The McIntyre Group Recruiter Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Recruiter

The McIntyre Group Recruiter Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The McIntyre Group President Melissa Mongillo (no image)
Melissa Mongillo
2 Ratings
  1. "Better than any job I've had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The McIntyre Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, small group of talented people, great onboarding process, clear understanding of goals, plenty of resources, ability to WFH when needed, and more. You can tell that people enjoy being here. The personalities and overall vibe is a great environment and not only makes it welcoming for new employees, but also makes people want to stay here for the long term.

    Cons

    The office is morning from Norwalk to Shelton which could pose as a problem for people in the Fairfield County area in terms of commute.

    The McIntyre Group2019-08-27
  2. "Overall good quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The McIntyre Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, some very experienced with recruiting who could share best practices/tips in the field. Casual attire for the most part and exposure to many different industries. Fast-paced environment that allows you to learn multi-faceted approaches quickly. Great way to gain exposure to recruiting, different industries, and varying levels of roles to fill. Family-oriented working environment can make it a lot of fun.

    Cons

    I worked there for a little over a year and watched a lot of people let go from the company, increasing the stress of this environment on top of the new metrics to hit starting in the new year... there was never a lot of comfort coming from management regarding your role if you hadn't been one of the recruiters to get let go. It seems there's just a bit of unorganized thoughts about where the company is going, which is unfortunate because there are some fantastic recruiters there. On top of all of this, the base salary is extremely low putting a ton of pressure on your ability to make placements to make up for it in commission. After 1 year of employment, they do not do a performance review or discuss salary increases, in fact they told multiple associates that it won't even be in the cards until the following year. It's no surprise to me that turnover is high and employees are frustrated when they're working around the clock to make up for compensation and are not seeing the numbers they anticipate. They constantly mention that work life balance is an important factor for their employees to have, but the reality of it is that recruiting at an agency doesn't stop because your money and commission depend on it. It is not unrealistic for you to be taking calls or meeting with candidates outside of regular work hours, but do not expect to be compensated or recognized for it.

    Continue reading
    The McIntyre Group2019-09-12
  3. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The McIntyre Group full-time

    Pros

    Everyone who works for McIntyre is phenomenal. The social aspect of the office is like a family, and everyone is legitimately good people. While fun is had, the work gets done as well.

    Cons

    Pay and commission structure can be better.

    The McIntyre Group2018-06-19
  4. "New/Old Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiting Manager in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The McIntyre Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A Great Company to work for and with. The people, the culture and the reputation are great! The employees really make the company exciting to working with. Everyone is positive, full of energy, helpful (especially with internal systems) and the teams work very well together. I am comfortable asking any of my colleges for material or company introductions into target clients. They offer an amazing office environment with good systems, training and more food then you can imagine. A full gym is open to employees 24/7 and the company has a great commission plan and additional bonus incentives. I have been in the Staffing/Recruiting industry for 20+ years and have worked with only 3 companies. This is a first rate management team who truly values their employees and wants them to excel. If you can build strong business relationships, can sell and recruit you can succeed here.

    Cons

    Too much food & snacks are available all day.

    Continue reading
    The McIntyre Group2017-03-31
  5. Helpful (3)

    ""You have to trust us...""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Manager in Norwalk, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The McIntyre Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free coffee and plesant environment.

    Cons

    Worked for multiple years without a formal comp plan. Always told that I just had to trust and if I did my job the money would come. Unfair advantages given to senior staff, but very hard to make six figures here no matter how hard you work. Lots of smoke and mirrors.

    Continue reading
    The McIntyre Group2015-06-02

    The McIntyre Group Response

    June 24, 2015President & Founder

    Thank you for your recent feedback. The McIntyre Group listens to feedback, both negative and positive and will take each of these comments under consideration as areas to improve upon in the future.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Potential applicant hired as recruiter."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Norwalk, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The McIntyre Group full-time

    Pros

    There would be none except to say the put on a good show during the interview and act like the CEO is some celebrity.

    Cons

    They are in it for themselves. What a waste of time.

    Continue reading
    The McIntyre Group2015-05-26

    The McIntyre Group Response

    June 24, 2015President & Founder

    Thank you for your recent feedback. We do appreciate the time you took to review us. We do read these so we can take each of these comments, bad or good, under consideration as areas we can improve the company.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (9)

    "working at the McIntyre Group is like being held in after school detention....toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Norwalk, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The McIntyre Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    they have a gym for employees...

    Cons

    they underpay their employees, they pay WAY below industry standards as far as percentages for placements, etc....while insisting the employees work ridiculously long hours including regular "late nights".

    Continue reading
    The McIntyre Group2014-10-24

    The McIntyre Group Response

    March 31, 2015President & Founder

    Thank you for your recent feedback. The McIntyre Group prides itself on listening to feedback both negative and positive and will take each of these comments under consideration as areas to improve upon in the future.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews