image)
William E. La Macchia
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Core Values are true to who the organization is(in 18 reviews)

  • "Travel discounts - great people(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "team members"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Travel Agency Engagement in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation

    Pros

    TMTC treats their interns (and all employees) VERY well. Not only do they pay a livable wage to college students living in a costly city, but they offer tons of organized workshops and seminars about financial wellness, interviewing, and personal growth, so that an intern not only learns through the experience brought on by their position, but also to learn how to "adult" after college. In my first quarter at TMTC, I have learned multiple computer programs relevant to my field, written email copy, collaborated with team members on major projects, and established strong working friendships within the office. Everyone I have met--both within my team and in other departments--has been incredibly welcoming, helpful, and genuinely wants to help me grow. I don't get "busy work" here like other internships may offer--I'm pushed out of my comfort zone daily, and have learned so much in such a short time. Possibly the best part of this whole thing is that the trajectory for interns is awesome here. My boss started as an intern, and less than five years later, she's managing a department. I started as a junior with 1.5 years of school left, and they've told me I can stay through graduation, and are even talking about keeping me after that. Getting hired after graduation is very common for interns here--which is so comforting as you approach your final years of school. I seriously couldn't be more satisfied and would highly recommend other students to intern here.

    Cons

    The only thing that may have deterred me from this job was the initial hiring process. I waited about 8 weeks between the initial phone interview and the job offer. This was pretty stressful, as I really wanted the job and needed to find one before the next school year began, so I felt pressure as I began running out of time. That being said, HR kept me in the loop through that entire 8 weeks--they answered any questions I had via email, and kept me updated throughout the interview rounds, background checks, and that they were preparing to make an offer. Although this process took time, it's important to remember that HR here is constantly active, always hosting activities and hiring quite frequently, so it's easy to understand why they took awhile.

    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-11-16

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    December 14, 2017Manager Corporate Communications

    Hi there! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this thoughtful review. I’m so happy to hear that you are enjoying your internship & are learning a lot. We thrive to create learning opportunities at every turn for interns on at LME. Our hiring process does tend to be longer only to ensure we have the right person in the right seat, so thank you for being understanding of that. We always want to make sure we find the right fit not only for LME, but for the person as well. Sounds like we found that in you – the right person (you) for the right seat (Travel Agency Engagement intern.) Thanks again for your review! – Sara, VP – Travel Agency Strategy

    Continue reading
  2. "Group Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Sales Representative in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome team members and managers. Organization of the department is decent. Great travel benefits/opportunities. Managers usually always have their employees backs. Only on the incoming line for a couple of hours a day, allowing you to get quotes out and work done by the end of the day.

    Cons

    Old office, pay is very low for how much work and stress involved in planning the group vacations with travel agents. Software is older, because they have their own technology company, sometimes it takes forever to get quoting done and out to agents in a timely manner.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-09-04

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    September 20, 2017Manager Corporate Communications

