The McIntyre Group Reviews | Glassdoor

The McIntyre Group Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The McIntyre Group President Melissa Mongillo (no image)
Melissa Mongillo
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and wonderful experience(in 4 reviews)

  • "Moreover, the recruiter always finds me a great company to work for(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "no cons I had absolute great experience from day one(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Better than any job I've had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The McIntyre Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, small group of talented people, great onboarding process, clear understanding of goals, plenty of resources, ability to WFH when needed, and more. You can tell that people enjoy being here. The personalities and overall vibe is a great environment and not only makes it welcoming for new employees, but also makes people want to stay here for the long term.

    Cons

    The office is morning from Norwalk to Shelton which could pose as a problem for people in the Fairfield County area in terms of commute.

    The McIntyre Group2019-08-27
  2. "Overall good quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The McIntyre Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, some very experienced with recruiting who could share best practices/tips in the field. Casual attire for the most part and exposure to many different industries. Fast-paced environment that allows you to learn multi-faceted approaches quickly. Great way to gain exposure to recruiting, different industries, and varying levels of roles to fill. Family-oriented working environment can make it a lot of fun.

    Cons

    I worked there for a little over a year and watched a lot of people let go from the company, increasing the stress of this environment on top of the new metrics to hit starting in the new year... there was never a lot of comfort coming from management regarding your role if you hadn't been one of the recruiters to get let go. It seems there's just a bit of unorganized thoughts about where the company is going, which is unfortunate because there are some fantastic recruiters there. On top of all of this, the base salary is extremely low putting a ton of pressure on your ability to make placements to make up for it in commission. After 1 year of employment, they do not do a performance review or discuss salary increases, in fact they told multiple associates that it won't even be in the cards until the following year. It's no surprise to me that turnover is high and employees are frustrated when they're working around the clock to make up for compensation and are not seeing the numbers they anticipate. They constantly mention that work life balance is an important factor for their employees to have, but the reality of it is that recruiting at an agency doesn't stop because your money and commission depend on it. It is not unrealistic for you to be taking calls or meeting with candidates outside of regular work hours, but do not expect to be compensated or recognized for it.

    Continue reading
    The McIntyre Group2019-09-12
  3. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The McIntyre Group part-time

    Pros

    Great leadership and company direction

    Cons

    Definitely on the smaller side if you are looking for a big company feel this isnt it

    Continue reading
    The McIntyre Group2018-12-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sourcing Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The McIntyre Group full-time

    Pros

    The best place to work. They provide constant love and support in every aspect. The team cohesion is like no other. I am truly excited to come to work every day because I get to work with the most amazing group of people who truly want to see you be successful. The McIntyre Group is a F A M I L Y, not just employees working together.

    Cons

    Not A Single One. Best Place to Work.

    Continue reading
    The McIntyre Group2018-06-19
  5. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The McIntyre Group full-time

    Pros

    Everyone who works for McIntyre is phenomenal. The social aspect of the office is like a family, and everyone is legitimately good people. While fun is had, the work gets done as well.

    Cons

    Pay and commission structure can be better.

    The McIntyre Group2018-06-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Top Staffing Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The McIntyre Group full-time

    Pros

    Recent change in senior management has been positive. There is tremendous respect for work life balance, and overall respect for employees, which was sorely lacking under previous leadership. Employees are supported both professionally and personally. As well McIntyre is a strong brand name with a solid track record in Fairfield County and surrounding areas.

    Cons

    Wish I could leave this section blank.

    The McIntyre Group2018-04-17
  7. "Sourcing Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sourcing Specialist in Independence, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The McIntyre Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In a short time frame of five months, I have been able to grow so much professionally with this company. Coming from the restaurant industry, they still had the confidence in me and valued my skills allowing me to use them in multiple aspects to help the company and people here. They saw my potential and helped me reach for the stars! I am and will always be grateful for this company and the people here.

    Cons

    Since headquarters are in CT, it's been hard to ensure we are all on the same page and properly prepared for our daily duties, but you would have that at any big company. The management team still ensured we had direction, guidance, and process in our work.

    Continue reading
    The McIntyre Group2018-03-05
  8. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The McIntyre Group full-time

    Pros

    The office has a really cool atmosphere. The people are nice I enjoy coming into work every morning

    Cons

    Better options for PTO.

    The McIntyre Group2018-02-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not the place you want to start, continue or end your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The McIntyre Group

    Pros

    In terms of the relationships internally, there are some great people there. They are fun colleagues and the main reason I enjoyed going to work. The company used to put effort into the "fun activities", though they are steadily decreasing every year. Also, had a crash course in recruiting - it was VERY basic knowledge to move into my next role.

    Cons

    - No structure or training, you're essentially set up to fail unless you have the type of personality where you will force and nag people to train and develop you. - High turnover, which is hidden on Glassdoor and other websites by forcing new employees that have been there less than 6 months to create reviews. They haven't been there long enough to realize what the environment is really like, accounting for a 4.2 rating on Glassdoor. - Company was sold, so they are losing the family feel. They hire and fire by metrics and how much money you make them - which is fine, just don't sell it like that's not the way it is. You're exactly the same as every other staffing agency out there. - Terrible compensation vs. how much money they make off fees. - They reward the employees that are toxic for the environment but make them tons of money. One group in particular there is terrible for the culture but highly prized because of their billings. - Every director has a different opinion on the business and there is a ton of internal fighting going on. - They don't know how to hire (leading to terrible retention and turnover). They will hire against the advice and feedback of current employees because they are desperate. We had several people last less than one week. - The company is not doing well financially right now and they are not transparent about any of the decisions they make. They will suddenly change commission structures as well as internal recruiting rules and policies. Half the time this doesn't work or they upset the whole company and have to reverse what they've implemented. Basically, they sell you a dream when it's really a nightmare. I worked there for 6+ years and can tell you, it's not the place you want to work.

    Continue reading
    The McIntyre Group2017-10-02

    The McIntyre Group Response

    October 12, 2017President & Founder

    The McIntyre management team thanks you for sending this review. We agree that we have areas that we need to continue to work on and will take everything that you mentioned into consideration for future change and development. One of the areas we pride ourselves on the most is building bridges and growing people to then move on and take on an elevated opportunity elsewhere. Clearly the six years that you spent at McIntyre proved valuable as you now continue to expand and grow in your new role. Thank you again for giving us your open and honest opinions about Mcintyre. We value these reviews and will make a continued effort to improve. We wish you much success in your new endeavor.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Recruiting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The McIntyre Group full-time

    Pros

    Bagel Fridays, friendly atmosphere at surface level

    Cons

    Micromanagement; what you're told in the interview process is nothing like it actually is. Every director has a different opinion on the culture of the business, people come and go rapidly, and there is a facade of happiness to everyone on the outside looking in when everyone on the inside is panicking because the business was sold

    The McIntyre Group2017-07-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 47 reviews