The Melting Pot Bartender Reviews | Glassdoor

The Melting Pot Bartender Reviews

Updated May 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Melting Pot CEO Bob Johnston
Bob Johnston
4 Ratings
  1. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible schedule, great management, clear vision, mission, and principles.

    Cons

    compensation based on tips, no always stable income.

    The Melting Pot2019-05-24
  2. "Atrocious Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not many.. did not make money like an upscale restaurant should.

    Cons

    Terrible management that fostered an unhealthy work environment. Everyone seemed miserable at all times. They also overstaff so it's tough to make as much as you'd think.

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites. Your favorites are the reason you can't keep any servers or employees in general that a worth a crap.

    The Melting Pot2018-09-24
  3. "Server/Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Whippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management, opportunities to learn bar tending and managing. 50% off of food and opportunities to earn free money to eat there with.

    Cons

    Ridiculous amounts of side work, long hours, inconsistent tips

    Advice to Management

    Hire cleaning crews to decrease amounts of side work required of servers

    The Melting Pot2017-09-25
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Whippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time

    Pros

    Very intense training before they actually put you on the floor to work.

    Cons

    Sometimes co-workers can be challenging especially during dinner rush.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the positive attitudes!

    The Melting Pot2017-09-02
  5. "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Louisville, CO
    Recommends

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a very family oriented working environment. Everyone gets along and there was very little drama.

    Cons

    The tips weren't very consistent depending on how busy we were.

    The Melting Pot2017-07-01
  6. "bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Savannah, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount 50% off at that and every other Melting Pot location, all employees were like a family, very nice and understanding owner, fun company party. flexible schedule

    Cons

    too much side duty for 2$ an hour --servers would stay hours after closing just finishing up with all the closing duties while other employees (bussers, food runners, hosts) would leave a lot sooner. Not to mention there would only be one busser/food runner on friday and saturday night.Manager had a bit of an ego and would pick on employees until he could fire them or they would quit. Hostesses wouldn't follow rotation...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more bussers, you will be able to keep more employees if they don't have such a horrible experience and don't let them leave unless they help close entire restaurant. the few dollars you save is not worth having an unhappy staff.

    The Melting Pot2017-01-06
  7. "Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waiter/Bartender in Addison, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will meet some of the most amazing guest.

    Cons

    Poor food handling. Worst Management. The Addison location is run so poorly, but all they care about it profit. It's a social club, not a legitimate restaurant. They promote based on who is easily controlled and brainless.

    Advice to Management

    Submit your resignations.

    The Melting Pot2017-01-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Its a serving job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money is great if you are a bartender or server. The Melting Pot is a corporate franchise, if you like structure and corporate selling.

    Cons

    The Melting Pot is a corporate franchise. Which means you have to follow very strict rules not so great for people who prefer a more relaxed waiting style and atmosphere.

    Advice to Management

    Every store is different because its a franchise. Long hours, and depending on you, sometimes a high turn over.

    The Melting Pot2016-12-08
  9. "It's good to be at a place where even a bad tip is still $20."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot

    Pros

    Great company that cares about what is happening in their stores. If you're gonna work at a restaurant then this is where you want to be. It's good to be at a place where even a bad tip is still $20. Easy money and good money compared to most restaurants. I've worked here 4 years and can definitely say this is a great place and compony to be at and work for.

    Cons

    As other reviews have mentioned, business is very seasonal. However, as long as you don't take the cut on those slow days you'll still make money.

    Advice to Management

    It seems like there's always some kind of coupon or special discount available that I haven't heard about. Make sure this information is explained to the serving staff. It is embarrassing when I have a guest with a coupon I've never heard of and have to verify it's validity. As well as when they ask about a feature like "free chocolate with a straight A report card," and I didn't know we were offering that.

    The Melting Pot2016-11-07
  10. "great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not your typical serving job, in a good way.

    Cons

    Not enough tables through out the night because the experience is so long. On average a server will have 3 or 4 tables a night.

    The Melting Pot2016-10-25
Found 16 reviews