    I greatly appreciate you taking time to provide feedback on your experience working in groups at Mark Travel. We use all feedback as a great opportunity to learn from our team member’s experiences to help continue to grow and evolve the department. Thank you for the kind words on the leadership team. As an organization, we are lucky to have a fine team of leaders that aren’t afraid to get their hands dirty and do what is necessary to support the team. The comment I enjoyed most was on your experience with the other team members. I consider myself very lucky to be able to work with such an outstanding and hardworking team each and every day. As a department we have grown a lot over the past few years and it is the energy and passion of the team that has been the biggest driver of that growth. In terms of the items you have listed as cons, again I appreciate you being honest with your feedback because this is how we are going to continue to grow. The technology piece is something we have and continue to invest heavily in and have made some tremendous strides over the past couple of years. We have many team members within groups that have commented on how much better the technology has gotten which in turn has allowed them to be much more efficient with their daily tasks. While a lot of progress has been made, there is still more to come and what gives me great confidence is the organization’s commitment to groups and their willingness to continue to invest in the team and technology we are using. In addition, we have received a lot of feedback recently from travel agents that are using our new group booking platform and they have been commenting about the ease of use and ability to be much more productive in booking groups. Travel agents have stated we are far and away ahead of our competition when it comes to group technology. With all that being said, this is something we will continue to invest in and I am really excited about what the future holds for our technology both for our team and for the marketplace. Your comments about pay is something we look at closely as an organization and are often evaluating and adjusting pay scales to ensure we are compensating team members appropriately for the tasks they are performing. Discussion of pay can be a difficult one, but I can say that I wouldn’t have just celebrated my 15th anniversary with the company if I felt the organization wasn’t fair with my compensation or more importantly my team’s compensation. My greatest priority as a leader in groups is centered around the team and their wellness. Ensuring the team is being compensated fairly is certainly an important aspect of that. One other point to make in regards to pay is centered around something I am very passionate about and that is the opportunity for continued advancement within the organization. There certainly is great opportunity to grow within the group team to achieve a higher level role and subsequently higher pay. In addition to this, with Mark Travel being such a large organization, there is also great opportunity to continue to grow your career in other departments as well. Over the years, we have had numerous team members be promoted from within groups and also have had team members take roles outside of the group team to further advance their career. Our leadership team is always very supportive in discussing with the team on the different opportunities both within and outside of the team in regards to future professional growth. As I started out, the only way we are going to continue to grow is to listen to those that are most important, our great team of people. I do hope your new endeavors are going well and appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. All the best, Mike E – Director of Groups

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "A very different place - and not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people here are good people. They pull together and support each other.

    Cons

    Where do I start? The HR department runs the place and they are rude and abusive. They are not open to feedback and see any question as a challenge. People are not encouraged to challenge the status quo, and asking a question can ruin your career. The senior management team is no better. There is no other work for them than "abusive." The call center management is dictatorial. No one cares what the team members say, and their work life is not valued.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-09-02

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    September 4, 2017SVP and Corporate Counsel

    I regret that you have found the HR department to be such an obstacle to you doing your job or improving the environment for you and your team. It's also regretful that you find the management of the call center (which as a supervisor, you are a member of) to be just as much an obstacle. I don't know what actions you've taken or attempted to take in order to change things. But I would love to have an example of asking a question ruining anyone's career. If there's any problem that the company has, it's usually quite the opposite and team members not asking questions. I know what I write next is likely going to irritate you and perhaps others that may feel the same way you do, but personally, I'm embarrassed that the company has someone in such an important role leading people in our call center with your kind of attitude. Perhaps we aren't the right place for you. Perhaps you've given all you can and you don't feel we'll ever change. How can you come to work and feel good about your job and the company you represent if we truly are abusive and as terrible as you write? You feel what you feel and your perspective is reality, so I'm not here to change your mind. But I would be irresponsible and shirking my duties if I allowed someone in a leadership position to infect the workplace and the team with this kind of attitude. Everyone suffers. For your own well being, it's probably time for a change. Happy to discuss further -Jennifer La Macchia-

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Work hard and move up!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Family Owned - Open positions = advancement opportunities - Yearly raises for hard working team members. If you don't work hard then difficult to expect a merit increase. -Travel opportunities - Strong technology = stability in the marketplace - Acquired new company = growing - 401K match - Leadership gives you the tools you need. It is up to you to use them effectively - Expectations of position are very fair. I don't feel micromanaged but I am held accountable for quarterly goals/projects. - Vacation time is off the charts. But more importantly, Mark Travel encourages you to use it! Vacation is accrued based on time with the company. -Salary is competitive with the market -Wellness is an important and motivated core value. I am always encouraged to participate in different activities to promote my well being. The Biggest pro is that I love what I do. I have the opportunity to talk about travel all day long with our travel agent partners and co-workers.

