The Melting Pot Hostess Reviews | Glassdoor

The Melting Pot Hostess Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

1.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
The Melting Pot CEO Bob Johnston
Bob Johnston
4 Ratings
  1. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy going yet well organized environment.

    Cons

    Can't think of anything bad!

    The Melting Pot2019-08-19
  2. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Getting to open with a new team and an awesome assistant manager

    Cons

    Horrible pay, forgot to pay staff multiple times, brought on a payroll manager who was so condescending and rude that every staff memeber has complained about her. You’re given different answers from management and the owner. Our schedules were never respected. When people would ask if they could change to be a server etc. she would be rude and say no. She admitted that she is not hiring male hostess because she wanted...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing, the owner refuses to see that the problem is himself, his new payroll manager and the unprofessionalism in the establishment, not the servers or hostesses

    The Melting Pot2018-11-04
  3. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Chesterfield, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meet new friends, 50% off food, one free salad per shift

    Cons

    Very busy, sometimes people will get very frustrated and take it out on the host(ess), I wasn't trained in the areas that I needed to be.

    Advice to Management

    Don't choose favorites

    The Melting Pot2018-08-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Fair hours and salary, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess 
    Recommends

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary for a part-time job, 50% discount with one other person, free salads, the dress code was pretty casual, good coworker atmosphere

    Cons

    management consistently scheduled you on days that you had approved to be off, shift trades were not approved in time a lot of times and then you were yelled at by management, some of the employees were kind of shady and lazy

    Advice to Management

    Pull it together!

    The Melting Pot2018-06-04
  5. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host/Hostess in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, went by fast, fun place, had a lot of friends to work with

    Cons

    Fast paced, manager took over sometimes, not everyone was nice, worked during dinner so was hungry, not very organized

    Advice to Management

    Stay organized

    The Melting Pot2018-03-26
  6. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Host/Hostess 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location, good food, understanding of part time

    Cons

    Very strict, long hours, so-so management

    The Melting Pot2018-03-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you live in KC, work at one restaurant on the plaza and then you can work at them all. The only good thing about working here is that it helped me get hired somewhere else.

    Cons

    I was a hostess and the servers were allowed to yell at the hosts and treat them terribly. Management did nothing to intervene. They mislead me about the possibility of being promoted, saying they had a "head host" position who made significantly more than the other hosts. However, they dissolved the position shortly after I started working. I received a 10 cent raise and they forgot to put it on my check for over a month....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit.

    The Melting Pot2017-04-12
  8. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Orlando, FL
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment. Fun co workers. Nice management. Free salad every shift.

    Cons

    Servers sometimes are too busy too greet tables which puts pressure on the hostess when it's very busy. Can be stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up good work but lighten the server workload somehow..

    The Melting Pot2017-02-06
  9. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Paoli, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional, respectful, hospitable Owners, management, and coworkers. There were just so many incredible personalities that worked hard for one another and this business. I love them.

    Cons

    I am blanking on this. You do your part, you work hard, you are respectful and that is what you get in return.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the fantastic energy!

    The Melting Pot2016-12-07
  10. "Physical abuse, Verbal Abuse, horrible pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host/Hostess in Hoover, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Melting Pot part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hostess team was like a family. We got good cash at the end of the night if it was busy. Tip out was the best part, but the hourly rate was $6.50, and if business was slow, the tip out was absolutely terrible or nonexistent. The other hostesses became my closest friends at the time, and our manager was so awful that we had no choice but to stick together when things got scary.

    Cons

    Verbal abuse, physical abuse from my manager (which is why I left), servers making drug deals in the freezer, doing hard drugs on and off the clock. The manager who was physically and verbally abusive owned part of the business through family and could do anything he wanted without getting fired. Money was absolutely terrible and the turnover rate was a revolving door. The servers were forced to pay the full bill of customers...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I wish that the higher-up levels of management had dropped by more, because they would've witnessed the ridiculous turn over rate and the severity of abuse coming from the manager

    The Melting Pot2016-03-25
Found 15 reviews