The Melting Pot Hospitality Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

The Melting Pot Hospitality Specialist Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
2%
Recommend to a Friend
The Melting Pot CEO Bob Johnston
Bob Johnston
0 Ratings
  1. "Hospitality specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospitality Specialist in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management. Excellent training program. Wonderful customer service skills gained. 50% discount!

    Cons

    Challenging training program, but very useful. (Exams and quizzes required)

    The Melting Pot2015-03-17
  2. "Disappointed and surprised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospitality Specialist in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Most coworkers are cool -Free salad every shift -50% off merch -50% off meal for two per month -Good work experience -.75% tip share

    Cons

    -"On the job training" aka we don't want to/don't know how to take the time to train you properly -Two relaxed managers and two uptight ones makes for an unbalanced work environment -Hosts don't get enough hours and sometimes we get let off early due to overscheduling (I've worked 2 hour shifts) -No tip share for lunch, left up to servers to share their tips and some don't

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with each other and with your employees! Listen to what employees are saying. Train us properly so that mistakes don't happen all the time.

    The Melting Pot2019-07-16
  3. "Hospitality Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospitality Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management was great, felt like I was working with family. You gain great customer service skills.

    Cons

    Stressful at times. Always come home smelling like cheese

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to occasionally block online reservations so overbooking does not occur.

    The Melting Pot2017-09-10
  4. "Hospitality Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospitality Specialist in Huntersville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Felt like working with family, the manager always had his employees back

    Cons

    Can be stressful, customers can be very particular, sometimes understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Try not to intimidate new hires by throwing too much at them at once

    The Melting Pot2016-11-14
  5. "overall great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospitality Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    amazing manager, amazing benefits, and overall good hours for someone starting out. Easy to work with staff just because they were just great people. Everyone always wanted to help everyone.

    Cons

    other employees would NEVER clean desk area. Irritating but minor issue. Personally never offered me any promotions and offer training at the bar but then never provided any.

    The Melting Pot2014-10-15
  6. "Very negative environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospitality Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time

    Pros

    You get free salad and soda!! And you get to eat left over cheese.....-_-

    Cons

    The owner is selfish. The manager is selfish. They often "forget" to pay you commission. Make you drive around and do errands without paying any money for gas. All the employees are men in their late 20s who think they are the sh*t. All they do is complain about their tables, whether they have too many, not enough, or they think they won't tip them anything. They are all entitled. I had to quit because I needed respect...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Literally this place needs a new owner and new staff. I can't even begin to give advice because the people who run this joint are not good people. Sorry.

    The Melting Pot2014-07-30
  7. "The staff was friendly and the nature of the position allowed for a collaborative and social work environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospitality Specialist in Red Bank, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the restaurant culture. The nature of this position had mostly young employees using this company as a stepping stone for future positions/schooling. The benefits of working here is a high salary, yet a high work ethic. Although this is a restaurant job, the nature of the position helps individuals develop public speaking and skills of working well with others. Not only do the staff members work closely...

    Show More

    Cons

    There is little upward mobility within this position unless the server/host is looking to work there for 10+ years. From my experience, most staff members worked at this job for a period of 2-5 years until they moved on to something new. If you are looking for a position to remain in and advance in quickly, The Melting Pot would not be where I'd advise you to work.

    The Melting Pot2014-04-17
  8. "Wonderful and caring work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospitality Specialist in Sarasota, FL
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very friendly managers and coworkers. Very good about when you need time off and work very closely with you if you are still in school.

    Cons

    Not many growth opportunities. You can either be a hostess, a bartender, a server, or a manager and the managers are pretty stable and didn't change at all since I was there.

    Advice to Management

    Rarely got any raises when I was there and I was a really great worker.

    The Melting Pot2014-03-06
  9. "FANTASTIC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospitality Specialist in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    literally like one big family

    Cons

    like any restaurant, money is not consistent.

    The Melting Pot2012-09-03
Found 9 reviews