    Cons

    - Turn around time on new hires is longer than expected. Mark Travel does thorough background checks then can take time to find the ideal candidate. -Health insurance certainly isn't the worst or most expensive but could improve in a couple areas.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-07-17
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Best Company I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The chain of management in my team is awesome, all the way to the top. There's so much communication, dedication, support, and appreciation. No one is ever too busy (yes, everyone's busy) to take time to answer questions, have a teachable moment, address an issue, or share gratitude. As one who thrives in a positive environment, The Mark Travel Corporation (TMTC) is my place. My opinion, my voice, my work, and my wellness is valued. We have so many wonderful programs around team member wellness that I look forward to and actively participate in. Management supports me in my innovations and my desire for growth. If you walk into TMTC with a positive attitude, ready for engagement, and can embrace change, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised at the outcome. Our core values aren't just words. They're the directions we live by. Be well, work well, live well.

    Cons

    The company expects a lot from team members? I love staying engaged and progressive at work so I guess that's an upside for me, but I could see where it might be too much for others. If you want to work for the best, you must perform at your best.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-05-26
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Adaptability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support/500 Club 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual atmosphere, awesome team members and great support of each other, guaranteed hours anf overtime not bad either, even mandatory of 6 hours or so, which can change depending on the volume, you still have the option of how to getting it done best way for you.

    Cons

    Not effort support from management whether you are in the center or work at home (WAHA), which is very much lacking. I have transitioned from the center to home after little more than a year, so knowledge of what I speak. In the center management is often quick to brush you aside, you are having to be walking around the office seeking assistance, more so an issue if on a call that requires immediate attention, often times all management staff is not on the floor at one time, guess having meetings, thus leaving the floor without support. The supervisors are more about micromanaging, and telling you what you did or doing incorrectly. WAHA is obviously growing and there very little support. Having to call supervisors constantly who is hardly at their desk is quite annoying. There are also times at their desk, when they see who is calling and refuse to answer, or will eventually pickup after few attempts by the agent. I have personally heard one supervisor told another, not to answer a particular agent, as if she was "blacklisted", very unprofessional. Its good benefit to be able to work at home, but TMTC need to make it a priority in been developed and support properly. A lot of the new hire training classes I see now are for WAHA which entails alot of frontline and support agents, so a good support team should be in place, not just supervisors. I have work at home experience prior to TMTC, and this really needs to be improved upon.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-07-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation

    Pros

    The Core Values are true to who the organization is Great opportunities for personal advancement The people - outstanding people Exciting industry Fun work environment

    Cons

    Constantly really busy A lot is expected of team members

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2017-05-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "500 Customer Support Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Team 500 Club in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I joined the company a little less than a year and half ago with no travel background at all. I'm so grateful to have a wonderful team of trainers, supervisors, managers, and co workers that have always offered me guidance and support in each of my roles. In the short time that I've been with company I've really established a strong sense of pride in our end to end vision and what our customers mean to us. The company is very wellness oriented and offers a number of great resources to its employees year round. We have our own Wellness Ambassador that everyone knows by name. We have wellness action day once a year which is the company's way to allow us to focus on our wellness and show their appreciation for the work we do. We have an annual Benefits Enrollment meeting in which our HR department takes the time to sit down with every employee to educate them. I think one of the company's biggest strengths is Management. The group of supervisors and managers in Milwaukee our all so hard working and dedicated, they never shy away from helping no matter what the issue may be. They set the bar for customer service which has allowed me to learn and grow as team member within LME.

    Cons

    Peak season is a majority of the year and requires long hours. However, that was made clear during the interview process. There is flexibility with your extra hours so you have the option to manage your schedule during peak season.

    The Mark Travel Corporation2016-11-11

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    February 22, 2017SVP-Human Resources and Corporate Counsel

    Hi and thank you for your feedback. I apologize that I've been so far behind on my replies. I am happy to hear that you feel so supported here at LME. I am grateful that you've shared this as I truly believe that is what we are about as a company. I said down in another reply, being so busy is a good problem to have but it can make things very difficult for our team members. We can always improve how we operate and it's important for our team's voices to be heard. We are looking into ways how we can operate more efficiently, with more flexibility for our team members without sacrificing the industry-leading customer service we provide to our customers and travel agents. What we need more of to do this is to hear from our team directly. Suggestions, concerns, ideas - we need them. Sometimes our team members think that nothing will come of it, but we can point to many areas we've improved because our team members made an effort to voice their concerns and ideas. We can only improve when we know what the issues are. Keep talking to us and we hope that you continue to feel the same way you did at the time you wrote this! All my best, Jennifer La Macchia

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "YOU should be here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Mark Travel Corporation

    Pros

    I've been with the company many years now, and have seen firsthand many instances of how much the owners care about the team members and the company itself. I've never seen a company so invested in the core values - it makes me proud to say I'm a team member. From the benefits, to the vacation plan (which, compared to other Milwaukee companies, is very generous), to the wellness program - team members mean a lot to the company. I can also tell you that I'm not the only one who feels this way. For each person who has negative things to say about the company, there are 10 more who feel the opposite. We have such longevity and knowledge throughout the teams and you can see the passion for the products we sell and for the customer. We try to treat each other like family here - we may not always agree on things, but we all care about each other.

    Cons

    Teams require a lot from their team members and they hold their team members accountable. Although we have fun, we still expect a high quality of work from everyone. We have our own operating system which can take some adaptability (but is useful once you get using it). Keep in mind none of these are really negatives, but you have to be willing to get your hands dirty and do the work.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2016-08-29

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    October 3, 2016SVP-Human Resources and Corporate Counsel

    Wow thank you! I hope everyone both prospective, current and past team members take the opportunity to read this. You are right, it is a family around here - quite literally - but it's not just the La Macchias who treat the company as if it's their own, that's true for every one of our dedicated team members. The pride in the company and one's work differentiates us not only from others in travel industry but from other companies in the regions where we operate. It's because of our team and a shared vision that we have been consistently voted one of the top companies in Wisconsin. I'm grateful for your review, I hope that you will continue to share your feedback - the good or the bad - with us. All the best, Jennifer La Macchia

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Milwaukee, WI
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Mark Travel Corporation for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great, dedicated co-workers, fun company-wide activities, and the opportunity to make people's dreams come true! Bill Sr. is a wonderful man and an inspirational leader.

    Cons

    Depending on what department you are in, flexibility can be lacking. A bit of favoritism is shown in terms of which team members are allowed to come back to work part time after the birth of a child and which are asked to come back full time or not at all.

    Continue reading
    The Mark Travel Corporation2015-06-12

    The Mark Travel Corporation Response

    June 13, 2015VP-Human Resources and Corporate Counsel

    Hello and thank you for your very thoughtful feedback. It is always nice to hear appreciation for the dedicated team members. We couldn't agree more. I am very happy to hear about making our customer's dreams come true. That is the heart of the Live End-to-End core value of LME. I am sorry to hear your perspective regarding part-time arrangements. I can assure you that favoritism in no way plays a role in assessing part time roles. However, to provide some insight, given the workload and demands of the business, we do not have many roles that are suited for part time schedules. Of course, if a team member requires a flexible or part-time schedule due to a qualified medical or related issue, we engage in the interactive process. As well, whenever a team member requests a flexible work schedules for any reason, we take such request seriously and will go through a thorough assessment with the team member and his or her leader to determine whether (a) the role can be performed adequately on a part-time basis, (b) whether the business can support such a limited/alternative schedule and (c) whether this would create any hardship or burden on the other members of the team. We do this in order to, as you very wisely addressed in your advice, to retain the expertise of the dedicated staff as well as to avoid replacing valuable team members. But you have to understand that not every role can be adequately performed on a part-time basis. I cannot emphasize strongly enough that favoritism plays absolutely no role in this. The decision to allow a part-time schedule is not arbitrarily made by one person but rather it is made by a team of individuals after careful consideration. I do not know why you are no longer employed by the company, but I would be happy to discuss any concerns you may have regarding this or any issue. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and do not hesitate to contact me directly at any time. Jennifer La Macchia

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 13 reviews